Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

local cop harassment

• 26-03-2011 7:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭

guys need help with this one
    a garda who is in the traffic corp
    is targeting his neighbours and causing a lot of rumblings and grumblings
    the reason he s doing this is because his hometown comes under his patrol area.
    i thought a garda could not be stationed near his hometown
    because of this.
    this guy is doing his neighbours
    its not, getting done is the problem
    but by someone who was reared in the community
    its even now causing bad feelings against this chaps relations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Is he stopping people who are breaking the law?

If he is stopping people for no valid reason, then a complaint can be lodged with his superiors or with the Garda ombudsman.

But, if he is stopping people who are breaking the law - using phones, broken lights, etc, then he is well within his powers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Officer Giggles

If the garda is prosecuting people for breaking the law how is it harassment regardless of where view live, if he was making stuff up then he would have to commit perjury in order to get a conviction and that would be a whole new ball game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

What to you define as "hometown", the place he grew up before joining the Gardaí or the place where he currently lives after being stationed there? There is no problem with the latter.
    Oop misread the bit about him being reared there.

Can't see how this situation would be that much different to a Garda policing an area in which he was stationed for the past 20 years. Plenty of Gardaí have settled down, raised a family, made new friends, got involved in community in the same areas they police. I'm sure quite a few have fined or even arrested people they've known for years. Or is it expected he should turn a blind eye to the law when his old school buddies are involved?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

jakdelad wrote: »

Try not getting done. I've managed it throughout my life.

Look, if you have a complaint concerning a member of an garda siochana you go to the garda ombudsman's office. Its free.

If your issue is him tagging people who know him and his family and who have broken the RTA's that's not a legal issue.

Jaysus its almost reassuring to know that he's not selectively enforcing the law.

('I live near you. Ticket someone you don't know').

Come on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

The op has a genuine concern, it would be better for everyone if he wasn't stationed so close to home. As a member of the traffic corps he could Be stationed 50 miles away but still cover the area as it has the freedom to work throughout the division, if he was smart he would avoid his own area and let others deal with it especially with family members still there. Cop on and comon sence are not bestowed on everyone unfortunately!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

The notion that people would take their bitterness out on his relations is unacceptable though.

As far as I'm concerned how he does his job, within the law, is his business.

It doesn't seem to me that anyone else has standing to request him to be transferred. Unless the OP is a former minister for justice.

Joking aside, this isn't a legal issue, its a policing issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭jakdelad

Reloc8 wrote: »
    Try not getting done. I've managed it throughout my life.

Look, if you have a complaint concerning a member of an garda siochana you go to the garda ombudsman's office. Its free.

If your issue is him tagging people who know him and his family and who have broken the RTA's that's not a legal issue.

Jaysus its almost reassuring to know that he's not selectively enforcing the law.

('I live near you. Ticket someone you don't know').

Come on.
    jasus i only asked a question
    dont burn me at the stake today.
    Ignosce ignorantiam

many thanks for all your informed responses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

a garda who is in the traffic corp
    is targeting his neighbours and causing a lot of rumblings and grumblings
    the reason he s doing this is because his hometown comes under his patrol area.
    i thought a garda could not be stationed near his hometown
    because of this.
    this guy is doing his neighbours
    but by someone who was reared in the community
    its even now causing bad feelings against this chaps relations
    jasus i only asked a question
    dont burn me at the stake today.
    Ignosce ignorantiam

many thanks for all your informed responses

Do you fancy yourself as a poet or did you never learn how to write regular text?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

If they don't want this Garda "doing them" then maybe they shouldn't put him in the position where he has to "do them". All it takes is for the neighbours to stop breaking the law. It's simple really.

coylemj wrote: »
    Do you fancy yourself as a poet or did you never learn how to write regular text?

oh and i get sarcasm as well,
    no wonder you havent made not one friend here since 2006 [wonder why]
    perhaps they dont use regular text?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

oh and i get sarcasm as well,
    no wonder you havent made not one friend here since 2006 [wonder why]
    perhaps they dont use regular text?

I don't even know what the friends facility in boards is for. Anyway I have enough friends in the real world!

To get back to your original post, what exactly do you mean when you say that this Garda is 'targeting' your neighbours - is he concentrating on the people who live near you to the exclusion of people further afield? That would be my interpretation of the correct application of the word 'targeting' in this context.

coylemj wrote: »
    I don't even know what the friends facility in boards is for. Anyway I have enough friends in the real world!

To get back to your original post, what exactly do you mean when you say that this Garda is 'targeting' your neighbours - is he concentrating on the people who live near you to the exclusion of people further afield? That would be my interpretation of the correct application of the word 'targeting' in this context.
    you hit the nail on he head exactly
    now multiply it by a factor of 7

now you truly know where i am coming from