Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

error 1013 :mad:

• 30-03-2011 6:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭

I had ios 4.1 on my iphone 4 and decided to update to 4.3 last night:mad: So i got all it download and now my phone wont let me restore or upgrade, its just has the itunes and usb plug on the screen :mad: and when i keep trying to get it thru the process of restore/upgrade it says theres an error 1013:(

I tried below but doesnt seem to work!!!!!!!!!!

On Windows:
    Locate the hosts file in one of the following directories:

Windows 95/98/Me c:\windows\hosts
    Windows NT/2000/XP Pro c:\winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    Windows XP, Vista, 7 c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

Right click and click on “Open With…” and then click on “Notepad” on the list.
    Remove the line that has gs.apple.com completely and save the file.

I brought it to Fixmypc.ie and they said it was because my phone was jailbroken and that apple designed the 4.3 to do this with all jail broken phones? The fello said the iphone now has to have a custom upgrade but i will lose all my data including contacts? I had backed up my phone with the 4.1 on itunes but can i transfer all this back onto the phone if i get 4.3 to work?

Any ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

yer man is talking complete and utter bollix at breakmypc.ie
    You're obviously not doing the editing of the hosts file correctly.
    Make sure when you save the hosts file that you do not save it as an "all file".
    On Vista/Windows it won't let you save directly to the host file quoting bullshít about permissions so you have to save it elsewhere.
    Make sure when you do that it doesn't end in a .txt.
    Go to folder options and make sure that "hide known extensions" is unticked.

Also if it did allow you to save the new file with the hosts location check that it didn't save it as hosts.txt as well.

Error 1013 simply refers to that Apple could not connect to it's verification server (the entry in your hosts file blocks it from doing this)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭barryd09

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    yer man is talking complete and utter bollix at breakmypc.ie
    You're obviously not doing the editing of the hosts file correctly.
    Make sure when you save the hosts file that you do not save it as an "all file".
    On Vista/Windows it won't let you save directly to the host file quoting bullshít about permissions so you have to save it elsewhere.
    Make sure when you do that it doesn't end in a .txt.
    Go to folder options and make sure that "hide known extensions" is unticked.

Also if it did allow you to save the new file with the hosts location check that it didn't save it as hosts.txt as well.

Error 1013 simply refers to that Apple could not connect to it's verification server (the entry in your hosts file blocks it from doing this)

I already saved mine as a txt file,is this a problem?how do you go about changing AFTER you've saved it as a txt file??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭matchthis

I had something similar before. I just downloaded iTunes in work and it activated through that no problem. Then it worked grand with me pc. It happened to me at the verification stage

barryd09 wrote: »
    I already saved mine as a txt file,is this a problem?how do you go about changing AFTER you've saved it as a txt file??

anyone know how to change the .txt file i saved to the file it should be??
    cant find an answer anywhere :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brophs

Presume just open a blank notepad file, copy and paste in the info from the old hosts file and click save as 'All files'? Then replace it.

I'm not sure though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

Use a file browser (WinSCP) to access the folder to remove the extension, make sure "hide known extensions" is unticked under folder options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

...open windows explorer, go to file and folder options on the menu..
    untick the hide known extensions and then simply rename it hosts instead of hosts.txt

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    ...open windows explorer, go to file and folder options on the menu..
    untick the hide known extensions and then simply rename it hosts instead of hosts.txt

The file doesnt say 'hosts.txt' it just says 'hosts' but its a notepad file,not a blank looking icon like the rest.
    When i start tinyumbrella i get 'host file is not writeable' message.

ok,got the file issue resolved....now onto the 4.3 update....wish me luck... :D:rolleyes::pac: