Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Booing place kickers

• 27-03-2011 7:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭

Is it just me or is this getting worse?

Newport this afternoon was fairly disgraceful when Sexton was kicking, and there were plenty of boos/smart assed shouts in Aviva last week as well.

Is there any concerted effort that we can get this under control. I mean we've the big darby next week. Surely an appeal can be made to let Rog/Sexton kick in peace?

Rant over.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Is it just me or is this getting worse?

Newport this afternoon was fairly disgraceful when Sexton was kicking, and there were plenty of boos/smart assed shouts in Aviva last week as well.

Is there any concerted effort that we can get this under control. I mean we've the big darby next week. Surely an appeal can be made to let Rog/Sexton kick in peace?

Rant over.

Not much chance of that next week anyway.
    The sacred Thomond hush seems to desert Munster fans when Sexton plays!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Personally I like when the French fans clap as their place kicker is doing his run up.

You're never going to get everyone to shut up for an opposition kicker imo.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Personally I like when the French fans clap as their place kicker is doing his run up.

You're never going to get everyone to shut up for an opposition kicker imo.

Thought it was great to see the Clermont fans both clapping Parra/James, and respecting Sexton with silence when we were over there.

I do like the clapping, as it nullifies the one idiot who shouts something, well idiotic, to break the silence.
    Like an Olympic pole vaulter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

wixfjord wrote: »

Its mostly kids who do this in thomond tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

I heard it last week at Lansdowne too. This crap has to be sorted out. Rugby in Ireland has been renowned for respect for the kicker, we need to get it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Leslie91 wrote: »
    I heard it last week at Lansdowne too. This crap has to be sorted out. Rugby in Ireland has been renowned for respect for the kicker, we need to get it back.

There were English fans there too, loads of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

The stadium announcer talking through Toby Flood's kick took the biscuit last week! Will give the benefit of the doubt though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

kids and drunk idiots. should be a law that states its perfectly acceptable to punch them in the back of the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

zuroph wrote: »
    kids and drunk idiots. should be a law that states its perfectly acceptable to punch them in the back of the head.

There isn't? When did they repeal it?

jacothelad wrote: »
    There isn't? When did they repeal it?

Now I remember why I previously remembered nothing from my last trip to Ravenhill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

Kickers dont really care and if it werent for the Thomond Park fetish for silence for kickers no one would notice or care anymore. Its just a relic of the past like leather studs, 3 points for a try and triple crowns having any value. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Irish_Elect_Eng

I cannot remember who at the moment, but on kicker commenting on Thomond park silence said that it unnerved him more than the heckling.

I agree, the silence in thomond is a weapon.

• Site Banned Posts: 328 ✭✭michelledoh

Almaviva wrote: »
    Kickers dont really care and if it werent for the Thomond Park fetish for silence for kickers no one would notice or care anymore. Its just a relic of the past like leather studs, 3 points for a try and triple crowns having any value. Get over it.

It's part of the respect that makes rugby the game it is though.
    Respect for the ref, pints after the game with the other team even though you've just kicked the hell out of each other, and a knowledgeable respectful crowd is what makes this game 10x times better than soccer.

Some relics, are a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

True, I'd imagine it's like when your asked to play through in golf.... except your shot is important and instead of 2 or 3 strangers watching & judging, it's 20-80,000!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

There were English fans there too, loads of them.

So?. When the english were kicking I assume that was the 'Irish' making the noise?. This is something we have never done. As for get over it etc, load of bollix. Rubgy is the game it is because of respect etc. Next we'll have the players mouthing at refs like the football prima donnas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

durkadurka wrote: »

QFT

Its always the same bunch of Kids in the North Stand. I see them entering in a massive group with a few adults, my theory is they are part of some youth club for Moyross or someplace.. They have no respect and I wonder why they go at all..

I can tell you now as someone who has been to all the Thomond Park games for the last 3 years or so, that even when Leinster plays, if somone shouts during a kick, the collective crowd turns on that person. I saw an ould boy with his friends about 6 of them in their 60's tearing into a group of young lads for shouting. The young lads tried in vain to mouth back and then the whole place turned on them. Some pretty big lads came over and told them to "shut the f**k up and to respect your elders" they were silent for the whole match.

