Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

did anyone hear gerry adams mention laundered money today in the dail

• 23-03-2011 9:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭

this any one hear the roars of the dail after he said this.maybe some one has a link.brave words from a man like him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Got a video for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Should be available on RTE news on line, heard it earlier, the quick apt reply by Kenny was perfect.

Don't think its on RTE player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Don't think its on RTE player.

Thought it might be,anyways, i can't remember the exact words, but Adams said something along the lines of ..Fine Gael were in a way laundering money, Kenny responded with something like, if he needed advice on laundering money, he could ask the experts in Adams's party...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

About the 2:50 mark

At least I think this is what the OP is talking about.

Gerry Adams, what a guy.

Using the football term which is taking one for the team. Gerry Adams seems fine with embarrassing himself to get a point across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

galwayrush wrote: »
    Should be available on RTE news on line, heard it earlier, the quick apt reply by Kenny was perfect.

Who would have thought that Kenny would be giving lessons in public speaking and parliamentary procedure. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

it is kinda amazing to see him in the dail, course ff/fg etc midwifed him into gov up north so they can't really suggest he has no right to comment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

I thought that would have been entertaining.

But that snivelling little prick enda kenny is a bore :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

tenchi-fan wrote: »
    But that snivelling little prick enda kenny is a bore :mad:
    While presentation and leadership are important (and Kenny being plain detracts from them modestly), would you prefer someone who was all show and no substance? Bertie perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 RyanP

I'm an Irish Republican and have no admiration for Adasm as my beliefs of '86.

I do however think he is a great breath of fresh air to the Dail, and anyone who wants change has to give it to Adams, also Ming, also Wallace.

Its about time.

They can be shown as put down or however but its about time, theres is some 'conflict' in the dail. its about time the whole Sinn Fein is IRA bull**** stops, would it be as effective when Gilmore talks, nah didnt think so.

Also great to here bit more Gaelic in the Dáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,748 ✭✭✭✭maccored

are SF money launderers now as well? anyone have that conclusive proof about the so called 'ira bank robbery'? I didnt think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

RyanP wrote: »
    Also great to here bit more Gaelic in the Dáil.
    Gaelic? Around these parts it's more commonly know as Irish or Gaeilge.

I agree that it is good to have a few more dissenting voices in there. Too much consensus was one of the problems of the bubble.

maccored wrote: »
    are SF money launderers now as well? anyone have that conclusive proof about the so called 'ira bank robbery'? I didnt think so.
    There's no conclusive proof that Hitler is dead either, but I don't see too many people looking for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭eco2live

I don't remember many jeers when that thief Ahern was still in there. Even with proof he was a lying fug he just said he won it on a horse. GMAFB!

The start of the end of cute Hur politics in Ireland is great to see. I hope we have an educated electorate that can make up their own mind and judge people on their own merits.

I hope costs are awarded against Ahern for Mahon for slowing up the tribunal. The Dail has always been full of crooks. Less now then before and Gerry has done more for the peace process then anyone else and certainly anyone in FF ever did. I am glad to see some of the new TDs. Breath of fresh air. Leave the past in the past and build a bridge and get over it. Fuggin hypocrites. I would take Ming and Gerry over the other C you next Tuesdays any day of the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

galwayrush wrote: »
    Thought it might be,anyways, i can't remember the exact words, but Adams said something along the lines of ..Fine Gael were in a way laundering money, Kenny responded with something like, if he needed advice on laundering money, he could ask the experts in Adams's party...
    Yeah, I laughed at that myself, Gerry and co. would certainly know about making illegal bank withdrawals !!!! Still Enda wouldn't have to go to far to ask the "experts" as Eammon Gilmore, Pat Rabitte and others of the former SF the Workers Party would know more than a thing or three about money laundering. Especially with plates from North Korea for making counterfeit US dollars ;)

Workers Party boss linked to counterfeit dollars
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/workers-party-boss-linked-to-counterfeit-super-dollars-503002.html

Gerry Adams, what a guy.

Using the football term which is taking one for the team. Gerry Adams seems fine with embarrassing himself to get a point across.
    Well tell me of a politican yet who didn't put his foot in it ?

