Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An end to cronyism..I think not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

the varg wrote: »

This has been done to death already. Also, I have noticed the Indo to be very anti FG since they took office, with lots of negative press, to the extent that I now take anything written in the Indo with a grain of salt.

He hired his wife to be his PA. She is a fully qualified barrister, so it wasnt because of the money, and its not like she is a beautician or something and thus unqualified.

Its a non-story.

EDIT:

Just read through the second story.
    Without interviewing anyone else, Mr Griffin hired his wife to a job that has a salary of around €25,000 a year and his cousin to a post that pays between €41,092 and €52,200.

TDs can hire whomever they want for these personal-staff appointments -- with salaries paid by the taxpayer.

Even though secretarial assistants are paid a basic rate of around €25,000, those hired can apply for a higher salary if they have enough experience.

Mr Griffin did not know if his wife had applied for a higher salary, but said she had 10 years' administrative experience.

However, he said she "has been my secretary for the last 10 years, since I became actively involved in politics. She is the best person for the job."

25k she gets. And some gombeen in the Indo thought this worthy of a story. Christ its a waste of paper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭petroltimer

syklops wrote: »
    This has been done to death already. Also, I have noticed the Indo to be very anti FG since they took office, with lots of negative press, to the extent that I now take anything written in the Indo with a grain of salt.

He hired his wife to be his PA. She is a fully qualified barrister, so it wasnt because of the money, and its not like she is a beautician or something and thus unqualified.

Its a non-story.

EDIT:

Just read through the second story.

25k she gets. And some gombeen in the Indo thought this worthy of a story. Christ its a waste of paper.

Don't be so sure its not about the money, being a barrister is not the cash register it used to be, Ireland is knocking out about over 150 barristers a year where 10 years ago it was 30. Its estimated that a barrister has to work 7-8 years before seeing a decent wage and thats if they are any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭the varg

And some gombeen in the Indo thought this worthy of a story. Christ its a waste of paper.

Oops! Just as well I read it online so:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Yeah, I am not sure about these stories.

Firstly, if the Government want to ban all family-related positions, I would be for that. But I think there is a reason ALL parties are quiet on this issue. That reason would be the vast majority of TDs hire the assistants and secretaries they have worked for years with and not interviewed a range of candidates.

I wonder how many TDs actually interviewed a range of people for these jobs? How come the Indo has not told us?

As for his cousin appointed to the council, the headline is that the TD gave him this job where the actual article says that the TD just voted for him at a convention to hire a replacement. Again, hardly giving him the job but giving support. Why the quiet from all parties? Because all parties do this. Joe higgins and the socialists would have voted for replacements for him when he became an MEP, Richard Boyd Barrett and the SWP will vote for a SWP candidate to replace him and so on. So all this, based on the Indos ranting, is cronyism too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Don't be so sure its not about the money, being a barrister is not the cash register it used to be, Ireland is knocking out about over 150 barristers a year where 10 years ago it was 30. Its estimated that a barrister has to work 7-8 years before seeing a decent wage and thats if they are any good.

I agree, plus the fact that with most people who have money, the main preoccupation in life is to get more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

Personally, I don't have a huge problem with this .. In some respects a family member might be the best person for the job and it is likely that they have been doing the job unpaid for many years . .

That said, there is a huge constituency of people on here who would (and have in the past) slated FF for this kind of behaviour . . I wonder will Liam Byrne, jmayo, Laminations et al demand the same kind of standards from their new government ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

*Fingers in ears.* LALALALALA

Lads, when this was done by the previous administration there was outrage, namecalling and abuse. Why not now? Hmmm?

OP is right. Politicians are politicians whatever the colour of their ties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Personally, I don't have a huge problem with this .. In some respects a family member might be the best person for the job and it is likely that they have been doing the job unpaid for many years . .

That said, there is a huge constituency of people on here who would (and have in the past) slated FF for this kind of behaviour . . I wonder will Liam Byrne, jmayo, Laminations et al demand the same kind of standards from their new government ??

Excepting the case that his wife was the best qualified PA available in his constituency, which I very much doubt, then this is the type of situation the said TD was "very much against". At a time when unemployment is at an historic level, giving plum jobs to your already well heeled old lady is hypocrisy, I wonder what Enda's opinion is on this. Kenny made a big deal of spouting about seeking legal advice on removing FF appointees to quangos after he was made Taoiseach, seems like a lot of sour grapes if this is going on in your own ranks.
    No, a bad foot to get off on and Kenny and Gilmore should practice what they preach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

bmaxi wrote: »
    Excepting the case that his wife was the best qualified PA available in his constituency, which I very much doubt, then this is the type of situation the said TD was "very much against". At a time when unemployment is at an historic level, giving plum jobs to your already well heeled old lady is hypocrisy, I wonder what Enda's opinion is on this. Kenny made a big deal of spouting about seeking legal advice on removing FF appointees to quangos after he was made Taoiseach, seems like a lot of sour grapes if this is going on in your own ranks.
    No, a bad foot to get off on and Kenny and Gilmore should practice what they preach.

As the artical says, his wife has been working for him as his PA for the past 10 years. I therefore think that she is the best qualified PA available in his constituency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

bmaxi wrote: »

You are probably right and I am not defending him but as syklops says below based on what she has been doing for the last 10 years she may be the most qualified person. Ultimately, it is up to him to make that assessment.

The only way I can see to guard against the potential for nepotism would be to implement a blanket ban on appointing family members to positions like this. I would support that but I doubt FG will bring in such a rule. .

The broader issue for me here is what standards we hold the government (and the opposition) to. We demanded change; We got change. . . Now we need to demand that this change is real and permanent and that we hold our government to the same standards that we held the previous administration. As Micheal Marting proved yesterday and as Kenny and Gilmore have done for the last 10 years, it is easy to preach from the opposition benches !

As the artical says, his wife has been working for him as his PA for the past 10 years. I therefore think that she is the best qualified PA available in his constituency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I'd have no problem with him appointing his wife after she has served him for so long. Also you want someone you can trust i these ositions so either way it would probably have went to a party insider, which would also have gotten attention

The only thing that did worry me was the bit about his cousin getting his council seat. Until I read this:
    Matt Griffin was the only person nominated and now has a council seat

This is not comparable to FFs stuffing of quangos and state boards. It is not cronyism in the slightest. Im no FG or Lab lover, but seriously these "smear" threads that pop up only make me think that if this is as bad as it gets we're not doing to bad!