When you leinster fans arrive next week, rest assured that those who do shout during Sextons line up, will have the collective disaproval of those around them...

+1, we do our best to shut them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

A bit harsh really, if you've been there for a Leinster game then you'll know it's mainly kids that do any of the shouting.

cronin_j wrote: »

Its always the same bunch of Kids in the North Stand. I see them entering in a massive group with a few adults, my theory is they are part of some youth club for Moyross or someplace.. They have no respect and I wonder why they go at all..

Moyross have enough troubles besides landing this on them, so please retract it unless you have evidence they're from Moyross. There's more a chance that they are with clubs attending the games than kids from neighbouring Moyross.

phog wrote: »
    A bit harsh really, if you've been there for a Leinster game then you'll know it's mainly kids that do any of the shouting.

Moyross have enough troubles besides landing this on them, so please retract it unless you have evidence they're from Moyross. There's more a chance that they are with clubs attending the games than kids from neighbouring Moyross.

Yes I'm sure bad press by anonymous poster on an internet forum is like a knife through the heart for the Moyross community.

So that makes it okay then. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

in fairness most people are to busy cringing when sexton is kicking :-)

phog wrote: »
    So that makes it okay then. :eek:

I grew up in Moyross, I know the particular accent from people that live there. If its not Moyross then it is at least Thomondgate area.

So please wind your neck back in and stop getting insulted on behalf of people you dont know.

I grew up in Moyross, I know the particular accent from people that live there. If its not Moyross then it is at least Thomondgate area.

So please wind your neck back in and stop getting insulted on behalf of people you dont know.

Ouch, put down of the week.

I cleared it with a mod to make sure that it didnt overstep the mark after i posted, so hopefully that will be the end of that.

On the subject of Booing, I cant remember which kicker it was, im sure the learned folks that reside here will tell me, but he missed a few kicks at Thomond because of the silence, he said he felt the whole world was watching him or words to that effect, and it put him off..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

The sacred Thomond hush seems to desert some Munster fans when Sexton plays!

Let's not tar us all with the same brush :)

I hate when people boo / jeer kickers as when I was brought to games as a wee lad, I learnt about the respect and silence tradition...

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

You can't enforce respect.

Don't worry about it. If folks choose to shut up, great, if they don't, c'est la vie.

I really did love the way the Clermont fans adapted.

Trojan wrote: »

Don't worry about it. If folks choose to shut up, great, if they don't, c'est la vie.

I really did love the way the Clermont fans adapted.

It was pretty amusing, particularly when Brock James kept missing

challenge_accepted_Fap_Achievement_Chart-s325x265-141670-580.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

ted1 wrote: »
    in fairness most people are to busy cringing when sexton is kicking :-)

They're squinting! Don't want to get any laser beams in the eye, now, do they? :D

I grew up in Moyross, I know the particular accent from people that live there. If its not Moyross then it is at least Thomondgate area.So please wind your neck back in and stop getting insulted on behalf of people you dont know.

I didnt get insulted I just think it's bad form to be naming neighbourhoods where kids might come from when you're obviously not sure of it as you've just admitted here that the kids could be from the Thomoindgate area, so in fact you were wrong to blame Moyross in the first place.

BTW, if you're close enough to recognise their accents why not ask them or ask a stweard to ask them to refrain from booing during kicks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

On the subject of Booing, I cant remember which kicker it was, im sure the learned folks that reside here will tell me, but he missed a few kicks at Thomond because of the silence, he said he felt the whole world was watching him or words to that effect, and it put him off..
    It was the USA kicker following their RWC game v Australia in 1999.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    I hate when people boo / jeer kickers as when I was brought to games as a wee lad, I learnt about the respect and silence tradition...

These 2 points for me.

You can probably put down the increase in noise for a kicker to a lot more newer fans attending rugby over the previous 5-7 years. There would be a lot more people unaware of the traditions of the game.

Personally, I don't see the big deal. People pay for their ticket and should be allowed behave as they wish within the confines of normal society. It's not something I would do but each to their own.

Until we start to hear some of the vitriolic abuse that fans of other sports have been known to hurl then I'm not worried and I don't ever see that happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

It's part of the respect that makes rugby the game it is though.
    Respect for the ref, pints after the game with the other team even though you've just kicked the hell out of each other, and a knowledgeable respectful crowd is what makes this game 10x times better than soccer.