But when it comes to embarrassing yourself to get a point across you cannot beat unionism -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Enda Kenny grows on me by the day. There's no bullsh*t about him, he put that fool Adams in his place, and he was extremely good at pointing out the complete lack of any link of corruption withi the whole lowrey affair and the FG party as a whole or any member of the FG Government, past or present, with the exception of Lowry at the time.

Lowry was expelled from FG and by sending the report on to the garda, Enda is showing complete lack of tollerance for corruption (unlike protecting them which went on with FF) and is looking to bring in legislation to eliminate corruption in the future, an act that FF will never be able to reverse as it would be blatantly obvious why they would, and they strongly appose that ban. They're not even subtle about their corruption.

I'm extremely reassured by the honesty and integraty of this Government from this report, that yes there was a bad apple, but the party rejected donations and the report stresses that none of the other party members had any dealing in dodgy affairs. A complete break from the usual rhetoric of "dig out", "no bank account", "loans" and other shady explenations that always come out when FF are involved.

I was never a big Enda Kenny fan, but ever since the election campaining, he's grown into the role of a statesman and a very able leader.

Good man Enda. I'm even starting to see a bit of charisma to his blunt edged approach to people. I'm so sick of all the bullsh*t of politics, and his tone to these fools often matches my feelings towards them. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

eco2live wrote: »
    I don't remember many jeers when that thief Ahern was still in there. Even with proof he was a lying fug he just said he won it on a horse. GMAFB!
    I remember quite a few times. And yes the excuses and lies from Bertie and FF were laughable.
    The start of the end of cute Hur politics in Ireland is great to see. I hope we have an educated electorate that can make up their own mind and judge people on their own merits.
    I hope so but I doubt it when we still have North Tipperary having no qualms at electing Michael Lowry. Educated and electorate are not in the same universe there.
    hope costs are awarded against Ahern for Mahon for slowing up the tribunal. The Dail has always been full of crooks. Less now then before and Gerry has done more for the peace process then anyone else and certainly anyone in FF ever did. I am glad to see some of the new TDs. Breath of fresh air. Leave the past in the past and build a bridge and get over it. Fuggin hypocrites. I would take Ming and Gerry over the other C you next Tuesdays any day of the week.

Eh, it is more amusing that you scathe at the Mahon Tribunal which deals in the 1990s yet you are telling us to leave the past in the past when it comes to the Northern Bank Raid which happened in 2004. Care to explain the obvious date mess up? I think calling people hypocrites is also very silly if your argument can be blasted away by looking at the dates you yourself are using, which actually makes you a hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

It's all rather hilarious. Fianna Fail getting hot and bothered about corruption and standards in public office while SF is getting all worried about money laundering :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Gaelic? Around these parts it's more commonly know as Irish or Gaeilge.

I agree that it is good to have a few more dissenting voices in there. Too much consensus was one of the problems of the bubble.

Gaelic would be more correct on an English speaking site IMO

If you want to say Gaelic, then you'd probably want to specify what type of Gaelic you are talking about - Irish, Manx, Scottish.

Or you could just do what 99% of people in Ireland* do and call it 'Irish'.

*the Republic of Ireland :)

If you want to say Gaelic, then you'd probably want to specify what type of Gaelic you are talking about - Irish, Manx, Scottish.

He was talking about an Irishman using it in the government office of Ireland. I think it was clear which type of Gaelic he was referring to mo chara.
    Or you could just do what 99% of people in Ireland* do and call it 'Irish'.

*the Republic of Ireland :)

I believe they are wrong. It is a native language of Ireland not the native language of Ireland. Therefore I would prefer if it was called Irish Gaelic.

Therefore I would prefer if it was called Irish Gaelic.
    Ok, good luck with that. I'll continue my my campaign for chips to be called 'Freedom Fries'... :pac:

Don't worry I admitted defeat as soon as it occured to me. I even say Irish myself sometimes.

Eh, it is more amusing that you scathe at the Mahon Tribunal which deals in the 1990s yet you are telling us to leave the past in the past when it comes to the Northern Bank Raid which happened in 2004. Care to explain the obvious date mess up? I think calling people hypocrites is also very silly if your argument can be blasted away by looking at the dates you yourself are using, which actually makes you a hypocrite.

