Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Residents near DCU planning parties during exam week.

• 31-03-2011 1:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭

Just heard about residents near DCU planning to make a lot of noise around exam week, in revenge against DCU students and their consistent noise.

*Heard it on liveline, callers rang in to complain and told Joe about their plans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Captain Commie

Gman1 wrote: »
    Just heard about residents near DCU planning to make a lot of noise around exam week, in revenge against DCU students and their consistent noise.

tbh sounds fair to me, if students cant respect the neighbors why should they expect it from residents.

all about karma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭Gman1

tbh sounds fair to me, if students cant respect the neighbors why should they expect it from residents.

all about karma

I agree, I dont live near DCU. But I can imagine the noise etc. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

There's generally as much stupid noise around exam week as there normally is anyway. Fair play to the residents though, hope they keep all the arsehole students up (I will say, not ALL students are arseholes or noisy, but a fair few are).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Hauk

Fair play to them.

It'll teach little Johno and all his 'cool' mates who are up from the country away from Mammy and Daddy after the leaving cert, that you don't get a licence to be a ****ing c*nt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭StiLL-TrAiNinG

Hauk wrote: »
    Fair play to them.

It'll teach little Johno and all his 'cool' mates who are up from the country away from Mammy and Daddy after the leaving cert, that you don't get a licence to be a ****ing c*nt.

Sounds like someone wasn't invited to the parties

Postscript: Where would one obtain such a license? It sounds like it could be useful to have

;_;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,860 ✭✭✭stimpson

haha%20-%20zoom.jpg

Is this you Stimpson?

23-collar-douche.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Kevilikeit

That is ridiculous, what kind of 'noise' are we talking about here?
    Are there going to sudden influxes of fireworks across the border or did someone in some megaphone company just make a serious commision cheque?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭lithiumoxide

I don't think it's ridiculous.

Time and time again students have been asked to keep it down, as there have been several complaints from residents over the years.

If students keep getting fueled up on pints over in DCU and continue to make a nuisance then it is not unreasonable for residents to act against it.

Maybe it'll be a wake up call for students who think college is nothing but fun and games with no consequences for immaturity.

Is this you Stimpson?

Nope. I'm just an ex-resident who has had the pleasure of many a sleepless night because Johno and his cool mates can't enjoy their alcohol responsibly. One who likes to see people getting their comeuppance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Residents from where?

stimpson wrote: »
    Nope. I'm just an ex-resident who has had the pleasure of many a sleepless night because Johno and his cool mates can't enjoy their alcohol responsibly. One who likes to see people getting their comeuppance.

Ah right ok. Yah, my Nan lives around there. Bastards those students keep knocking over bins and chucking cans into her garden. Asshats.

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Residents from where?

Now that would be telling. Lets just say I remember DCU before it was even NIHE.

BTW, Does anyone know where I could hire a large bass amp?

Now that would be telling. Lets just say I remember DCU before it was even NIHE.

BTW, Does anyone know where I could hire a large bass amp?
    I just ask because my grandfather lives nearby too and heard nothing of this.

If the residents have been plagued by vandalism and the like at the hands of students then yeah, they are obviously well within their rights to do something.

What I'm interested in is what the residents plan on doing exactly. I'd say 90% of the students who live around DCU study in the library anyway so unless they have a plan to keep the whole neighbourhood up all night I can't see them making much of an impact.

Besides, the reason residents get mad at being kept up with the noise is because they have a job to go to early the next day. It's going to be difficult to piss off students who can just take the extra hour in bed in the morning.

No idea. I know there has been issues on the Shanowen Ave end of Collins ave which back onto the student apartments.

The real issue on Shanowen Ave is students parking their cars, they block up the road. No way an ambulance could get down which is a concern as many of the residents are elderly.

Kevilikeit wrote: »
    I It's going to be difficult to piss off students who can just take the extra hour in bed in the morning.

I would imagine they would wait until exam week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The bad thing about parties nearby students is that the students who party will see this as a message that the residents condone such parties.

Also, those who make noise will have a smaller voice when the students make noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

If students keep getting fueled up on pints over in DCU and continue to make a nuisance then it is not unreasonable for residents to act against it.

Maybe it'll be a wake up call for students who think college is nothing but fun and games with no consequences for immaturity.
    hope they keep all the arsehole students up (I will say, not ALL students are arseholes or noisy, but a fair few are).

Honestly don't see how this will harm any of the stereotypical (i.e., imaginary) people mentioned. Seriously, does this have to deteriorate into us and them? Does any one truly believe only students are capable of making noise? Does any one truly believe fighting fire with fire will work?

I live by the comet on the swords road, very very noisy all through the night, but I don't feel the need to strike out at whatever stereotype I've chosen to embody the noise...

all about karma
    it's been a while since I reviewed the literature but I'm pretty sure karma != revenge...

If people think that some loud parties at exam time will stop students making noise they are retards, simple as.

