Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This Yoke

• 25-03-2011 10:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭

Would you look at this and all the money you could save:pac:

Now i've heard about the magnets on the fuel line, but this is really pushing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

€50! :D

What a joke that is, you can buy these little bits of plastic junk from china for €3 - http://www.dealextreme.com/p/neo-socket-fuel-economizer-for-car-save-fuel-gas-10-30-12v-52013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

fryup wrote: »

Now i've heard about the magnets on the fuel line, but this is really pushing it.

when i looked first i thought it said vibrator i wondered would the wife need one as well :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

probably better off using it as a vibrator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Feck off, lads. I've got one of these, a turbonator and a molecule-polarising fuel-line magnet and my car now runs on fresh air, gets an extra 30bhp and emits Hoegarten! Its the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

fryup wrote: »

I was worried about global warming before, but huzzaa!!!
    get the inventers of this a nobel prize immediately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

There are practical ways in which anyone can save fuel in any car, but that is not one of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

I supply Dual purpose Tin Foil hat's, Radon blocker & fuel optimization widget :) €5.00 P&P Inc. Ebay :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Vibrator, bah, old hat!
    I run my car on cold fusion, I get 6000 km from a glass of water!
    Here's a picture of the inventor:

tinfoil.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Forget that rubbish, everyone knows you need a flux capacitor in your car to save fuel:

flux%20capacitor.jpg

It will allow you to travel back in time and fill up at 85c a litre. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Pile of sh!te. It's just a placebo effect when you plug it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Wasn't there an electric powered turbo out a few years ago? Crazy stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

So if I get a 3-way socket adapter and 3 of these I'll up my fuel savings to 30%? Deadly.

<Goes to dig credit card out of wallet>

Oh wait, the wallet inspector still has it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Has anybody read the technical jargon for this POS??

Here says this:
    Little or no fuel savings:
    1. Your driving style – ensure you do not change your driving habit. There is tendency for VIABTOR users to drive
    faster due to the improved electric stabilizing voltage.

and the Technical section of the website here
    As most cars have a power supply providing between 12 to 14,5 Volts and with all the cars electrical components running at the same time electricity can actually run short for brief periods of time. Even though this occurs for only a fraction of a second it is still enough to disturb the combustion process of the engine. This will cause an increase in CO2 emission.

A car engine’s combustion is controlled by a micro computer called an ECU (Engine Control Unit). The ECU continuously calculates the optimum air/fuel ratio in order to achieve the most efficient combustion process at all times and thereby reduces the CO2 emission.

The ECU needs between 13.5 V and 14 V continuously in order to calculate the air/fuel ratio. At steady driving it is no problem for the power supply to continuously generate a voltage within this interval.

Unfortunately steady driving is not actually possible. In normal traffic the driver often has to brake and accelerate over and over again. During the acceleration the voltage from the car’s power supply will reach levels below 13,5 V for a fraction of a second resulting in the ECU briefly stopping calculations for the optimum air/fuel ratio. There will be thousands of these small calculation breaks on every normal drive.

The core of the VIABTOR’s technology is based on voltage compensation principals. A bespoke electrical circuit has been developed to stabilize the voltage from the car’s power supply thus eliminating the brief outages of the ECU.

A stable and consistent electrical flow secures optimum performance. The effect of the VIABTOR is that the car’s combustion process is stabilized and optimized thus reducing the CO2 emission of the car.

FFS, words escape me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

its much like the stuff you get on hi-fi forums voltage stabalizers, squash balls to place your equipment etc if you think it works then it works :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

"bespoke electrical circuit" = capacitor :D ?
    I doubt there's even much capacitance in it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭barryfitz

Shenanigans!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

dharn wrote: »
    its much like the stuff you get on hi-fi forums voltage stabalizers, squash balls to place your equipment etc if you think it works then it works :confused:

Haha, Bi-Wiring springs to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Why is the VIABTOR not fitted as standard equipment on all new cars?

- Probably because the technology is very new.

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Isn't it a pity the Yella Party are out of office? Some smart talking salesman could have sold them on that idea for a few million.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

cjt156 wrote: »
    Feck off, lads. I've got one of these, a turbonator and a molecule-polarising fuel-line magnet and my car now runs on fresh air, gets an extra 30bhp and emits Hoegarten! Its the future.

if this has a flux capacitor it is a bargain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I thought the page was a joke! Then I remembered those bomb detectors that were sold for €80k each.

The FAQ's are funny:
    Has the VIABTOR been approved?
    - Yes, the VIABTOR has been approved in accordance with all current rules and regulations.
    Has the VIABTOR been tested?
    - Yes the VIABTOR has been tested by TÜV in Germany.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

i might email tuv and ask em...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

I reckon they're being honest about the testing by TUV.

They'll probably confirm that they did test it however it was a load of shíte.