Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you ever mitch from school as a child?

• 24-03-2011 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭

...I did but i never really enjoyed it.

The terror of being caught always overshadowed the enjoyment of a school-free day.

Mitch means(to avoid confusion);

Go on the Hop.

Skip school.

Play truant.

Doss.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

No, but I did plenty of dossing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I only did it in the last couple of years of school.

It was awesome, and way too easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i did once. went to the local snooker club where all the other shams were mitching. got bored after 20 minutes and just went back to school!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Very rarely when I first went to secondary, mainly the odd class here and there.
    But in the last two years I did it all the time. The school never really cared about 5th or 6th years. They kind of said it was up to ourselves, which is fair enough I suppose. Regret it now though, my leaving cert results are embarrassing. :(
    If I could go back to 5th year now I'd study my absolute ass off.
    Hmm, need to stop typing now because I'm depressing myself.
    Stay in school kids :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Not until college when it actually mattered to be in. Pity I didn't hit the demon drink in secondary a bit harder and I could've got it out of my system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Yeah, did it loads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Pretty often. It's was only in the last 2-3 months of 6th year I decided to just stop showing up at all. Just crammed like fook.
    Horrible time, but it worked in my favor thankfully. I don't believe sitting in class is a very productive means of learning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Twice properly and got caught twice. The 2nd time i got sent for a drugs test because of the people i were caught with plus i was rather suspicious myself with my lethargic attitude and bloodshot eyes :D. I cant wizz in front of people so i never took the test. I went on the hop for a week when my family went on holiday except from me and my da. My da went to work at 6 and came home at 5 everyday so i just stayed at home and threw on my uniform when he came home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭damagegt

I built a hut on the grounds of my school and mitched at least a 2-3 classes everyweek for 2 years in 5th and 6th.I told them I was very sick in 4th year and that i would be missing days,noone ever asked a question and when it was raining you could break into the old dorms and go back to sleep ahhh they were the good old days..................Im on the dole now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I didn't, actually had good laugh there.

My Dad though, bailed outta a school on his first day haha

I like to remind him every now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Once I did and felt horrible about it. I remember going back to the school the next day and just saying "yeah, I didn't come in yesterday, I don't have a note, there was no reason for me not to come in".

To which the reply was "you're doing all the homework from yesterday and today over the weekend and we'll call it even".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

Yep, all the time and I got caught which wasn't surprising because I took every tuesday and wednesday off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

I used the excuse that I was training for Galway United Youths to successfully mitch from Religion and Geography for a period of 3 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Loads of times. Was mostly **** though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I ditched the odd class here and there but never an entire day, I was too chicken. Pulled plenty of sickies though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Most of my school life was spent on the hop. Still got my leaving. Still went to college. The man can't keep Dangerous Man down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Yep.

One particular day, I pretended I was sick. The parents believed me and went to work, so I stuck a mannequin in my bed and set it up to look like I was sleeping and snoring in case they came back.

I then got my best mate to make a fake call to the school and got my girlfriend the day off too.

We had a great oul day in my best mates' dad's Ferrari, touring galleries, eating in fancy restaurants and I even managed to blag my way onto a parade float and sang a Beatles song to the crowd, who did the Thriller dance to it.

The principle suspected I was blagging it and tried to catch me out, but he ended up with the arse of his trousers torn out and a shoe missing, the fool.

Aaah, that was a great day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A fair bit, yes.

I usually just forged sick notes from my mother to cover my tracks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Yep.

One particular day, I pretended I was sick. The parents believed me and went to work, so I stuck a mannequin in my bed and set it up to look like I was sleeping and snoring in case they came back.

I then got my best mate to make a fake call to the school and got my girlfriend the day off too.

We had a great oul day in my best mates' dad's Ferrari, touring galleries, eating in fancy restaurants and I even managed to blag my way onto a parade float and sang a Beatles song to the crowd, who did the Thriller dance to it.

The principle suspected I was blagging it and tried to catch me out, but he ended up with the arse of his trousers torn out and a shoe missing, the fool.

Bueller?

Bueller?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Yep.

The principle suspected I was blagging it and tried to catch me out, but he ended up with the arse of his trousers torn out and a shoe missing, the foo
    l.

So you had to humilate him instead of just lying? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

Yes indeed, went to Killarney with my girlfriend, ended up at her friend's house playing video games, I think.

Another time I just walked out, and spent the next six hours walking around Tralee absolutely terrified of bumping into my mother. I saw a car the same make as hers and leapt behind a bench.

Yep, I'm a dangerous guy to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Yep.

And then you married a horse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Was supposed to go to school Wednesday afternoons if we didn't play games..
    Never went ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Bom bom, chicka chicka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Nope, never did. I went to the kinda school that was impossible to mitch from though. If you weren't gonna be in, one of your parents had to ring in the morning to say so or else the principle would ring them.

