Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Those crazy pirates

• 25-03-2011 2:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭

This may not be well know but a Danish family out sailing in the Indian Ocean was kidnapped by Somali pirates a few weeks back.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-12840582

Kidnappings like this happens a lot, EU's anti-piracy naval force said recently that pirates were holding a total of 31 vessels and 688 hostages.

Now the leader of the pirates says the rest of the Danish family can go free, but only if he gets to wed (and keep) the 13 year old daughter Naja :eek:
    http://ekstrabladet.dk/112/article1525611.ece In English.

Piracy is a highly lucrative trade in Somalia, where gangs can often demand millions of dollars in ransoms.

Anyway, here's hoping they'll manage to get away without having to marry off their daughter to some pirate king, who I bet is no Errol Flynn or Jack Sparrow (not that they'd be into underaged kids).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

It seems like a fair deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

The stupidity of some people never ceases to amaze me. Then there's the pirates to consider.

Something should really be done about those animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Hell, if you want to exemplify countries the UN has an interest in intervening with...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I remember a story a year ago.
    Somali pirates attacked a Russian ship but they failed and got captured.

The Russians were then asked to hand them over but they couldn't locate them ;)
    Strange how they managed to lose their prisoners

Pretty certain they were executed or fed to the sharks.
    The Russians, no messing around with them

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I don't know why a few nations don't get together and sail a few small merchant ships or yachts in the area, loaded up with guns and angry men who know how to use them. Kill a load of the pirates and hang their skins on the mast. And if one of yours is kidnapped, then don't even negotiate, just wipe out the village they're being held in. Sure you'd lose that hostage(s), but I reckon that'd shut them down quick enough.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Scumbag paedophile.. I hope he, and the rest of the pirates die a slow and painful death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I say they made them walk the plank :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

would anybody really care if we nuked somalia:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

PETA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

The rest of the world, as even letting off a few Nuclear weapons, can **** up the environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

YOU WOULDNT STEAL A HANDBAG!!!!

YOU WOULDNT STEAL A CAR!!!!

YOU WOULDNT STEAL A 13 YEAR OLD GIRL AND MARRY HE......... oh wait, what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Somalians.
    But they're all pirates, so who gives a crap what they think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Plenty of pirate ships.

Plenty of countries with heavily armed navies and air-forces that could do with some regular target practice.

Everybody is happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

There was a case where the Russians captured a load of pirates then "let them free" in the middle of the ocean in a rowing boat with no motor, miles from land. Legends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Wibbs wrote: »
    I don't know why a few nations don't get together and sail a few small merchant ships or yachts in the area, loaded up with guns and angry men who know how to use them. Kill a load of the pirates and hang their skins on the mast. And if one of yours is kidnapped, then don't even negotiate, just wipe out the village they're being held in. Sure you'd lose that hostage(s), but I reckon that'd shut them down quick enough.

The Contact Group on Piracy off the Coast of Somalia have warships loaded up with guns and angry men who know how to use them. I guess the corpse-skinning and village-destroying parts of the operation are still stuck in committee though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Yes.

Overheal wrote: »
    PETA?
    wes wrote: »
    The rest of the world, as even letting off a few Nuclear weapons, can **** up the environment.
    Sonics2k wrote: »
    Somalians.
    But they're all pirates, so who gives a crap what they think.

hippies. hippies every last one of ye. cut yer hair and get a job ffs.

prinz wrote: »
    Yes.

hippy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

http://www.tothepointnews.com/content/view/3617/85/

We board our luxury cruise ship in Djibouti on the Gulf of Aden near
    the entrance to the Red Sea, and disembark in Mombassa, Kenya seven adrenaline-charged days later.

somali1.jpg

somali2.jpg

Starting at $5,200 per-person (double occupancy, inside room) and $6,900 (veranda complete with bench rest), you'll relax like never before.

somali2b.jpg

That's because you are welcome to bring your own arsenal with you. If you don't have your own weapons, you can rent them from our onboard Master Gunsmith. Enjoy reloading parties every afternoon with skeet and marksmanship competitions every night!

