Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people think they have a right to know about someone's private life...

• 28-03-2011 5:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭

...just because they happen to be a celebrity?

Take this whole Ronan Keating sh!te for instance. The guy is a musician. That's what he's famous for. Why do people seem to have this sense of entitlement to know everything about his private life, publicly, just because he happens to be famous for one particular aspect of his life?

Why the uproar over him not being grilled by Tubridy? Why should he have been? Surely what goes on in the privacy of someone's bedroom is for the people actually involved alone?

This quote from an Independent article on it really pissed me off:
    The Boyzone star didn't get off lightly, either. "If I was Yvonne I would have expected a bit of grovelling," posted by one angry viewer.

Really? To a public audience? That, in my view, is really quite pathetic. If I was going out with somebody famous and she cheated on me, the last thing I'd want would be a media storm about it, and the last thing I'd want would be for her to talk about it in public. It's a private matter. If you're famous, you're famous for a particular aspect of your life. Every other aspect of it is, as far as I'm concerned, none of anyone else's business.

I really find this thing quite bizarre and just a little bit sickening tbh. Anyone agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

If you use the media to "up" your profile and to boost your career, then you can expect them to take you down also.

Live by the sword, die by the sword.

P.S. Keating covering Burt Bacharach is an appalling idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

hey if i wanna know what colour underwear scarlett johansson is wearing i should be able to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I couldn't give a sh1te about Keating and I'm no fan of Tubridy either but I read about this whole thing today and I can't see what the problem is.

Keatings not a politician and not answerable to the public, "let him off with an easy interview" WTF?

Fair enough he uses the media for publicity so I wouldn't really care if someone did give him a grilling but the fact that people were outraged that he didn't get one, like we're entitled to answers about who he's been porking.

It's just vapid nosiness tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭CD.

it's because boring people have nothing to talk about or tell their boring friends so they can live vicariously through "celebrities" so they have something to bridge the silence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I couldn't give a sh1te about Keating and I'm no fan of Tubridy either but I read about this whole thing today and I can't see what the problem is.

Keatings not a politician and not answerable to the public, "let him off with an easy interview" WTF?

Fair enough he uses the media for publicity so I wouldn't really care if someone did give him a grilling but the fact that people were outraged that he didn't get one, like we're entitled to answers about who he's been porking.

All engineered by Louis Walsh to big up Keating.

Ignore it, like I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Same reason people feel obliged to put their private lives on Facebook, I guess. Voyeurist narcissism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Come on OP, unless you are new to crap celebrity behaviour, you should know it was probably Keatings PR people who booked him on the show, they set up the interviews, they sell the pictures, they sell the stories. Whether a media outlet buys or not, it is their choice, but it is Keating and the majority of crap celebrities who sell themselves to the media, not the other way round. They invite it all and whore themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Why the uproar over him not being grilled by Tubridy?

Heard he spit-roasted him backstage instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I would a) Watch the Late Late Show and b) Listen to Ronan Keating if he did a cover version of this song.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

In fairness, if someone is trying to sell me something and get me to stick my hand in my pocket for their stuff, I at least want to know what sort of person I'm giving my money to!

Keating by far is not the worst of the worse but I retain the right to not give him my money if I feel he is not treating others right and respectful, if he's on purpose trying to whitewash his image for own gain and is not genuine in any words he says.
    If someone questions such people that are publicly advertising themselves (for own gain), the interviewer at least should try and show us the real person, not the Late, Late PR new spinning image guru's just wants us to swallow, in order get us to buy their latest released stuff.

For all the times they try to sell their latest made-up image, the only times we get to know the real person, is when they are questioned!
    The Late, Late last week was a joke - but then with Tub's at the helm since he took over, its no surprise. When Mr Byrne was at the helm (and I was NOT a fan of Gay Byrne) at least the show then was something substantial.
    Now? Its just pure celeb weak-watered crap. Boring, boring boring… and presented direly by someone who has the personality and seriousness in intent as a wet fish!
    Its now just a desperate “what are we spinning & advertising this week?” show/farce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Sergeant wrote: »
    P.S. Keating covering Burt Bacharach is an appalling idea.

I'd pay money to hear Ronan cover Joe Dolce's "Shaddap You Face" - The most moody fecker couldn't help but laugh at the first line in Ronanshpeak:

"Allo! I'm a Guisshepe, I got-a shomething shpecial-a for you, ready?"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-BKcKMS748

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Take this whole Ronan Keating sh!te for instance. The guy is a musician. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Quiet you

Take this whole Ronan Keating sh!te for instance. The guy is a musician. That's what he's famous for.