You signed in when you got to school and I mean the classes were so small, you'd definitely be missed. There were 4 people in my Irish class. Don't think I would've bothered even if I could have gotten away with it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Yep.

Do you have a sister? Because I remember I was down the cop-shop having been pulled in yet again for drugs. I was sitting there waiting to be processed and this chick sits down. She was all bitchy and I told her that she wore too much eye makeup and she, like my sister, looked like a whore.
    She threatened to bust my nuts. Anyway she started complaining about her brother and how he was always getting away with shït and mitching school and she couldn't stand it. I eventually calmed her down and we started snogging. Then her mother came to get her. She was well mortified but laughed it off. Nearly slipped down the stairs too.

Good times.

By the way I'm still getting done for drugs.

stovelid wrote: »
    A fair bit, yes.

I usually just forged sick notes from my mother to cover my tracks.

"Please excuse my writing, I busted whichever hand it is I write with"......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

stevejr wrote: »
    "Please excuse my writing, I busted whichever hand it is I write with"......

You'll go a long way. :)

Do you have a sister? Because I remember I was down the cop-shop having been pulled in yet again for drugs. I was sitting there waiting to be processed and this chick sits down. She was all bitchy and I told her that she wore too much eye makeup and she, like my sister, looked like a whore.
    She threatened to bust my nuts. Anyway she started complaining about her brother and how he was always getting away with shït and mitching school and she couldn't stand it. I eventually calmed her down and we started snogging. Then her mother came to get her. She was well mortified but laughed it off. Nearly slipped down the stairs too.

Good times.

By the way I'm still getting done for drugs.

And then you beat up a hooker....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah - always got caught though.

Dudess wrote: »
    Yeah - always got caught though.

Boarding school?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Paddy_Smith

I did it a good few times during the last two years of school, went on the piss a few times as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Yup. At my high school, if you were in your last year you could get three days off during the semester to visit universities. So one day my friend called in and acted like she was her mom and said a group of us were going to visit a university (we had done this with our parents a few weeks before). So we went to my friend's house in the suburbs...and arrived just in time to see her mom getting into the car to go to work.

Her response?

"I'm two hours late for work. I didn't see you if you didn't see me".

We spent the rest of the day watching old Richard Pryor videos and eating Cheetos.

Her mom was really cool. :D

stevejr wrote: »
    Boarding school?...
    Nope. A finishing school in Switzerland. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

I did - yeah. I mitched so much during 5th year (I thought i was in love...) that i was put on attendance report for the entire year of 6th year. Every morning, I used to have to go say "morning" to the principal. That was grand though, because I'd duck out at little break not a bother to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I did but not very often, and never did anything interesting while on the hop, just lazed around talking sh!te. Kinda like how I behaved in school really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭bigmouth writes again

the headmaster ritual of keeping more than just a beady eye on me ensured i was almost always on the hop.

not a fan of mothers who stand by their family regardless, as mine duly didn't adhere to but when they don't regardless.. it almost encouraged him to take liberties. where the headmaster of all people becomes the bully, its best to just stay away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Often, but we never saw it as mitching because we were too busy shoplifting, sort of saw it as work experience:rolleyes:

That would explain your nuetrality and fondness for cheese*

*Fondness for cheese is purely conjecture:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Champagne socialist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭bigmouth writes again

i take the 'high fliers' that was your class didn't have time nor reason to mitch then, stevejr.

Nah, not really. But I was a bit of a pampered princess - once ended up getting detention on a Saturday morning with a jock, a bad boy from the wrong side of the tracks, a goth girl and a studious lad. We all hated each other at the start, but by lunchtime we had resolved our differences... and I shagged the bad boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Yep all the time,even in primary school,remember the guards calling up on a few occasions saying that if I kept up they'd send me to some school for bad kids in Tipperary or somewhere,never followed through though.

Secondary was even worse,but I made a deal with my very sound form teacher to just come in to be officialy marked as 'in' for assembly and then leave again.Used to just stroll out the main door as everyone else went to their next class.Fúcked my leaving up badly though,mainly cos I just wrote funny storys in all my exams.Got a few A's on my junior though surprisingly enough!

The joys of social phobia!

Nah, not really. But I was a bit of a pampered princess - once ended up getting detention on a Saturday morning with a jock, a bad boy from the wrong side of the tracks, a goth girl and a studious lad. We all hated each other at the start, but by lunchtime we had resolved our differences... and I shagged the bad boy.

Did you have a Club sandwich for Breakfast that day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Didn't go to French for the last 2 years of secondary school,it was last class every day so just went home.one of the lads in the class told the teacher I switched to german and me ma just thought I finished at that time,still scraped a pass in the leaving:)

For some reason we all looked way older than our age...

Oil of Oldage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

i mitched more than i attended lol