But the best fun of all, of course, is Pirate Target Practice.

For the object of the cruise is to sail up and down the Somali Coast waiting to get hijacked by pirates. The weapons rental costs are as follows.

Rent a full auto M-16 for only $25/day with ammo attractively priced at $16 per 100 rounds of 5.56 armor-piercing:

somali3.jpg

On a budget? Rent a full-auto scope-mounted AK-47 for only $9/day with 7.62 ball ammo at $12 per 100 rounds:

somali4.jpg

Hello! Nothing gets a pirate's attention like a Barrett M-107 .50-cal sniper rifle; only $59/day with 25 rounds of armor-piercing ammo affordably priced at only $29.95.

somali5.jpg

Need a spotter? Our professional crew members can double as spotters for only $30/hour (spotting scope included, but gratuities are not.)

somali6.jpg

Want to make a real impact? Rent an RPG for only $175/day with three fragmentation rounds included!

somali7.jpg

Also included: Free complimentary night vision equipment - and throughout the night, coffee, pastries and snacks are always available on the main deck from 7pm until 6am.

Our deluxe package comes complete with gourmet meals and all rooms offer a mini-bar.

But that's not all! Twin mounted miniguns are available for rental at only $450.00 per 30 seconds of sustained fire!

somali9.jpg

We guarantee that you will experience at least two hijacking attempts by pirates or you'll receive an instant $1,000 refund upon arrival in Mombassa.

How can we make that guarantee? We operate at 5 knots just beyond 12 nautical miles off the coast of Somalia, thus in international waters where pirates have no rights whatever. In fact, we make three passes through the area's most treacherous waters to ensure maximum visibility by Somali "mother ships".

We repeat this for five days, making three complete passes past the entire Somali Coast. At night, the boat is fully lit and bottle rockets are shot every five minutes with loud disco music directionally beamed shoreside to attract maximum attention.

somali11.jpg

Testimonials from previous participants in the Somali Cruise:

"Six attacks in 4 days were more than I expected. I bagged three pirates, my wife nailed two, and my 12-year old son sank two boats with the mini-gun. This wonderful cruise was fun for the whole family" -- Fred D., Cincinnati, OH

"Pirates 0, Passengers 32! Well worth the trip! Can't recommend it highly enough!" -- Ben L., Bethesda, MD

"I haven't had this much fun since flying choppers in 'Nam. Don't worry about getting shot by pirates... they never even got close to the ship with the crap they shoot and their lousy aim... reminds me of a drunken juicer door-gunner we picked up from the motor pool in Phu Bai!" -- Dan J. - Denver, CO

somali10.jpg

Come on board and bag your own clutch of genuine Somali pirates! But cabin space is limited so you need to respond quickly. Reserve your package before May 31st and get a great bonus - 100 rounds of free tracer ammo in the caliber of your choice. So sign up for the Ultimate Somali Coast Adventure Cruise now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Roomic Cube

Russian Justice. Stern. Stern but fair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

hippy

:mad:

http://www.seasafari.ie/

Way offtopic but if you ever do this and it's good craic, they'll take you out to view an island in Dublin Bay where they used to hang pirates and leave them as a warning
    Near Dalkey
    Interesting I thought

hippy

I think that's a first for me on boards.

Simona1986 wrote: »
    There was a case where the Russians captured a load of pirates then "let them free" in the middle of the ocean in a rowing boat with no motor, miles from land. Legends

I think you got the story correct and I got it wrong

The Russians didn't execute the pirates, the pirates just claim that happened. But it's being disputed

It was reported they let 10 pirates off in the Indian Ocean in a rubber dinghy with no motor and hundreds of km from land
    Death by sharks or to die from dehydration under the blazing hot sun.