Musician? Really?

He's no singer either. He ruined so many trad songs for me the little blondy fecker.

Edit: Damn you Gunsfortoys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Take this whole Ronan Keating sh!te for instance. The guy is a musician. That's what he's famous for. Why do people seem to have this sense of entitlement to know everything about his private life, publicly, just because he happens to be famous for one particular aspect of his life?
    The word celebrity has being much devauled in recent times .I would be as much interested in that guys private life as I would be the private life of a Walrus on an overcrowed , Antarctic beach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

The guy is a musician.

You're stretching the truth a little bit there :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

The guy had his family in a Nintendo DS advert. If you start doing things like that then your home life is no longer sacred.

deathrider wrote: »
    You're stretching the truth a little bit there :pac:

A bit??? :pac:

What instrument does he play again?

On second thoughts - he does do the fiddle.
    Well at least when his wife isn't around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭matchthis

Gossip sells

matchthis wrote: »
    Gossip sells

...So does manure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Shorry story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

Don't see the value in knowing what goes on in Ronan Keating's life at all. I couldn't care less if he cheated with Boy George. People in general must have pathetic lives if their problems on a Monday constitute Tubridy's inability to question Keating on his marital affairs.

I don't buy into the facebook thing either, I know plenty people on it but to me a lot of people almost seem to think they are celebrities through the medium of FB. Updates on ordinary lives which are mundane in the majority.

Who cares ? A lot of people seem to which is a very very sad indication of society today and where it is headed. Art of conversation is lost and the dumbing down of this generation seems to be decelerating the evolutionary clock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

I'm not particularly talking about Ronan Keating here, but celebrities rarely just make money from their talent. A professional footballer may sell their wedding photos. You'll see singers giving pop stars being paid to do interviews on their private lives. You'll see people doing reality TV. They'll give exclusives to magazines about "overcoming problems" etc.

If they trade on their private life and bring it into the public eye, it's fair game imo to quiz them on it when it might be inconvenient too. If they are the sort of person who keeps their private life wholly private - say a footballer who we are vaguely aware has a wife and kids but we don't even know their names and can't picture their faces, I don't think that should be played on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

Who gives a f**k anyway? Anyone who demands that celebrities be grilled on their personal lives, Need to actually start a life of their own first. There's showing an interest in your favourite celebrity (perfectly ok), And then there's being a nosey bastard who needs to know everything, Right down to the personal details (sad imo). The world is full of self-proclaimed critics and know-it-all agony aunts... Go and f**k will ya? Get a life.

Ev84 wrote: »
    Who gives a f**k anyway? Anyone who demands that celebrities be grilled on their personal lives, Need to actually start a life of their own first. There's showing an interest in your favourite celebrity (perfectly ok), And then there's being a nosey bastard who needs to know everything, Right down to the personal details (sad imo). The world is full of self-proclaimed critics and know-it-all agony aunts... Go and f**k will ya? Get a life.
    I don't need to know every aspect of their life - nor would I want to.
    I would at least (if celebs are going to shove their faces into the public domain) like to see decent questioning of them for a change and not just the PR arranged questions for the sake of they being a celeb for celebrity sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

Are you a celebrity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Biggins wrote: »
    I would at least (if celebs are going to shove their faces into the public domain) like to see decent questioning of them for a change and not just the PR arranged questions for the sake of they being a celeb for celebrity sake.

Totally agree. I want to know where Ronan stands on NAMA, Libya, Fukushima, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

That's a fair point I suppose, But some people just take it a bit too far!
    Are you a celebrity?

:pac: Ha Ha. I wish... For the money only though... I would hate the "fame" part of it! Would do my head in I think!

That's a fair point I suppose, But some people just take it a bit too far!
    True.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Supraman wrote: »
    Don't see the value in knowing what goes on in Ronan Keating's life at all. I couldn't care less if he cheated with Boy George. People in general must have pathetic lives if their problems on a Monday constitute Tubridy's inability to question Keating on his marital affairs.
    People famous or not have affairs and cheat .Only difference is the famous have a bigger pool to cheat on with but it's the cringworthy '' we really care about about the Ronan Keatings of this worlds affairs '' that bugs me .
    I'm not particularly talking about Ronan Keating here, but celebrities rarely just make money from their talent. A professional footballer may sell their wedding photos. You'll see singers giving pop stars being paid to do interviews on their private lives. You'll see people doing reality TV. They'll give exclusives to magazines about "overcoming problems" etc.