The mahon tribunal has not even reported yet. Its not my fault that it took so long and makes it more relevant to the current situation then a bank job with no proof. If there was any proof in regards to the Northern Bank raid then that would have been dealt with promptly. Lets see what facts the Mahon tribunal reports in the end and how much obstruction was put in place along the way. It should make interesting viewing. I don't think it is a bit silly to talk about a culture that has brought us to where we are today. Is that not more relevant then the Northan bank job?

The hypocrites I am referring to are the Ahern and Charles J supporters in the Dail. Willie the crook o'Dea as an example. Lowery as well. These sneaky, self interested bastards that where so admired in Ireland by voters for so long. This D4, RTE, Pat Kenny snobbery toward SF, the left and independents such as Ming needs to be put to bed. They represent a large and growing section of Irish society.

A lot of people in Ireland having been let down by the right find ourselves moving towards the left.

Gerry has more integrity then most of them in my opinion and it annoys me to see some of the fat cat pigs chuckling and heckling like our ex masters across the water.

Stones and Glass houses and all that.

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Enda Kenny grows on me by the day. There's no bullsh*t about him, he put that fool Adams in his place, and he was extremely good at pointing out the complete lack of any link of corruption withi the whole lowrey affair and the FG party as a whole or any member of the FG Government, past or present, with the exception of Lowry at the time.

Lowry was expelled from FG and by sending the report on to the garda, Enda is showing complete lack of tollerance for corruption (unlike protecting them which went on with FF) and is looking to bring in legislation to eliminate corruption in the future, an act that FF will never be able to reverse as it would be blatantly obvious why they would, and they strongly appose that ban. They're not even subtle about their corruption.

I'm extremely reassured by the honesty and integraty of this Government from this report, that yes there was a bad apple, but the party rejected donations and the report stresses that none of the other party members had any dealing in dodgy affairs. A complete break from the usual rhetoric of "dig out", "no bank account", "loans" and other shady explenations that always come out when FF are involved.

I was never a big Enda Kenny fan, but ever since the election campaining, he's grown into the role of a statesman and a very able leader.

Good man Enda. I'm even starting to see a bit of charisma to his blunt edged approach to people. I'm so sick of all the bullsh*t of politics, and his tone to these fools often matches my feelings towards them. :pac:

I completely agree. FG and labour are being as transparent as they can be so far in their dealings with issues that have arose. I would take Enda over Bertie any day of the week. I felt the same during the last couple of elections but unfortunately a lot of Irish punters decided that FF where the best to lead us. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

This D4, RTE, Pat Kenny snobbery toward SF, the left and independents such as Ming needs to be put to bed.

Why do you dismiss it as "D4 snobbery" ?

SF have been involved relatively recently in unacceptable goings-on.

Ming has admitted to breaking the law by smoking pot.

While you have a point as to how some voters object to the above while condoning other objectionable acts, there are others of us who want to see an end to all objectionable acts.

So not all of the objections can be dismissed as "D4 snobbery".

But when it comes to embarrassing yourself to get a point across you cannot beat unionism -

Well done for Paisley for doing that. You can't compare that to Adams embarrassing himself in the Dail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

You can't compare that to Adams embarrassing himself in the Dail.

Very true!

Paisley managed to embarrass himself in front of the world :pac:

Go Ian :rolleyes:

johngalway wrote: »
    Very true!

Paisley managed to embarrass himself in front of the world :pac:

Go Ian :rolleyes:
    Yeah but he did it against a man from an evil organisation. So it was worth it. Gerry on the other hand accused his fellow Irish men of money laundering. I mean, you could not make this up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Yeah but he did it against a man from an evil organisation. So it was worth it. Gerry on the other hand accused his fellow Irish men of money laundering. I mean, you could not make this up.

Any wonder we had the troubles in NI when there remain attitudes like this?

As an atheist myself I think it's all a load of crap but I'd be a long time classifying any kind of religion as evil.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Why do you dismiss it as "D4 snobbery" ?

SF have been involved relatively recently in unacceptable goings-on.

Ming has admitted to breaking the law by smoking pot.

While you have a point as to how some voters object to the above while condoning other objectionable acts, there are others of us who want to see an end to all objectionable acts.

So not all of the objections can be dismissed as "D4 snobbery".

I agree with you in regards to objections being dismissed. People have valid objections to SF. But they have earned the right to be respected in the Dail as much as any of the other angels in my opinion.