Some relics, are a good thing.

That's all great, but I think this "respect the kicker" stuff is a load of BS.

I was in Thomond for Munster games when Jonny Sexton and Shane Geraghty got pretty much complete slience when place kicking, but got absolute dog's abuse any other time they touched the ball. When high balls went into the full back most there were huge roars to try and put him off hoping he'd drop it. When the opposition had a lineout, the noise was unreal from the crowd trying to disrupt the calls.

So its respect the out half - but only when he's kicking at goal
    No need to respect the full back
    No need to respect the hooker

I've seen with my eyes someone venting unbelieveable vitriol towards an outhalf, only to turn around not 5 minutes later and tell a fellow supporter to shut up because that same outhalf was attempting a penalty.

A load of hypocritical bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

durkadurka wrote: »

indeed and whenever it happens the announcer will make a statement asking them to observe the traditions and to be quiet
    That's all great, but I think this "respect the kicker" stuff is a load of BS.

A load of hypocritical bull.

I am sorry that you feel that way, as a Munster (and indeed Ireland) fan I like the tradition as I think it (as mentioned) is far more effective than noise at putting pressure on the kickers

with regard to your examples, i think its safe to say I have the seen the same applied by fans of other teams to Munster players
    Personally, I don't see the big deal. People pay for their ticket and should be allowed behave as they wish within the confines of normal society. It's not something I would do but each to their own.

I tend to agree, to a point

I remember the Irish fans getting frustrated at trying to get the NZ fans to be quiet....'feck them' is my attitude, if they wish to roar and make animal noises like idiots that's their business, that is their 'tradition'
    Until we start to hear some of the vitriolic abuse that fans of other sports have been known to hurl then I'm not worried and I don't ever see that happening.

indeed the booing by eachother's fans of the national anthems at the wales-england game last weekend was amongst the milder 'banter' witnessed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

QFT

I can tell you now as someone who has been to all the Thomond Park games for the last 3 years or so, that even when Leinster plays, if somone shouts during a kick, the collective crowd turns on that person. I saw an ould boy with his friends about 6 of them in their 60's tearing into a group of young lads for shouting. The young lads tried in vain to mouth back and then the whole place turned on them. Some pretty big lads came over and told them to "shut the f**k up and to respect your elders" they were silent for the whole match.

When you leinster fans arrive next week, rest assured that those who do shout during Sextons line up, will have the collective disaproval of those around them...
    the kids in the north terrace are from clubs/schools who get complementary tickets from the munster branch, and if they start booing/making noise during kicks at goal and 30 people tell them to shut the f*** up, they will have learned not to do it the next time they are in thomond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

Why at an away ground should you expect a crowd to follow your tradition?

As far as I am concerned the crowd is a home advantage weapon, and if that is keeping quiet at kicks then great, but the opposite can equally apply.
    For example do Munster fans keep quiet if a Toulouse player is to take a kick in Toulouse? If so why? as the French fans are not going to keep quiet for your kicker as its their tradition to make noise!

The French have a history of making an almighty racket for the opposition kickers, so why should an away team expect the crowd to say oh look its Munster/Leinster/Conn etc we must keep quiet to observe their traditions.

Welsh fans have a mixed history with keeping quiet, I have been to many a welsh derby game down the years (too many to mention) where there was a cacophony at kick time. English fans depending on the team are sometimes quiet sometimes noisy. This is not a rugby issue of disrespect its purely a regional thing.

On a final note if fans are so concerned with being respectful to opposition players why is there a load of shouting whistling etc when an opposition full back is going up for a high ball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Oh good, yet another pointless 'booing the kicker' thread, some LvM crap creeping in as well. Keep it under wraps lads, especially given th week thats in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Vanhalla

Im a big munster fan but cant stand the whole silence thing for the kicker. its a load of bull****. its a bloody sporting event , if someone wants to cheer or whatever then he should be aloud do so without some auld lad turning around to tell him to cop on.
    and im sure most kickers hate it also even tho they will spout nonsense in interviews about how its very respectful etc.
    then you have the ppl who try to shush everyone else for the entire time the kicker is preparing to kick. as if ppl dont know about it!
    complete nonsense. il be bringing my foghorn this weekend