If they trade on their private life and bring it into the public eye, it's fair game imo to quiz them on it when it might be inconvenient too.
    Some of these people are the biggest fcuking hyocrites of all whom as soon as the spotlights off , go looking for it all again along with the pay check to follow .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭omen80

Take this whole Ronan Keating sh!te for instance. The guy is a musician. That's what he's famous for.
    Now that's comedy!!

Seriously though, I agree with the OP. The private lives of celebrities should be left private.

omen80 wrote: »
    The private lives of celebrities should be left private.

Sadly, the celebs do not agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

I just wish he's been asked what the f*&k he thought he was playing at. He's already punching above his weight having a wife like Yvonne - what made him think he deserved her AND yer wan Francine? He's a twat...

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    I just wish he's been asked what the f*&k he thought he was playing at. He's already punching above his weight having a wife like Yvonne - what made him think he deserved her AND yer wan Francine? He's a twat...

Pat Kenny would have asked him exactly that question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I just hope and pray that this doesn't affect his music :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

A bit??? :pac:

What instrument does he play again?

On second thoughts - he does do the fiddle.
    Well at least when his wife isn't around!

ITT: Singing =/= music
    O_o

You people are just weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Also what about the quote I mentioned?
    The Boyzone star didn't get off lightly, either. "If I was Yvonne I would have expected a bit of grovelling," posted by one angry viewer.

Would any of ye? I repeat, if I was going out with someone famous and she cheated on me, no way in HELL would I want any kind of public apology, grovelling, or anything else for that matter. That to me is batsh*t insane, it'd just make me cringe. I'd probably have LESS respect for her after that than more. Would anyone actually WANT to their partner do that?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Why do you need to see decent questioning of them? Why should any aspect of their personal life effect your enjoyment of their art*? If you let it, you are just another person buying in to the persons lifestyle rather than their artistic output. Deciding not to hand over your hard earned because of a poor performance in an interview as opposed to buying an album after endearing to the person during an interview are just evidence of endorsement or refutal based on totally unassociated sentiment as regards the 'product' in question.

*Hypothetically speaking

Column: The hypocrisy of Ronan Keating
    http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/column-the-hypocrisy-of-ronan-keating/
    RONAN KEATING LOOKED like an angel. His teeth glowed, his hair shun like spun gold and his white suit was as stain-free as Daniel O’Donnell’s conscience. Tendrils of light appeared to trail from him as he floated around the room at the MTV Awards launch.

“Behold, for he is God’s anointed,” Dermott ‘The Hat’ Hayes intoned over his Manhattan.
    “Behold, for he looks like … a right twat,” I replied, slurping mine. It was 1999 and Ronan was hosting the awards in Dublin. I had recently been made showbusiness editor with the Herald and Dermott was our diarist. We were straight out of central casting for Cynical Tabloid Hacks. The luvviness of the event was making us feel pukey.

“Here we go…” Hayes sighed, handing me his cocktail and holding out his hand to greet Keating. They seemed like old buddies, asking after each other’s families and how work was going. Hayes introduced me and I remember being impressed that Ronan made – and held – eye contact. He had just shook hands with 100s of people and must have been hacked off at that stage. I was even more impressed by him when The Hat said afterwards: “Jesus, that was awkward. He hates my f*****g guts.”

Ro was a real pro.

It was my first time eye-witnessing the symbiotic relationship between showbiz reporter and celebrity. This is built on one needing the other … and neither admitting to being the parasite in the relationship. Last Friday, Ronan whined about this symbiotic relationship as Ryan Tubridy gave him an easy ride about his extra-marital affair on the Late Late.
    “Can I talk to you about your past year? You described it as a ‘nightmare’. What happened?”
    “It was a crazy year. I guess the Press went pretty crazy on me… They were waiting for an opportunity,” Ronan said, adding that he and his wife, Yvonne, were moving on “positively”. There was no insight into the hypocritical behaviour of a man who used images of his kids to sell Nintendo DS. There was no apology to his fans.

Victimhood

Instead, there was victimhood – with Ronan as the injured party. The Media (ie, newspapers) were out to get him. There was no mention that the media didn’t break the story of Keating’s marriage problems – his own website did that. The interview was a soft-soap affair. There was a hint of collusion to it.

On Sunday, the Press vented its anger over the interview. ‘Viewer fury as love rat Ronan gets an easy ride on Late Late’ declared the Sindo. ‘The Hate Hate Show – calls for Tubridy axe in Ronan interview outrage’ cried The Mirror.