Fair enough on the D4 thing. More RTE then D4 really. Its just amazing how many people from that area or surrounding areas that I have met have a bee in their bonnet about SF and I don't see why SF should effect them more then the more working class areas in Ireland.

As for ming. I don't mind at all that he has smoked pot. He grew it himself so he is not supporting criminals. He also wanted to legalize it so that the money was taken out of the hands of criminals. Humans have been taking drugs for thousands of years. Its a personal choice. I don't do drugs myself but I have in the past. I don't think it affected my character and I wont judge others for doing the same.

karma_ wrote: »

As an atheist myself I think it's all a load of crap but I'd be a long time classifying any kind of religion as evil.
    Thats my view of the roman catholic church and the pope.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Thanks for clearing that up (again).

Hehe if that had of been literally anyone else he'd be revered by atheists as some sort of hero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Yeah but he did it against a man from an evil organisation.

True again, the Pope had to fight off Paisleys dark evil rantings :pac: Score one for the God guys in white :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Thats my uneducated view of the roman catholic church and the pope.

There you go

Nonsense. Plenty of people like me with a similar view of the roman catholic church and the pope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Nonsense. Plenty of people like me with a similar view of the roman catholic church and the pope.

Yeah, but your view of the RCC and the Pope stems, like it or not, from a sectarian perspective. I have no time for either, but I suspect Keith, that you dislike the RCC and the Pope, not because of their inherent failings, but because you were raised to dislike the RCC and the Pope. It's akin to an anti-semite expressing dislike of Ariel Sharon- other may share his dislike, but would abhor the personal reasoning behind it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

it was desperation tactics by Kenny. He had no proper response, so he had to use the Northern Bank raids comment as a ploy to dodge a legitimate question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

it was desperation tactics by Kenny. He had no proper response, so he had to use the Northern Bank raids comment as a ploy to dodge a legitimate question.

A two-year old can come up with something more believable.

Gerry Adams had to say something because of leaders questions, he also knew he would get a few heckles by doing so, Kenny would have known that, and knew that he could not exactly ignore the whole Northern Bank Raid when Adams commented, so Kennys response was fairly tame I thought. Kenny restrained himself to such an easy opportunity to throw a whole load of valid accusations to Gerry.

Anyway, it is beside the point. Kenny admitted in the Dail that what happened with Lowry was wrong. So he was not desperately trying to avoid it. He also said in the Dail that the tribunal findings were sent to DPP and Gardai who would decide if prosecutions should occur. Again, not exactly desperation either. He accepted findings of report, he acknowledged the events were 100% wrong and he forwarded the report to the people who can decide if anyone has committed a crime and prosecute them. Where in the world is this "desperation" you speak of? Did you dream it? You may not like Kenny which is fair enough, but please don't invent things to make your point seem stronger.

The actual questions Adams was posing were invalid. He was moaning about the Dail not talking about the report, except they WERE talking about it and have plans to debate it too. So invalid. He then rambled on quoting the report without asking a question. So invalid. He then tried to quote the report in such a way to make FG look like they were laundering money (ya know, the way SF has done quite a lot). But again, FG have handed the report to Gardai so if Adams is quoting the report and if it says (it doesn't) that FG were involved in money laundering, then he can obviously point that out to the DPP and Gardai. But alas, it is not in report so again, invalid.

karma_ wrote: »

Yes karma, and the unionists are the very people who are pinninng their hopes on converting Catholics to vote to support their wee statelet !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

calling the pope an evil organisation: fine
    calling the pope the son of satan: mental

thats why paisley embarrased himself, he came accross not as rude or brave but batshít f*cking crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

hahaha..

theres some feckin weirdos on this site.

Einhard wrote: »
    Yeah, but your view of the RCC and the Pope stems, like it or not, from a sectarian perspective. I have no time for either, but I suspect Keith, that you dislike the RCC and the Pope, not because of their inherent failings, but because you were raised to dislike the RCC and the Pope. It's akin to an anti-semite expressing dislike of Ariel Sharon- other may share his dislike, but would abhor the personal reasoning behind it.
    Not true. I ain't a religious person. I was never grown up to hate to the church or the pope. In the last 5 years, i do despise them.