Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Proposal Stories!

• 27-03-2011 12:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

Hey everyone,

Anyone got a great proposal story to tell out there?:)

Does the big, romantic proposals that i see on TV actually happen to real life people..Tell me!

X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭ana_conda

I don't have any that I can share YET but I just wanted to say that I think this will be a great thread

I love these stories ......Please share

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 absie

ohhhhhh..are you expecting a proposal some time soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Cellygirl

I was proposed to at the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris just before midnight in October 2008.

It was very romantic indeed. A total surprise. Well, I knew I was going to Paris but the proposal wasn't expected at all!

My fiance pulled me over to a deserted part of the balcony and got down on one knee. Only he didn't realise that actually one of the 'walls' was the side of the lift and right when he was down on one knee the lift opened and people started getting into it to go back down to the ground. So we turned around to see a whole gaggle of Spanish students watching the proposal and cheering and clapping!!

It was the first night of our holiday so we spent the next five days on a total high. Best holiday of my life so far.

There isn't a smile face for blush so this one will have to do :o

I guess I would be hoping for one over the next couple of years .....If and when it happens I will defiantly be posting up the AMAZING way it happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭LBD

No matter how it happens there is nothing more romantic and special than the person you love asking you to spend the rest of your life with them :)

Mine was at sunset in Salthill overlooking Galway bay, a complete and utter shock but undoubtedly one of the happiest evenings in my life.....Hoping the wedding this July is just as amazing. I don't think I will ever forget the feeling or the high I got that evening.....the goofy grin lasted for weeks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭TimMac

Ill wade in on behalf of all the menfolk out there!
    I proposed to my better half in April last year & we are getting married next month :D
    (The ring had been burning a hole in my pocket for quite some time)
    I whisked her off to Egypt, was looking very doubtful because of the volcanic ash. The ban was lifted the day we flew, so we eventually got out.

proposed at a place called el fanar about twenty minutes drive from sharm el sheik. all thats there is a clifftop resteraunt and a path that leads down to a small jetty. So we went for a walk down to the jetty & the most amazing sunset was just finishing. the knee cartilage gave way and the rest as they say is history,I was S**ting a brick it was such a relief to get the words out.

Lucky it was last year we went to Egypt as opposed to this year, otherwise she would be getting a riot shield instead of a ring!!!

This is the exact spot

http://www.panoramio.com/photo/15671262

http://www.360cities.net/image/christmas-coffee-in-el-fanar-egypt#-274.97,8.60,70.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

I did it here

http://www.squidoo.com/SoutherntipofAfrica

I told her I would go to the end of the world to be with her :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

I proposed on the Orient Express from London to Venice, somewhere around the French/Swiss border.
    We came back to our cabin after our black tie dinner and I got down on one knee.
    If she didn't say yes she'd have gone out the window like in a Bond movie.
    I'm not normally a romantic but this was something special so I pushed the boat out.

We holidayed in Venice and then the volcano took charge so we couldn't fly home.
    We were stuck for an extra 8 days in Venice - Rough I know haha
    I could give tours at this stage!

As we had booked everything through Orient Express it was their responsibility to get us home, so they brought us back on the train "for free".
    Choo Choo!!!
    Best holiday ever :)

Wedding soon!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭iwannagoonstric

Hi, loving this thread. my OH and i went ring shopping around valentines. He is crap at keeping secrets so told me that the deposit has gone on a ring. I'm crap at patience so I've been doing his head in with questions......absolutely dying with the tension - argh. Also i've been banned from telling anyone so I will keep you all posted on how it goes!!! exciting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭itsallaboutme!!

My FIANCE:D propsed to me outside TIffany & Co on Fifth Ave in NYC last week:D

We had been there for about a week and it was our last full day there.We had decided to go do the last of our shopping early that morning and were heading back towards our hotel to get rid of some bags.As we got to the store he asked me did i want to go in for a look as everytime we have been to nyc before i always bought something in the sterling silver jewlery section. I said no that i didnt want to bother this time as i had already spent a fortune:eek: He kept at me sayin ah sure it wont hurt to look! It was raining and the more he said go for a look the more irritated i got:rolleyes: He eventually stopped me outside the doors and said well your gonna have to go in because we are going in to buy a ring. I just started laughing at that stage and told him to stop his messing!!!(its been kind of a running joke with us for the last few years!)
    I didnt believe him for a minute or two but when i realised he was serious i burst into tears on the spot!I'd say people thought i was a bit nuts in floods of tears outside TIffany!!!