Tubridy certainly doesn’t deserve the axe. Keating isn’t Seanie Fitz, he’s just a singer. However, the chat show host did break a covenant with his viewers. He was given the Late Late chair to ask the questions they want answered. News instinct alone suggested they wanted to know how the affair had affected Keating’s marriage and career. The public has, wittingly and otherwise, invested in Keating over the years. Our flagship TV show – paid for by our licence fees – launched Boyzone. The Irish public gave Keating his break.

Ryan could have asked him:
    You’ve used the media to portray yourself as a devoted husband. Does your affair make you the biggest pop hypocrite since Chris de Burgh?
    You have stage-managed your career through the media. Is the public not entitled to more than “we’re moving on”?
    You have made millions from your relationship with the media. Should you be complaining about Press intrusion or should you just “say nothing at all”? [Cue gentle laughter from audience.]

Tubridy has dealt with Press ‘intrusion’ into his own love life. The difference between him and Keating is that he keeps his family and professional lives separate.
    While Tubridy was giving Keating an easy ride, the Mail on Sunday was going to press with an ‘exclusive’ interview. It contained the following self-pitying quotes: “Quite a few people will think, ‘Thank God he’s [Ronan] human’… I set myself up for a fall by appearing holier than holy… It’s been hell. I don’t think I’m in any way through it, but I’m dealing with it.”
    Here was Ronan complaining about the media on the Late Late after giving an ‘exclusive’ interview to the Mail (the enemy). This was Keating controlling the Press he detests so much. He’s an old hand at ‘playing the game’ – he learned it from the maestro, Louis Walsh.

Illusion

His career was founded on an illusion created by Walsh – the manufactured Boyzone. A lot of the early media coverage they got was illusory too, placed by Louis with friendly, colluding hacks. Westlife’s Nicky Byrne recently recalled: “I read a story once about Boyzone being in a plane crash in Australia; it wasn’t true, but it gets the name out there I suppose. He’s come up with some quirky, mad stories.”
    Keating used the media to build his image as a happily married man, the same way Louis used it to build up the Boyzone ‘illusion’. He has no-one to blame but himself for tearing his domestic god image down.

Keating knows how to play The Really Serious Card too. Last May, as the paps camped outside the Keating family home, the Press Ombudsman sent an email to the Sunday Tribune which read: “My office has been contacted by the representatives of Ronan Keating in relation to current press coverage of his activities. They have asked me to pass on to editors a request that any coverage should reflect in particular the implications for his children of Principle Nine (Children) of the Code of Practice.” Ronan had made the Press Ombudsman his own fee-free Max Clifford.
    Principle Nine aims to prevent children from being publicly dragged into their parents’ (seedy) affairs. Ronan lessened the argument for keeping his children out of the coverage when he took them on high profile trips to restaurants and the K Club, with the paparazzi literally snapping at their heels. As a former colleague pointed out, these were the only images that created sympathy for him, although, by his lights, they were probably in breach of Section Nine.
    Another picture, taken on Valentine’s Day, makes his cry of “the media is out to get me” ring hollow. It showed the Keatings leaving a London restaurant. Was it a happy coincidence that a snapper was on hand? Or was it more of the Keating/media symbiosis?

That said, the media is certainly capable of going out of its way to “get” people. That’s why the industry has an excellent Press Complaints Commission. It will be interesting to see if Keating filed a complaint to the Ombudsman during 2010. The report is due out this summer.

Irritating

Keating’s Late Late reticence about his affair with a dancer was particularly irritating given that RTE had promised a robust interview. What was really annoying was his (unchallenged) hypocrisy towards his other mistress – the media. He wants to sleep with it when it suits him, but whinges when it kicks him out of bed. He’s still trying to use it to shore up holes in the public perception of his marriage. He wants it every way.

The rule is old and simple: don’t dip your wick if you’re not willing to pay for the oil.
    You’re no angel, Ronan. You’ve made millions from courting the media.
    Now stop biting the hand that feeds you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Frankly anyone who does one of those "VIP" style photoshoots where they parade themselves and their family around their home for a paycheck and a profile boost deserves all future intrusion they get as they set the ball rolling when it came to blurring private and professional life. They're basically using the image of their family life to make money and hock products.

(and btw I'd bet dollars to donuts that Mr. Keating is amongst this cohort).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,437 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Personally i find the licence fee expensive and therefore when i see the likes of millionaire Ronan keating treating our national station like a shopping channel i get angry...at least a bit of a row on the tv would have given me some value for money...
    imagine Tubs going paxman on his ass...."answer the question ronan.....did you love your dancer chick....did you did you....." and then ronan stormin off the set ...that would have been worth it!!