I would imagine they would wait until exam week.

Yeah but we can still sleep it off in the morning. Exam week is still basically a week off which is all down to your own motivation to get up in the morning.

the_syco wrote: »
    The bad thing about parties nearby students is that the students who party will see this as a message that the residents condone such parties.

Also, those who make noise will have a smaller voice when the students make noise.

This has been going on for years and residents are being ignored. What would you do in a similar situation?

If people think that some loud parties at exam time will stop students making noise they are retards, simple as.

Bingo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

I can just imagine a fair few students...

"So it's a war they want?:eek: :D"

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

If I still lived there I would be conducting some postgrad research into the brown note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

Karma is "the sum of a person's actions in this and previous states of existence, viewed as affecting their future fate". Reader's Digest Wordpower Dictionary.

I'm only quoting and am as wise as before I looked it up, but doesn't sound like revenge to me.

But back to Thread. I would like to see some sort of reprisals if there is constant ignoring of complaints but would not think alternative noise is the answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭Gman1

Kevilikeit wrote: »
    Yeah but we can still sleep it off in the morning. Exam week is still basically a week off which is all down to your own motivation to get up in the morning.

Well they mentioned that they would plan to cause noise during exam time. Whether thats during the exams themselves, or the study time I dont know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

I think I would pay to see a bunch of aul wans trying to have a song and dance to S&M or Maniac 2000. Feck studying!

We are all students, Im sure we can sleep through a bit of noise, do your best I say.

Great way of displaying their maturity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 thewhitepele

Guestlist please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,413 ✭✭✭markpb

The real issue on Shanowen Ave is students parking their cars, they block up the road. No way an ambulance could get down which is a concern as many of the residents are elderly.

Why haven't the owners there requested that DCC turn the street into the permit/P&D street then?
    If students keep getting fueled up on pints over in DCU and continue to make a nuisance then it is not unreasonable for residents to act against it. Maybe it'll be a wake up call for students who think college is nothing but fun and games with no consequences for immaturity.

Imagine for a second that this inane plan works. What happens when the current students move on and are replaced by new students - will the residents have to have parties every January and May into eternity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

so who want's to hit these gaff parties when they happen :cool:

can't see how a party in a house next to shanowen/gateway/larkfield is going to be in any way disruptful toward students seeing as everynight we actually have to listen to people coming home and shouting outside our apartments...

a party down the road will be like ocean waves and will be soothing and relaxing for us if we even notice it:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Just some chap on Joe. Doubt he's serious.

http://www.rte.ie/podcasts/2011/pc/pod-v-3103113m22slivelinestudents-pid0-202584.mp3

lol, Toxic Tuesday aftermath.... Dont remember seeing much when I was staggering home around 3am(from the sounds of it Im just down the road from him)

This has been going on for years and residents are being ignored. What would you do in a similar situation?
    Find out what houses the parties are being held in.

Find out who their landlords are, or contact the college if you don't know.

Get them kicked out of the house.

Once people cop that party = get kicked out of house, they'll party elsewhere.

Get them kicked out of the house.

Once people cop that party = get kicked out of house, they'll party elsewhere.
    What magic powers do you recommend using to get people kicked out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭lithiumoxide

How would you find out who the landlords are? And how would the college know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

l_f6a447640d264f3abc3576fe061c967e.jpg

Something like this would go down a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Hiding the coach never goes down a treat. I can see it right there behind those speakers, too easy.

What magic powers do you recommend using to get people kicked out?
    Most landlords had a "no house-party" policy, which they used to kick people out, as party usually equalled damage to property.
    How would you find out who the landlords are? And how would the college know?
    When down in Carlow IT, college would have a list of accommodation for rent nearby the college at the start of the year, with the contact number for their landlord. As for finding out the owner, say your the TV license inspector, and they'll give you the landlords number quickish :P

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 141 ✭✭moomooman

Is this only to go on at night or daytime noise to disrupt exams?

I can sympathise with residents but people in my position are distance learning mature students who are only ever in DCU to sit our exams. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

l_f6a447640d264f3abc3576fe061c967e.jpg

*cough*

Skip to 2:45 or so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭Jemo

They are entitled to have parties during exam week if they like. In fact, in my experience students have lots of parties those 2 weeks in any case as its before they split up for summer or the end of exams etc. Its annoying but theres lots of students who have to put up with it too. Its the minority who create excess noise after 11/12 o'clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭carlowboy

As an Intra student, I live on campus and it's really not that bad. I've to be up early for work every morning too. These residents really need something else to complain about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Rynner

I was actually at the party that that man was complaining about.

I think part of the problem is that tensions were running high between some of the house mates and house guests. And so when the Gardai were called three times, you could kinda see that the party was a bit outta hand.

Also, it did only finish at 7am, so it was a pretty extended affair too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Stupid idea. Residents were never going to win this battle.