We went in eventually and we picked the most amazing ring and I got to have champagne and mini cakes for my very own Breakfast at Tiffany's:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

I proposed to my wife on Diamond Head Crater in Oahu, Hawaii. It was about a one hour hike from our hotel to the top of the crater and we stopped at a fantastic little viewing point on the way down were there were just 3 or 4 other people enjoying the view. I pretended I was going down on one knee to take a photo of her and it took her a minute to realise I was actually proposing.

diamond-head-crater-waikiki-hih856.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭littleredspot

My wife loves sushi so I brought her out to Aya where they had one of those moving elevator type sushi delivery systems. I'd earlier arranged with the manager for us to be sat at the beginning of it. Half way through the meal a little box came out on one of the plates, I encouraged her to pick it, got down on bended knee etc. Took her a few minutes to reply 'cause she was so busy laughing with the shock. Manager sent over some champagne. Then I surprised her with an overnight in the Morrison.
    Neither of us like the idea of an organised engagement party, but the next night we'd arranged our annual Christmas house party so when everyone arrived we got to tell them our news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

Last year brought my Fiacee to her favorite village in the Swiss Alps and at the side of a glacial stream with a waterfall behind us a Glacier to the left and a chocolate box postcard village to the other side I got down on one knee (Getting Wet I might add)

Knew it was a total surprise when she turned around and asked what the F**k I was doing :D

Once the shock managed to get some of what I had planned to say out before putting the ring on her finger, We sat there for about an hour before heading back to the village and a bottle of champagne and some good company.

Getting married in the same village this summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭magneticimpulse

My wife loves sushi so I brought her out to Aya where they had one of those moving elevator type sushi delivery systems. I'd earlier arranged with the manager for us to be sat at the beginning of it. Half way through the meal a little box came out on one of the plates, I encouraged her to pick it, got down on bended knee etc. Took her a few minutes to reply 'cause she was so busy laughing with the shock. Manager sent over some champagne. Then I surprised her with an overnight in the Morrison.
    Neither of us like the idea of an organised engagement party, but the next night we'd arranged our annual Christmas house party so when everyone arrived we got to tell them our news.

Thats very brave. If I saw a diamond ring in a sushi bar, id grab it and run out the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 inquisitive one

My finacé proposed to me on a skiing holiday on Valentine's Day, it was completely unexpected. His proposal was in two stages - first he gave me a pack of love heart sweets into which he had put a silver love heart engraved with 'i love you', I thought it was my valentines gift & loved the romance of it. Later that day he gave me a further gift - it was a second silver love heart in a presentation box - I was surprised at the duplication of his gift but then he asked if we could exchange them on our wedding day I cried with happiness & am really looking forward to exchanging them with him next month.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭SSFG

We had the ring made with the diamond from my mams engagement ring, so when we collected it he confiscated it until he was to propose!
    Then he told me we were going to Bunratty castle, and he had arranged to have one of the towers closed off so it was just the two of us...and down he went on one knee. We are getting married 7 months from today...I can't wait!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Shellygoose

Ah I am jealous of all these super romantic proposals!! Mine was quite the opposite (but still ill never forget it!)

I had always assumed "the proposal" would take the romantic stereotypical format...taken away somewhere for the weekend, dinner and drinks and dropping to the knee etc....this is what really happened...

I was sitting at my kitchen table doing some work on the laptop, dinner cooking away in the oven. Boyfriend comes home and starts lingering around behind me, kept trying to distract me from my work by kissing and cuddling me. Needless to say i got annoyed with him and told him to go away and leave me in peace.
    He kept it up and I (ever so lady-like) told him to F**k off :p So he says "well if i F off then you wont get to see what i have for ya", at which i replied I'd have a look later! He dropped to one knee (while shaking like a leaf!) and said the most amazing things. To be honest I was so shocked at what was happening that I never answered him and just smacked one on his lips :D
    It was my turn to start shaking then!!! Took me bout 10mins before I said yes.

