Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Duracell Torches in Tesco for €2 & €3.50 (incl batteries)

• 25-03-2011 3:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭

Was in Tesco in Athlone today and I noticed they were selling some Duracell torches at much reduced prices.
    There was no yellow reduced/offer shelf price on these, the torches were priced with the normal white price, but at the reduced price. (as a result it's not as easy to spot this bargain).

Duracell Voyager €2 : water-resistant, shockproof and comes with 2AA batteries
    90458.jpg
    Price for this on the Duracell.ie website is €7.63
    http://www.duracelldirect.ie/pno/voyager.html

Duracell Explorer €3.50: About twice the size of the Voyager, this is also water-resistant and shockproof and comes with 2 D size batteries.
    96418.jpg
    Price for this on the Duracell.ie website is €11.22
    http://www.duracelldirect.ie/pno/explorer.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,904 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Thanks for the heads up. Always handy to have a torch or two around the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cdb

These would make a great stocking filler. Kids love torches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Pique

I have one of the Explorer ones and the light is pretty crap out of it. It seems to eat batteries too.
    Still, for that price, it's handy for the car in case of a puncture at night (which is where I have mine atm)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

cdb wrote: »
    These would make a great stocking filler. Kids love torches

Are ye mad? Sure the kids ankles would be covered in bruises in no time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,963 ✭✭✭long_b

Pique wrote: »
    It seems to eat batteries too.
    hmmm ... I smell shenanigans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Pique wrote: »
    It seems to eat batteries too.
    long_b wrote: »
    hmmm ... I smell shenanigans
    Jebus, either torch is cheaper than buying the batteries alone! You are not obliged to buy Duracell replacement batteries when they do die... Rechargables ftw.

Also, the Xenon bulb should give a good light (while batteries last).

If buying for the car, get the D Cell one. A bit harder to bangle, maybe, but the doctor should not need an x-ray if it is switched on.... :eek:.....:D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭banchang

delly wrote: »
    Are ye mad? Sure the kids ankles would be covered in bruises in no time!

Too far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Def missprice, could go backup at anytime, check what price is displayed at the time before you buy and if your charged more get it for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Yeah def misprice just like the usb chargers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Gregsor

Thanks Op,picked up a Voyager in my local,shockproof and waterproof,nice :cool:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Kevin!

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Yeah def misprice just like the usb chargers....

I doubt the USB chargers are a misprice as I was in tesco Dun Laoghaire today and they had plenty of stock at the 3.XX price - it may just be another offer they have in conjunction with duracell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Sold out in Athlone.

They did have the charger things though.. longest BA ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

going to check the local tesco tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭siber

Sold out in Athlone.

They did have the charger things though.. longest BA ever!

Sorry, I think I bought the last of the Athlone stock yesterday.

I can also confirm no stock left in Ballinasloe, some stock in Tullamore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭chavezychavez

Got 2 of the Voyager ones in Tralee today. There were about 4-5 left. All of the others were gone.

Just for comparison, Tesco are selling their own version next to it. Looks the same, feels around the same weight, but costs €9.99. Not sure if there were batteries in the Tesco one either.

One of the better BA's in a while lads. Good spot OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Hope theres some left in Tallaght. I'm such a torch nerd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭enviro

Thanks OP

If you buy the bigger torch for €3.50 it comes with 2 D size batteries.

I just checked the price of a pack of 4 D size batteries on the Tesco website and these cost €6.89 for the pack. (definitely not even near the cheapest you can buy these)

This works out at a cost of €3.44 for the two batteries that come with the torch.

Based on this - the torch is costing a whopping 6 cent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭lindtee

Keep an eye out for the pack of 2 rechargeable D Duracell batteries that were going for €1.50 a couple of weeks ago. Edit - Saw the rechargeable batteries in Midleton Tesco for €1.50 but no sign of the torches :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Alfie1

Thanks OP, I picked up a few Explorers today for €3.50 :cool:

A twin pack of Duracell D size batteries was €4.50 in store :D

I was in Tesco in Tullamore last night and there were still some of the €3.50 large size in stock. These were hanging on the stand with the batteries and were marked at full price - around €14.50. However, the good news is that they were scanning at €3.50.

As I already had stocked up I had no need to buy any more, hopefully this will help somebody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭lindtee

None of the Explorers in stock in Wilton Tesco but did get a voyager one and there were about 5 left at about 1.00pm today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭johnwd

Cheers OP, picked up 2 of these. They were marked €14.50 on the shelf but when I scanned at the price checker they came up as €3.50. There was only one or two left in Tesco Ballybeg when I'd finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

Many thanks op just picked up one of each in tesco balybeg. Even the guy at the till was surprised and said he'd get a few himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

There wasn't any in Dundrum yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭paddyp

saw 5 of the large ones shoved into the back of the shelf near the bulbs in tesco roscommon if anyone wants one. Still scannng at 3.50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭RayCon

I got 3 of the smaller ones (€2) in Maynooth on Fri ... there were 2 more left - buried behind full price Energizer torches of similar size ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭phunkymonk

class,now i wont have to pay for a taxi home at night as i will navigate my way back home with my trusty torch.....but they seem to be all gone! doh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Are these located with the bulbs or the packs or the AA batteries. I can't find them in the shop and I really need a torch for the car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

wmpdd3 wrote: »
    Are these located with the bulbs or the packs or the AA batteries. I can't find them in the shop and I really need a torch for the car!

When I got one they were on a display with all the duracell batteries.