Tbh, that's even more cruel then a quick bullet
    Don't mess with the Russians!
    http://www.thefirstpost.co.uk/63244,news-comment,news-politics,russian-navy-sent-somali-pirates-to-their-death-from-the-moscow-university

http://www.seasafari.ie/

Way offtopic but if you ever do this and it's good craic, they'll take you out to view an island in Dublin Bay where they used to hang pirates and leave them as a warning
    Near Dalkey
    Interesting I thought

where do they bring you if there's no craic:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Sykk wrote: »
    Scumbag paedophile.. I

ah come on now, the guy is probably only 12 anyway. start em young don't ya know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

The Russians didn't execute the pirates, the pirates just claim that happened. But it's being disputed

It was reported they let 10 pirates off in the Indian Ocean in a rubber dinghy with no motor and hundreds of km from land

http://www.thefirstpost.co.uk/63244,news-comment,news-politics,russian-navy-sent-somali-pirates-to-their-death-from-the-moscow-university

dont mess with russia...

but i have to alugh at people who knowing there is a serious pirate problem decide to go out sailing..... can you get any slower:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

ah come on now, the guy is probably only 12 anyway. start em young don't ya know

sure if a 13 year old boy sleeps with a 14 year old girl hes a peedo and can be charged:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

sure if a 13 year old boy sleeps with a 14 year old girl hes a peedo and can be charged:pac:

But there's no age of consent in Somalia, so it's not as if he's breaking the law...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

where do they bring you if there's no craic:confused:

Hi-jacking irish ferries?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Why do they call pirates "pirates"?

Because they arrrr.

Sorry, I'll get me coat

old hippy wrote: »
    Why do they call pirates "pirates"?

Because they arrrr.

Sorry, I'll get me coat

Might've been funny had you not failed massively!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Wibbs wrote: »
    Kill a load of the pirates and hang their skins on the mast. And if one of yours is kidnapped, then don't even negotiate, just wipe out the village they're being held in. Sure you'd lose that hostage(s), but I reckon that'd shut them down quick enough.

So we're agreed then, nobody p1ss off Wibbs. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Tahuti wrote: »
    But there's no age of consent in Somalia, so it's not as if he's breaking the law...

And to add to that, there's no law in Somalia.

The answer to this is the Q-Ship, a Great War concept used to lure in U-Boats.

You put fake superstructure on a regular ship, perhaps shipping containers or the likes. The pirates take the bait and draw in closer only for the shipping container to collapse open to reveal something that'll blow the feckers out of the water.

In no time every merchant vessel and pleasure cruiser is seen as a potential warship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Drake66

How about the French, Spanish and Japanese pirate fishing boats plundering the inshore fishing stocks off the horn of Africa? Can we 'nuke them too? How about the Italian pirates dumping chemical and radioactive waste in the same waters?

Drake66 wrote: »
    How about the French, Spanish and Japanese pirate fishing boats plundering the inshore fishing stocks off the horn of Africa? Can we 'nuke them too? How about the Italian pirates dumping chemical and radioactive waste in the same waters?

Hey hey now! Nobody suggested we should nuke any pirates!

Only nuke the entire country that's all!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,646 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

You may be confusing with a much earlier incident from on or about the Soviet days in the Straits of Malacca. The story is that an amphibious ship, which, other than being painted grey, could be mistaken for some form of civilian cargo vessel, was instructed to prepare for boarding by some pirates the region is famous for (Before being overshadowed by those Somali upstarts). The pirates were advised that it was a vessel of the Soviet Navy and it would be a really bad idea for them to proceed with that course of action. Evidently believing the 'cargo ship' to be bluffing, the pirates continued to board, only to be met by Soviet Naval Infantry. (i.e. Marines). The pirates were then returned to the sea whence they came, exept slighly perforated.

Both US and French naval support vessels have been targetted by pirates off Somalia, and one rather careless group actually attempted to board a French frigate. Which didn't end well for them.

As for the Q-Ship idea, I've no idea why nobody's done this yet, but Blackwater/Xe did send MV MacArthur, which looks pretty civilian, into the area to see who/what would take the bait.

NTM