Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If they can have 'King's Birthday' and 'Empire Day'

• 23-03-2011 1:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭

This is my 1st post, hope it gets off the ground.
    Here goes...
    As you may be aware, our senior civil servants are entitled to 2 annual days paid leave for the 'King's Birthday' and 'Empire Day'.
    Given that these cannot be taken from them, I think that the rest of us should be entitled to our own "dubious days".
    I hereby nominate a few to get things started - please feel free to post your own suggestions. Please do not allow mere trivial notions such as common sense, reason, or logic get in the way of a good idea.
    Cheers
    ArtyM

My Suggestions..
    1. Civil Servant Whacking Day - much like whacking day from the Simpsons, only involving a different type of snake.
    2. Braveheart Day - Well, it was filmed here.
    3. Far and away Day - to celebrate the worst Irish accent in film history.
    4. Zippy and Bungle Day - It makes as much sense as 'King's Birthday' and 'Empire Day'.
    5. Pog mo Thon Day - to celebrate the single phrase of Gaelic that every resident of the country definitely knows.
    more to follow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

Great first post you will fit right in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

I'm rather sure that you haven't read the Politics forum charter - it's a serious-ish forum for discussing politics and current affairs. Moved to AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Kings birthday?? what king would that be?

I propose an boards.ie afterhours day, where only posters in the AH forum get a day off :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

They also get 1 hour to cash their cheques.
    I propose the following, 1 hour every week equates to 52 hours per year.
    Instead of us taking off one hour every week, they should get 52 divided by 7 which is 7.4 and round up to 8 days off per year for cheque cashing activities.
    I am not a civil servant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

ArtyM wrote: »
    This is my 1st post, hope it gets off the ground.
    Here goes...
    As you may be aware, our senior civil servants are entitled to 2 annual days paid leave for the 'King's Birthday' and 'Empire Day'.
    Given that these cannot be taken from them, I think that the rest of us should be entitled to our own "dubious days".
    I hereby nominate a few to get things started - please feel free to post your own suggestions. Please do not allow mere trivial notions such as common sense, reason, or logic get in the way of a good idea.
    Cheers
    ArtyM

My Suggestions..
    1. Civil Servant Whacking Day - much like whacking day from the Simpsons, only involving a different type of snake.
    2. Braveheart Day - Well, it was filmed here.
    3. Far and away Day - to celebrate the worst Irish accent in film history.
    4. Zippy and Bungle Day - It makes as much sense as 'King's Birthday' and 'Empire Day'.
    5. Pog mo Thon Day - to celebrate the single phrase of Gaelic that every resident of the country definitely knows.
    more to follow...

great first post come on here and slag of the civil servants. we will all love you for that. NOT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

thread hasn't got enough trolling op.

also the other day i heard a civil servant asking his civil servant mate "what's a recession"

Instead of us taking off one hour every week, they should get 52 divided by 7 which is 7.4 and round up to 8 days off per year for cheque cashing activities.

catch up on the news that has been stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

How about "Real World Day"

where the servants have to spend the day working in the private sector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Humans eh!

Firstly, I for one welcome our new boardsie overlord.
    Nice cherry poppin' post ArtyM.

Hey Lando, shouldn't you be sniffing out Toad users in the civil service....!
    And I often wondered why we don't have an Irish Independence day.

oh oh! 'six counties unfree' replies coming I fear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭paul75

hondasam wrote: »
    catch up on the news that has been stopped.
    hondasam, you've a cushy number though - admit it!

What about "Stephen Gately day" (our very own Queen's day).

paul75 wrote: »
    hondasam, you've a cushy number though - admit it!

What about "Stephen Gately day" (our very own Queen's day).

I'm a public servant not a civil servant. I do not have a cushy number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I predict a long and productive future for this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

days off for King's Birthday/Empire Day were more English than I taught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Everyone who is bashing the public service for having extra holidays should be arguing in favour of increasing their own leave instead of reducing others'.
    I can never understand the mentality of taking privileges that YOU want, away from others, rather than vice versa.

Don't give me any flimsy excuses about the days being a waste of money - it's been gone over again and again that the amount saved is minimal. The real reason for the outcry is that people are jealous, much like they are of teachers' leave. And rightly they should be, I'm nto arguing that your jealously is misplaced, rather that your proposed solution is misguided.
    How about we all campaign for more flexible working arrangements rather than singling out people who currently have it better than us, and arguing to punish them for it?

It's always been my motto that when you're jealous of what somebody else has, it's far more satisfying and productive to work at attaining the object of your jealousy yourself, rather than taking a vindictive but ultimately unsatisfying pleasure in watching them lose theirs. And believe me, I know jealousy. I've experienced both outcomes and the former gives you a fleeting, malicious kick. The latter brings actual, long lived satisfaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Everyone who is bashing the public service for having extra holidays should be arguing in favour of increasing their own leave instead of reducing others'.
    I can never understand the mentality of taking privileges that YOU want, away from others, rather than vice versa.