....i'd also like to include that the dinner was well and truely BURNT to a crisp and that the oven nearly went up in flames so any men out there planning do propose - DONT DO IT WHILE THE DINNER IS IN THE OVEN :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭sligo_dave

I proposed to my fiancee last November and did it a bit different.
    We live together in Sligo but are both originally from longford. I had arranged to be off work that day and had told herself it was so we could go shopping in athlone. No reason to go there but i convinced her we should go early as it wasnt often we got to spend much time with our families back home and arranged for her to get her hair done and bring clothes in case we decided to go out.

Anyway, on the way home we were passing the place we had our first kiss but before we got that far i made out that the car wasn't running right so I pulled up at the place and had the song that was on when we first kiss playing on the cd player. I got out, lifted the bonnet and asked to give me a hand hold something. When she came around to the front of the car I was down on one knee with our song playing at the exact place we first kissed.

She didnt believe me for a minute and thought I was only messing to cheer her up but she eventually said yes and we went to athlone where i had arranged for Fields jewellers to have rings ready for her to choose from. She still didnt believe i was serious till she was on the way home with the ring on her finger.
    One of the most amazing but scariest moments of my life but she's loving telling the story as she had no idea it was coming at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

God, what beautiful stories.

Mine is very unromantic.:o There was no surprise or big show of love. My fiance is not that kind of guy.

We'd been talking about getting engaged for a while and we went on holidays to South Africa for Christmas/New Year. We've been together for ages but it was the first time I met his grandparents/aunts/uncles/childhoods friends.

Anyway, he was acting really strange and I was wondering what was up because I thought him proposing might be on the cards. I eventually asked him what was wrong and he told me he wanted to propose but hadn't been able to get the ring in time before we left for our holiday. He wanted to give me his mum's ring and it was in safety deposit box in the bank where his dad lives, in a different town. He's not the most organised person so he didn't get himself together in time to get it! He said he felt really bad and then I told him he could propse without the ring, or with another token ring. He said he didn't know you could do that! (bless). I said I'd prefer he did that because if we waited until we were back at home neither of us would be surrounded by family when we got engaged (we don't live in Ireland) and that's not how it should be.

So the next morning he took me to this very nice area of Johannesburg and we went around jewellery shops until we found a ring that would fit my fingers and I'd wear straight away. Then we went for a very fancy lunch in front of a statue of Nelson Mandela and he got down on one knee and gave me the ring. We rang my parents and then went to visit all his family one at a time to tell them. I was getting phone calls and texts from all my friends and family in Ireland and I spent hours on the phone with a phone card that night telling them all.

We got the ring when we got back to NZ and I've had his mum's diamond put on to a ring for me (I love it!). He is going to wear his mum's ring as his wedding ring.

It wasn't this big romantic gesture but it's very us and how we are with each other and it makes me really happy just to think about that day. Wedding feels miles away though - not getting married until mid next year!

Ah I am jealous of all these super romantic proposals!! Mine was quite the opposite (but still ill never forget it!)

I had always assumed "the proposal" would take the romantic stereotypical format...taken away somewhere for the weekend, dinner and drinks and dropping to the knee etc....this is what really happened...

I was sitting at my kitchen table doing some work on the laptop, dinner cooking away in the oven. Boyfriend comes home and starts lingering around behind me, kept trying to distract me from my work by kissing and cuddling me. Needless to say i got annoyed with him and told him to go away and leave me in peace.
    He kept it up and I (ever so lady-like) told him to F**k off :p So he says "well if i F off then you wont get to see what i have for ya", at which i replied I'd have a look later! He dropped to one knee (while shaking like a leaf!) and said the most amazing things. To be honest I was so shocked at what was happening that I never answered him and just smacked one on his lips :D

....i'd also like to include that the dinner was well and truely BURNT to a crisp and that the oven nearly went up in flames so any men out there planning do propose - DONT DO IT WHILE THE DINNER IS IN THE OVEN :rolleyes:

Now thats love!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 felderkirk

I had a serious bout of man flu one day and my then girlfriend came over to prepare some chicken soup for me. She was chiding me for being such a wimp and my continuous beseeching of her for motherly assistance fell on deaf ears. Sadly, literally.

