Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are Tv3 trying to ruin our lives?

• 28-03-2011 8:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

Just watching Tv3's 'Caught on camera' and cant help wonder why they take such a sensationalist and myopic approach to programming. This program is the latest installment in what appears to be a bizarre negative public relations campaign against Ireland. I do realise crime and anti-social behaviour exists but this 'reporting' of the situation is woefully biased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Tommyadams wrote: »
    This program is the latest installment in what appears to be a bizarre negative public relations campaign against Ireland.

Pretty much the raison d'etre of most of the Irish media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

And yet you're watching. Which is all they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

TV3 = Pants fest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Tommyadams

Pretty much the raison d'etre of most of the Irish media.
    I know, i usually get my scaremongering fix from the good people at the Sunday World but unfortunately The brunker.. shudder is being featured more in recent times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Geansai Rua

Your only realising this now..

Its all pure muck on tv3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

No better or worse than Boards.ie in fairness!

After Hours: I seen a junkie strung out in a McDonald's toilet

TV3: I seen 3 kids rolling a joint under a slide in the park

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,013 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

There is nothing worth watching on TV3 - if there is, it's definately being shown on a different channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

I cant even watch tv anymore, not to mind tv3. it's all moronic sh!te designed to distract you from the things that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Just watching Tv3's 'Caught on camera' and cant help wonder why they take such a sensationalist and myopic approach to programming. This program is the latest installment in what appears to be a bizarre negative public relations campaign against Ireland. I do realise crime and anti-social behaviour exists but this 'reporting' of the situation is woefully biased.

Has there ever been an investigation into how TV3 got their licence - in particular into how there was not a condition attached to the licence forbidding them from selling the newly licensed station off to an economies-of-scale seeking British television company which wanted to use it as another avenue for saturating the Irish market with cheap British tabloid tv?

Who was the Irish government minister responsible for reducing the percentage of programming that had to be Irish and about Ireland? And how much was he paid in backhanders by a company for that change to Irish law?

And how big is the pension (s) today of the government minister in question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Tommyadams

digme wrote: »
    I cant even watch tv anymore, not to mind tv3. it's all moronic sh!te designed to distract you from the things that matter.
    I rarely watch tv now. Got a 160Gb media drive, best invention ever. It's to tv what an ipod is to fm radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

That music track was just terribly annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭jonnygiles

what i find hard to understand is that theyre showing all these vandals at work aka the young lad sending a car to flames, and not say whether they were charged or not.kinda defeats the purpose-ah we got the lads on camera but what are doing?feck allage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

mike65 wrote: »
    That music track was just terribly annoying.

Yes, those Garda sirens aren't very tuneful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

TV3 is just for the plebity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Just watching Tv3's
    Your first mistake.

Dont let it happen again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 DubK

TV3 have the worst interviewers on TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

TV3 even manage to make the Champions League look amateurish.

And that's some achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

So the fact that someone watched TV3 tonight and commented on the ACTUAL Irish culture which is happening on everyone's doorsteps is brushed off as ignorant sh1te because of the TV channel it was broadcast on and the "masses" who frequent this forum choose not to watch it anyway because TV is "naff"/free downloading is cooler than paying a bill settles this for everyone?

Good luck Ireland, your future is safe, the youth have your back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

jonnygiles wrote: »
    what i find hard to understand is that theyre showing all these vandals at work aka the young lad sending a car to flames, and not say whether they were charged or not.kinda defeats the purpose-ah we got the lads on camera but what are doing?feck allage
    The media never show any conclusions, they have no interest in "the story" their only interest is to scare people.

If the villains where caught it would mean people may feel a bit more at ease and they may not feel compelled to tune in for next weeks horror story of how we're all going to be attacked at any given moment by any random stranger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

TV Forum.