Don't give me any flimsy excuses about the days being a waste of money - it's been gone over again and again that the amount saved is minimal. The real reason for the outcry is that people are jealous, much like they are of teachers' leave. And rightly they should be, I'm nto arguing that your jealously is misplaced, rather that your proposed solution is misguided.
    How about we all campaign for more flexible working arrangements rather than singling out people who currently have it better than us, and arguing to punish them for it?

It's always been my motto that when you're jealous of what somebody else has, it's far more satisfying and productive to work at attaining the object of your jealousy yourself, rather than taking a vindictive but ultimately unsatisfying pleasure in watching them lose theirs. And believe me, I know jealousy. I've experienced both outcomes and the former gives you a fleeting, malicious kick. The latter brings actual, long lived satisfaction.
    Minimal? Wasn't the amount to the tune of 5 million euro? Can you please give me a minimal amount of money please?
    Every saving counts, particularly when we are getting loans to pay these bills.
    Considering this has been going on since before the founding of the state, nearly half a billion euro would have been the cost to the taxpayer (assuming current cost per year was the same cost going back through all years).

Im sure noonan wouldn't say no to half a billion euro he found down the back of the dail couch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Damn right. A country in recession should work less. That'll fix this mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

hardCopy wrote: »
    I predict a long and productive future for this thread

nothing can possibli go wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i propose an 8 day working week, a 99c coin and and everyone must eat indian at least once a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

I propose a new type of Happy Monday.

Everyone gets 1 day off each quarter where they have to shop/buy irish/go on the piss/eat out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

I bet you get the pathetic "the country would be in even worse shape than it already is if we got more days off" answer to your post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Buceph wrote: »
    Damn right. A country in recession should work less. That'll fix this mess.

Yep, there it is

(smacks forehead)

Ha ha, what a load of twaddle, lets all campaign for 100 days off a year!
    Public service inefficiency = high taxes + poor service
    People are not jealous, it's just that more than ever, people are aware that they are paying for it with higher taxes so they are rightly justified in asking the question "what is my money being spent on"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Johnny Whelan

Actually, they don't get 1 hour to cash their cheques. They used to get 1/2 hour, but that has been stopped now.

People are not jealous, it's just that more than ever, people are aware that they are paying for it with higher taxes so they are rightly justified in asking the question "what is my money being spent on"?

don't kid yourself if the private sector were offered extra holidays the would take it. no one is going to say no to days of. I think everyone is fed up of all the public service bashing that goes on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

don't kid yourself if the private sector were offered extra holidays the would take it. no one is going to say no to days of. I think everyone is fed up of all the public service bashing that goes on here.

True, but tax payers wouldn't have to pay for them, i think that's the important distinction! And i'm not sick of the public servant bashing. Fúck burning the bond holders, let's burn the civil "servants" instead.:mad:
    blaze1 wrote: »
    Kings birthday?? what king would that be?

The burger king of course. Who else? There's no other king round these parts! (except the king of the knackers and he's best avoided in all honesty)

Oh dear! That's what happens when you let the lunatics take over the lunatic asylum. And I'd like to be paid a million quid a year too. Christ I hope you're not responsible for any important policy decisions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭gerbear1

Your attitude seems to be very much take as much as you can get. Which confirms a lot of what I already thought about public sector workers.

gerbear1 wrote: »
    Your attitude seems to be very much take as much as you can get. Which confirms a lot of what I already thought about public sector workers.

you can honestly say you would refuse extra days holidays, fair play to ya if you can.

Oh dear! That's what happens when you let the lunatics take over the lunatic asylum. And I'd like to be paid a million quid a year too. Christ I hope you're not responsible for any important policy decisions!

The only people who get worked up about the public service are people like yourself who sit and judge everyone without knowing the facts.

you can honestly say you would refuse extra days holidays, fair play to ya if you can.
    Of course we would accept extra holidays, who wouldn't - that's not the argument you clown!

The clown comment might be over doing it even for my humour in AH

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Well the difference could be construed that, in order to make up the cost of these extra days, everyone has to pay a leeetle bit more tax. This means they've less disposable income and may have to work harder - so could have to work longer hours so public servants can work shorter ones :p

As to campaigning for more days off - given the way many companies are stretched financially, the only increase open to you is probably to get every day off...

Sigh...

Sigh...

cannot give a straight answer how surprising

sigh all ya like

cannot give a straight answer how surprising

sigh all ya like
    This is like having a discussion with a 4 year old child - please tell me you're taking the p!ss

Hence why I have decided to not bother replying to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

How do you define "inefficiency"? I define it as not getting the work that has to be done, done, in a timely and effective manner.

