Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UPS E-Mail?

• 30-03-2011 6:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭

Hey, I got his e-mail earlier and I'm wondering if it's legitimate or not?

Now I think it's a load o bollix because I don't remember ordering anything from UPS. I'm not going to do anything with this e-mail. just though i should bring it to the attention of other e-mail users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

its spam. there may be a virus in the attachment. listen to micrsofts advice.

welcome to the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I get 8 or 9 of them a day from UPS and DHL. They're a scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Hey, I got his e-mail earlier and I'm wondering if it's legitimate or not?

Now I think it's a load o bollix because I don't remember ordering anything from UPS. I'm not going to do anything with this e-mail. just though i should bring it to the attention of other e-mail users.

Bet theres a virus in that attached zip file :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Quiet you

You've got some alright looking female buddies there. Fair play to ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭LimerickDan

i was thinking as much. thanks guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Virus, trap, etc.

You can ignore it. If you don't want to take our word on it, just ring them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Get them every few days. Deleted right away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I'd say it is bollox. UPS would put the details like the tracking number in the body of the email and not an attachment.

I just checked the email address on www.everify.com and it says that the email address comes from the UPS server and that the Email IP: 153.2.232.129, not that that means anything

I'd send it to ups and see what they say, at least give them something that they can warn people over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

RachaelVO wrote: »
    I'd say it is bollox. UPS would put the details like the tracking number in the body of the email and not an attachment.

I just checked the email address on www.everify.com and it says that the email address comes from the UPS server and that the Email IP: 153.2.232.129, not that that means anything

I'd send it to ups and see what they say, at least give them something that they can warn people over!
    I would have thought they were well aware of it but I search for scam on the UPS website the results all say "welcome to UPS"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

It is spam. 100%, completely and utterly no question.

No offence OP but this is internet 101 type stuff. Fairly obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

LimerickDan, did you get that parcel with the leather costume in it that I sent 2 days ago?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Used to get them ages ago, they died off - now in the last few days getting loads of them again.
    Strange.
    DO NOT open the attachment - contains a very nasty virus.