Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quality of these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Given that it is coming from China I suspect it is fake, e.g. not Castelli.

Castelli is good quality stuff but you would not expect to get a jersey and shorts for those prices.

There was another thread on the Chinese fake stuff where it was suggested that it was not the greatest quality but fine for commuting or whatever.

Jerseys don't really matter so much but shorts do... having said that buying something basic to start off with, get used to the sizing etc. is not a bad idea. Something entry-level from a decent brand, expect to pay around €50 for a pair of shorts although you may get cheaper online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭goldencleric

I agree completely with blorg, they are fine for short spins, commuting etc but I can't stress enough the importance of getting a good quality pair of shorts like these or some other model by Santini - great quality and not as pricey as Assos etc

The chamois (padding) on the ebay shorts are like paper and you really notice it - also something people tend to overlook when discussing bibs is the anti-bacterial or fungal properties of a good chamois. An infected saddle sore could put you off cycling for quite a while ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

yeah i was worried about the padding alright. well if i get them at least there black so i could get any jersey to suit it really.
    another thing, is my ass gonna be feckin raw from being on the saddle? i wont be doing any major rides for a month or so. this is the baby im getting and i cant wait :Dhttp://img219.imageshack.us/i/dsc00765l.jpg/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

are yous for real?you only need the shorts to look like a prat im a courier i cycle all day everyday and wear normal clothes and im fine no bacterial diseases or anything PUSSYS

on a road bike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

yeh you do loads of 100km+ stretches in the saddle save it for friday

on a road bike?

roadbike fixie and mtb i like to alternate

yeh you do loads of 100km+ stretches in the saddle save it for friday[/QUOTE

look pal i do at least 60km every day and then a 80km spin religously every sunday

please dont get my thread banned ill cry :( can we get back onto my original q's please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

I cycle with a couple of lads who took a gamble on this gear and the verdict is that it's absolutely fine. The sizing is a little bit smaller, but other than that - definitely worth it for the money.

The prices for official gear are insane if you ask me. They need to bring them down to a more reasonable level if they expect to stem the tide of "knocked-off" gear like this.

I bought genuine Cervelo test team gear and another guy bought the ebay Chinese version. There's a difference in quality, but it is not commensurate with the 8 fold difference in price :rolleyes:

fat bloke wrote: »
    I cycle with a couple of lads who took a gamble on this gear and the verdict is that it's absolutely fine. The sizing is a little bit smaller, but other than that - definitely worth it for the money.

The prices for official gear are insane if you ask me. They need to bring them down to a more reasonable level if they expect to stem the tide of "knocked-off" gear like this.

I bought genuine Cervelo test team gear and another guy bought the ebay Chinese version. There's a difference in quality, but it is not commensurate with the 8 fold difference in price :rolleyes:
    do you think if i bought the proper bottoms but just got a cheap jersey i would be ok?
    also whats the story with cycling shoes and pedals/cleats? the bike ive linked has no pedals but ive heard not all shoes fit with certain pedals or something.
    do the soles of the shoes, fit into cleats, which in turn attach onto the pedal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Yes, jerseys don't really matter. Shorts do.

That is how the shoes work all right. There are different systems- the first decision is between a road (3 hole) or MTB (2 hole) system. This decides the shoes. Then you can get a multitude of different systems that fit to either the 3 or 2 holes on the shoe. The cleats come with the pedals so don't need to worry about matching them so much. Basically with a MTB system you can get walkable shoes but it is not quite as solid a connection as with a road system. A road system is purely for cycling on the bike, it is impossible to walk in the shoes and more difficult to clip in to them, so not so good for getting in and out of the pedals in an urban setting. I have both and think a MTB system is better for most people- the only exception to my mind is road racing where a road system is certainly better.

blorg wrote: »
    Yes, jerseys don't really matter. Shorts do.

That is how the shoes work all right. There are different systems- the first decision is between a road (3 hole) or MTB (2 hole) system. This decides the shoes. Then you can get a multitude of different systems that fit to either the 3 or 2 holes on the shoe. The cleats come with the pedals so don't need to worry about matching them so much. Basically with a MTB system you can get walkable shoes but it is not quite as solid a connection as with a road system. A road system is purely for cycling on the bike, it is impossible to walk in the shoes and more difficult to clip in to them, so not so good for getting in and out of the pedals in an urban setting. I have both and think a MTB system is better for most people- the only exception to my mind is road racing where a road system is certainly better.
    Thanks man that's cleared up:) I'll go with the mtb ones so. Opinion on the bike as a beginner?

For the beans it's worth a gamble on the shorts and jersey if you ask me. "Authentic" stuff could cost you 250 notes. As I said, lads I cycle with have those shorts and jerseys for 80 - 100k spins and no sore ar$es to report that I know of :)

Are they fully breathable and what not? Don't want it sticking to me

Dunno man tbh. But lycra is lycra innit? :)

These are 10% Lycra,maybe others have more? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

A disease-free courier? I guess it's technically possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭goldencleric

harrrrrddddyyyyy

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS3FVxTZm5YvCmYo1frMtZtzlxJix8E46lOr5qoFf7jr8i7K1fN7A&t=1

If I order one of these is a large kinda like a medium? I'm 6'2 but a slim build and large soccer jerseys usually a bit too big for me, if these larges a bit smaller then they would fit ok yes? Or are these comparable to soccer jerseys atal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Donal94

I was wondering about these sets too, great prices. Theres a huge selection of them available here http://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale?SearchText=bib+shorts&catId=0
    and they're a little cheaper than they are on ebay.

Donal94 wrote: »
    I was wondering about these sets too, great prices. Theres a huge selection of them available here http://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale?SearchText=bib+shorts&catId=0
    and they're a little cheaper than they are on ebay.

Reviews don't seem great though and I couldn't see a post option to Ireland

I'd imagine its the same stuff as on ebay, I've bought a few things on the site before and found it very good never cycling gear though. The online chat is helpful and the seller emailed me some actual photos of my items on request. I'm tempted to order some and see what its like its so cheap.

Not reviews of the gear, the site. What's it working out at in euros I couldn't find a currency choice on their site

That's good in fairness but I can get the trek one on eBay for 39 delivered so I think I'll still get it there for the sake of having it through eBay and paypal. Still don't know about sizing though. Think I'll get a large in both.

Yeah thats not bad at all post a link there for me will you? Let me know how you get on with the sizes as I'll probably order some at some stage too.