I've LONG been a believer in project or task based pay / work than time based. If I have a job to do and I can do it in 2 hours, isn't it kind of mad that I have to drag it out for four hours artificially because my pay is based on hours worked rather than results achieved? :confused:

Imagine two scenarios here. Each of these people is being paid €1,000. One is being paid a grand per week, the other is being paid a grand to get a project finished.

Now you easily could argue that the average time to complete such a project is one week, which is fair enough. But some people work faster & more efficiently than others. So:

Scenario A: The dude who is being paid a grand per week is perfectly capable of getting the project finished and implemented within 3 days.
    Scenario B: The dude who's being paid a grand to finish the job, also finishes in three days.

In scenario A you'd almost definitely find the guy clocking in for the remaining two days and artificially slowing himself down. Why? Because he has to be at his desk 5 days a week at particular times in order to get paid per hour. Therefore he works LESS efficiently, on purpose, so that he doesn't have to sacrifice his perfectly deserved and well earned money just because he's actually mmuch better at his job than anyone else.

Hence why all this stuff about extra leave being inefficient always baffles me. In certain jobs, it's not the amount of time you put in but the amount of effort you put into them. And it could even be argued that paying the guy €1000 for two days completion actually saves MORE money, since there could be major costs involved in the amount of time worked (electricity, machine running costs, stationary, heating, you name it)

In summary: I don't get why people are so concerned with the amount of time people are working, other than jealousy of getting less time off. To be perfectly honest, I don't mind how often a public servant is at his desk provided the job he is supposed to be doing is getting done to a high standard, enabling me, the citizen, to make use of that work.

Now perhaps my views are a bit skewed as most of my talents and future career ideas are the kind of things - such as web design and media - which are result based rather than time based, but this whole idea that working less = less efficiency to me is absolutely daft. My idea of "efficient" is actually to get things done as well as possible, as quickly as possible, for the people I am supposed to be providing a service to.

Time off and time on aren't nearly as relevant as people seem to be making out.

How do you define "inefficiency"? I define it as not getting the work that has to be done, done, in a timely and effective manner.

I've LONG been a believer in project or task based pay / work than time based. If I have a job to do and I can do it in 2 hours, isn't it kind of mad that I have to drag it out for four hours artificially because my pay is based on hours worked rather than results achieved? :confused:

Imagine two scenarios here. Each of these people is being paid €1,000. One is being paid a grand per week, the other is being paid a grand to get a project finished.

Now you easily could argue that the average time to complete such a project is one week, which is fair enough. But some people work faster & more efficiently than others. So:

Scenario A: The dude who is being paid a grand per week is perfectly capable of getting the project finished and implemented within 3 days.
    Scenario B: The dude who's being paid a grand to finish the job, also finishes in three days.

In scenario A you'd almost definitely find the guy clocking in for the remaining two days and artificially slowing himself down. Why? Because he has to be at his desk 5 days a week at particular times in order to get paid per hour. Therefore he works LESS efficiently, on purpose, so that he doesn't have to sacrifice his perfectly deserved and well earned money just because he's actually mmuch better at his job than anyone else.

Hence why all this stuff about extra leave being inefficient always baffles me. In certain jobs, it's not the amount of time you put in but the amount of effort you put into them. And it could even be argued that paying the guy €1000 for two days completion actually saves MORE money, since there could be major costs involved in the amount of time worked (electricity, machine running costs, stationary, heating, you name it)

In summary: I don't get why people are so concerned with the amount of time people are working, other than jealousy of getting less time off. To be perfectly honest, I don't mind how often a public servant is at his desk provided the job he is supposed to be doing is getting done to a high standard, enabling me, the citizen, to make use of that work.

Now perhaps my views are a bit skewed as most of my talents and future career ideas are the kind of things - such as web design and media - which are result based rather than time based, but this whole idea that working less = less efficiency to me is absolutely daft. My idea of "efficient" is actually to get things done as well as possible, as quickly as possible, for the people I am supposed to be providing a service to.

Time off and time on aren't nearly as relevant as people seem to be making out.
    Oh sweet divine, this is getting worse - there's two of them now. Good evening

Hence why I have decided to not bother replying to him.

look at ye two with 61 posts between ye. two right little key board warriors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

July 19th

A day off to commemorate that glorious day the ice age ended

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

I propose that we end this custom of getting a day off to mark the birthday of some preacher from 2,000 years ago.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Traditionally that was the way binmen worked - once the rounds were done they were finished. There's a technical name for it which I can't remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 tonez

I agree completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

People are just so miserable around here it turns my stomach... so people have a bloody day off... put as much effort into your own sh*tty little miserable existence as you do being jealous about others and you might find you've a lot less to fking moan about.