Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

canceling with sky sign up new name??

• 25-03-2011 10:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

Sorry if this has been asked and answered before.

I am currently a sky customer I rang them to see what it would cost to get multi-room in I was told an extra 15 per month per box want 2 extra points. also 30 set up fee again per box?!?!

So I'm thinking if I cancel and get my other half to sign up in his name then I can get it cheaper maybe? as a new customer or will that not work as same address??

My questions are can I reuse my hd box as one of the multi-room boxes or can they tell it was at that address before? I know I will get a new hd box and one multi-room box off them but want to use the one I have as the third box can this be done or will they only allow you to use new boxes you have bought??

Also I know I have to give a months notice does this mean I have to wait a month before signing up again? Would like to have it sorted so that i get the new set up soon as possible after the old one is canceled (less time without disney channel the better;))

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

Technically it's fraud pretending to be someone else to get an offer only available to new customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,544 ✭✭✭✭muffler

watty wrote: »
    Technically it's fraud pretending to be someone else to get an offer only available to new customers.
    But technically the "other half" would be a new customer so no fraud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

muffler wrote: »
    But technically the "other half" would be a new customer so no fraud.

Agreed. We did this before and worked perfect. We even used the same (shared) account number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Marco85

i done this only this week. cancelled sky and signed up in partners name in the same day. getin new install on monday of sky+hd in living room and 2 sky hd boxes in bedrooms plus also using old box to get fta stations in anotha bedroom. costen me £106 a month

sky world £76
    hd sub £15
    multiroom £15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

I've done it myself. Changed into OH's name. Then after 11 months got a letter saying all channels half price if I come back to Sky. Cancelled new subscription and now have 4 packs + movies + sport for €36pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭kbell

A word of warning, Sky are checking everything now with new customers, more so than ever. If there was ever money owed on any account, house address etc.. The system won't allow new cards to be activated, with some being cancelled off the system altogether.

With what I was referring to, there is no question of owing money. Cancel out of contract and sign up in new name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 yelly

Sorry its taken me so long to reply only have internet access in work:(

thanks for all your replys will i be able to use my current hd box as a multiroom box or will i have to wait a month to be able to use it as i have to give them a months notice dont i?? thanks

I called them to change the box. Took 10 minutes. 0818719858 will get you straight through to the guys that can do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

I wonder if you can refer your partner as a "friend" and then get a voucher or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

Maybe you could use your Irish name or something. And your street name in Irish too to put them right off the scent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Henree

As long as the postman can get the letter from sky to you you are sorted. I have been with sky for 9 years on a full sub with multi room. I have been under my name with 2 different addresses/ my wifes name under 2 addresses/came back to them twice under both. Used the male version of my wife's name and her surname (postman guessed it was her). This is benefit of living out in the sticks! I have a few different addresses (same house), as I said once the postman can get to you you are grand, because when the engineer rings you, you give him directions. Each new subsciption gets me new equipment or half price for a year... sometimes when an engineer comes I say to him " its an easy one today, just plug in the box and away ye go" he's happy , 2 hours off. Never stay with sky longer than a year...

I work in car sales, when a customer comes in and tells me that he can get a car cheaper and I have to match it for him to buy, if he was telling a lie to me, would that technically be fraud???? come on ??? this is the real world...its not like I am applying for 2 passports or something??

Not the same thing.
    The Sky contract says that offers for new customers do not apply if you have recently cancelled or are already a customer.

The Analogy would be if you offered 50% discount to new customers for a full service (people who have not had a service with you at least 2 years) and they put fake plates on car to get the special offer.

It's Fraud. Even if Garda isn't interested, Sky can retroactively bill the full amount at any time and you have to pay, because you lied. It's not a victimless crime as Sky's "churn" then artificially rises and they will increase charges to everyone to maintain their profit.

Of course many people succeed and get away with it. But it doesn't make it right. Explaining and encouraging people how to cheat is morally wrong and can in some circumstances be a crime too.

yelly wrote: »
    Sorry if this has been asked and answered before.

I am currently a sky customer I rang them to see what it would cost to get multi-room in I was told an extra 15 per month per box want 2 extra points. also 30 set up fee again per box?!?!

So I'm thinking if I cancel and get my other half to sign up in his name then I can get it cheaper maybe? as a new customer or will that not work as same address??

My questions are can I reuse my hd box as one of the multi-room boxes or can they tell it was at that address before? I know I will get a new hd box and one multi-room box off them but want to use the one I have as the third box can this be done or will they only allow you to use new boxes you have bought??

Also I know I have to give a months notice does this mean I have to wait a month before signing up again? Would like to have it sorted so that i get the new set up soon as possible after the old one is canceled (less time without disney channel the better;))

Thanks in advance

1. Ring up and cancel for 1 month time
    2. Take out new sub for and arrange install couple of days before contract runs out (tell them you going away on hols and you won't be back til then)
    3. Get the installer to put in New HD box in where you want muti room to be and put standard box in another room (optional). This means you will have two new cables in your multi room, your existing 2 cables in main room untouched, and he will have run another room with a single cable too.
    4. You will have 5 cables running to your dish, now more than likely there will be capacity for only 4 cables (4 way LNB) (throw him €20 and ask him to put a an 8 way LNB).
    5. When he leaves, put your old hd box in your main room and take card from new standard box and pop it in, ring sky and pair it up (no problem)
    6. You will have 2 HD boxes, throw the standard box in the third room for a freeview box
    7. Sit back , feet up and put on channel 955

Not the same thing.
    The Sky contract says that offers for new customers do not apply if you have recently cancelled or are already a customer.

The Analogy would be if you offered 50% discount to new customers for a full service (people who have not had a service with you at least 2 years) and they put fake plates on car to get the special offer.

It's Fraud. Even if Garda isn't interested, Sky can retroactively bill the full amount at any time and you have to pay, because you lied. It's not a victimless crime as Sky's "churn" then artificially rises and they will increase charges to everyone to maintain their profit.

Of course many people succeed and get away with it. But it doesn't make it right. Explaining and encouraging people how to cheat is morally wrong and can in some circumstances be a crime too.

How can charging €100 a month be fair for a subscription? compare the same with UK. I have never heard so much tripe ever? sky are happy that they have got about €8k from me over the years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭mixed up

Not the same thing.

I had too lol at this come on sky are ripping people off and you're trying to make people feel guilty :D please get a life

No one is forced to subscribe to Sky. They are providing a service at a stated price. It's people lying to re-sign at discount that are ripping everyone else off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 marcoz

Do you work for Sky or something Watty. victimless crime....blah blah blah. Im 7 years with sky never changed contract or cancelled before. I have an old dinosaur of a skp box without the sky plus even. Rang them the other day regarding a tech problem with the box... long story short she !!checked!!! if I was due an upgrade. Told me that I would have to pay 109 euro for a new box and 30 euro to install(which is essentially just connect the box to the wires which are there already). I asked her could she do me any better than that as Im a loyal customer or 7 years on full subsciption and the best she could do was recommend I take the HD subsription also for 15 euro extra a month for 12 month to get a free box. Many of my freinds and collegues have told me I should have just said I was cancelling at that stage where she will put you on to the sales department and then voila they will throw all sorts of good deals at ya. Havent done that yet but the more I think about it the more it bugs me that they would not give me a free plus/hd plus box and keep my custom but will give a new customer that without a moments thought. So for all you do gooders out there that think its morallly wrong or fraud to be cancelling and setting up again in my wifes names..... piss off and get real.