You see, unfortunately my then girlfriend is partially-deaf due to an incident with a whippet in 1994, and so she tragically mistook my relatively innocuous plea of "will you mammy me?" as an amorous request for matrimonial commitment.

I didn't have the heart to tell her that all I required was a hot water bottle and that, at the time, I was seriously considering a 'trial separation' on account of her rather myopic and antisocial leanings towards the ugly practice of using wild animals as entertainment in the highly-illegal and seedy underworld of organised stoat-baiting.

Still, I've grown to accept her somewhat quirky pastimes (and deep - DEEP, mind you - bogger Wexford accent) and over time, our relationship has developed into one of grudging respect (on my part) and semi-adjoining beds.

Our 'small-hands-meets-yellow-freckles-and-sadly-unavoidable-perma-sneery-faced' progeny (which owes little to my own family genetics) delights in the oft-regaled hilarity of Mummy & Daddy's courtship and subsequent nuptial union.

And I suppose, in the end, that's all that matters, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

I dropped to one knee whilst on hols in tenerife feb last year in a small pokey little bar.

Oh i almost forgot to say that my parents were with us on hols and so were her parents!!!!!!!

I knew this would be a great thread ...some amazing amount of though have gone into these proposal ...who knew Irish men were so romantic ....

well done lads ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

My husband proposed to me on our favourite beach, under the stars at 23:59 on Millennium Eve and needless to say I accepted seconds later on the first day of the new millennium :) It was wonderful, I will never forget it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭beegirl

I think that's pretty romantic, who cares about the setting really - he had obviously put at a bit of thought into getting the ring, what he would say etc!!!

When me and my hubby "got engaged" on the other hand.... we were just chatting one night about the possibility that we would get married in the distant future, and perhaps engaged in the nearer future, and at the end of the conversation he said "so are we engaged then?" I didn't even know it was a proposal lol :o:rolleyes: I hate when people ask how it happened, I think I must have the world's most underwhelming engagement story!!

EDIT: have been thinking since I posted this... apparently half of the world's marriages are 'arranged', so there have probably been many, many, MANY less romantic proposals ;-) We are all very lucky to get to pick who we marry!!!

Waiting is over. my OH proposed in the park n Easter Saturday. was great, on one knee and everything ....while i was stuffin my face at a picnic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Waiting is over. my OH proposed in the park n Easter Saturday. was great, on one knee and everything ....while i was stuffin my face at a picnic
    Ah, Congratulations on your engagement. I hope you both will be really happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

I tracked down my Fiancees old family home in Dublin where she was raised for the first 4/5 years of her life before the family moved to the west for work reasons. Brought her to Dublin on the pretext of a days shopping, drove her out to her old neighbour hood and got down on my knee! Spent the weekend in the Fitzwillam hotel, dinner and ring shopping after that. She never seen it coming.

Some friends of ours got engaged in the past few weeks. Both are teachers in different primary schools. He organised a day off from his, drove over to her school and did the deed in front of her entire class and staff! Very romantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭tfak85

these stories are amazing, congrats iwannagoonstric!!

last feb myself and my OH went to the zoo, had a lovely day admiring the lemurs, bumped into some family and had a great time.. i was heading to meet my mum and some of her friends in town but he said he would have to pick something up from a mate in inchicore and wanted me to go to.. i protested but went along, he promised it wouldn't take long...
    we were walking from the luas to his friends house, along the road where we first lived together (i knew him a week and moved in) and as we got closer to the house and i pointed it out he whipped out a ring quickly mumbled "will you marry me" and i burst into tears... an old lady walking by shouted out "oh young love", it was very funny...
    he had bought a temp ring from claires as he knew I wanted to make my own but he's such an awful shopper that the thing was even too big for him!!
    we picked out a new temp one in town and then joined my mother and her mates, very fun day!!

it's so funny that even when you KNOW it's coming (i knew we'd be married this year - next month) it's still a great surprise at the time!!
    i don't know that many people get engaged on the street in inchicore but it was special to us...