Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does the addiction stop?

• 23-03-2011 11:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭

So, i'm well and truely hooked. Started playing back towards the end of last year, and since then i've spent all around me. New clubs, bag, shoes, rain gear, and i just seem to be able to find more and more stuff "i need/have" to buy.

Today i picked up a new stand bag, for heading out with a small few clubs in the summer evenings. And a 52 vokey wedge, to bridge the gap between my 45 PW and 56 SW, and i now finally have the full 14 clubs in my bag.

I did start off with absolutely nothing, so some expenditure is expected. But does it calm down, or is it an ongoing condition that most golfers suffer from?

Thankfully, i've been able to fund nearly all of this out of foxers, christmas and birthday money, so it hasn't affected my income yet, persay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Garda S Horgan

hades wrote: »
    So, i'm well and truely hooked. Started playing back towards the end of last year, and since then i've spent all around me. New clubs, bag, shoes, rain gear, and i just seem to be able to find more and more stuff "i need/have" to buy.

Today i picked up a new stand bag, for heading out with a small few clubs in the summer evenings. And a 52 vokey wedge, to bridge the gap between my 45 PW and 56 SW, and i now finally have the full 14 clubs in my bag.

I did start off with absolutely nothing, so some expenditure is expected. But does it calm down, or is it an ongoing condition that most golfers suffer from?

Thankfully, i've been able to fund nearly all of this out of foxers, christmas and birthday money, so it hasn't affected my income yet, persay.

If anything, you'll end up playing wih people who are equally hooked and then it gets much worse. Even when you may not be too pushed about a game you'll find yourself out there with your friends in the rain playing golf.
    Personally I would have it no other way.
    It's the only place I find I dont' think or talk about work or any of lifes problems.
    Instead just play seve's, woddies, sandys, snake etc and enjoy the addiction.
    Golf Widows are real.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

You're talking a good game anyway - how's the handicap coming along ? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Germag

Handicap????? Don't you get it, he doesn't play ,just looks at the gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭hades

First full round for singles this weekend, so we'll see then. The handicap i was given was 18, and i've broken 90 when tracking my own score in a 4 ball. We won't be long finding out if it was worth the expenditure ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

First full round for singles this weekend, so we'll see then. The handicap i was given was 18, and i've broken 90 when tracking my own score in a 4 ball. We won't be long finding out if it was worth the expenditure ;)

Fair play for breaking 90, I broke 110 last week for the first time, got 109..........

I am utterly and absolutely hooked, my fiance and 5 year old daughter just laugh at me now cause I am crap at golf but still I persist and keep heading out................as for buying equipment, thats another story!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

I only started back playing about ten months ago after a 2 year break and have become re-addicted,i reckon ive spent about 2 grand on equipment since......
    not including a new driver im getting fitted for on friday....
    it really is crazy,i cant walk into a golf shop without buying something, even this morning ive been looking at new stand bags for the summer evenings even though i have one in the shed....:o
    if the missus ever found out the cost of all the equipment id be shot;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Same boat completely. Absolute fiend for the golf websites. Started last February and been getting more and more hooked. Over the time I've managed to get a decent set of clubs together and as I work nights permanently I've lots of time to play. Last week for example. Saturday-Tipperary Town, Monday-Castletroy, Wednesday-Rathbane, Thursday-Shannon, Friday-Newcastlewest, Saturday-Tipperary Town again. I'm getting ribbed in work that even Tiger Woods doesn't play as much as me. I love it though....fantastic game and just getting in to the best part of the year to play it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Anto12

Dont think the addiction ever stops ... Joined a club about 3 years ago as I had retired from the GAA ( too old & too many injuries) .. Got a deal on clubs and bag .. since then I got new Driver -3 wood and rescue wood all of the same type and love them - upgraded my putter .. paid decent cash for rain gear which i didnt mind as its probably essential in this country .. missus got me an electric trolley for xmas about 2 years ago and a new bag last xmas .. she knows im addicted .. good job she doesnt mind !!! too much anyway !!!! love it and play nearly every weekend with maybe getting 9 holes in during the week .. I was looking at stand bags today for the summer !!!.. If I had the cash I'd love to get custom fitted !!!! but at the moment thats only a dream ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

To be honest for most people id say the addiction doesnt stop and for someone like
    me it only gets worse! Maybe not so much for wanting to buy all the 'latest and greatest'
    new equipment but for something as simple as i would happily watch a bunch of high
    handicappers whack a golf ball around some course inSspain on SkySports for an hour. :o

Stand Bags seem to be the flavor of the month :)

The one i picked up today was in GolfStoreEurope, they have some good deals on the TaylorMade and Nike ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Germag

In the 1930's LaVerne Moore playing only with a baseball bat, a shovel and a rake took on Bing Crosby ( who was a 2 handicapper and played with a full set of clubs ) for $5 a hole and beat him ( he raked in birdie on the 18th ). So who needs new clubs?

Stand Bags seem to be the flavor of the month :)

The one i picked up today was in GolfStoreEurope, they have some good deals on the TaylorMade and Nike ones.

Can you link the website here or is it a shop?

On a side not, thinking of setting up a meeting GA(Golfers anonymous)- for those who spend no time with their families ha!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Like others here I am a complete golf addict and unapologetically a gear/gadget junkie. However, there are guys that are even worse than me and who seem to spend every day on the course. What I've learned is to get my wife to meet these guys asap so that my requests for golf three times a week can appear almost moderate in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭the anser

got the bug nearly 20 years ago and I don't think there's a cure! Even during a bad round you'll hit one shot that will get you back out the next time. The excellent weather recently is just what we need.......

ssbob wrote: »
    Can you link the website here or is it a shop?

On a side not, thinking of setting up a meeting GA(Golfers anonymous)- for those who spend no time with their families ha!!!

I bought the red one of these

http://www.golfstoreeurope.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=1497

But the nike one is cheap aswell

http://www.golfstoreeurope.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=923

The TM ones are a good price in general having looked around, the Monza looks like a lovely bag, but too bulky for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

The reason for the gear addiction is two fold

1 Anything to improve the scores

2 Can't play golf 24 hrs a day but can just about look at gear on the internet all day long :D

Its really setting in when its keeping you awake at night. Happy dreams about the 350 yard drive, scary night terrors about the half dozen missed 2 footers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

For all the equipment junkies out there... Sites I've used and would recommend.

www.golfstoreeurope.com
    www.onlinegolf.co.uk
    www.direct-golf.co.uk
    www.clickgolf.co.uk
    www.118golf.co.uk
    www.americangolf.co.uk
    www.function18.co.uk

All well known and brought up on different threads on this forum and others. Hopefully one or two some readers might not of heard of.

Guys,

What have ye bought so far this year and how much have you spent, my genuine list is as follows:
    1. 4 Dozen Srixon Soft golf balls from Ebay €65
    2. Set of new Golf Pride grips from Ebay €39, got clubs regripped by Pro only €20(Bargain)
    3. New Towel for the side of my bag from Amazon (€5)
    4. "Hooked" by Kevin Markham(updated version) from Amazon about €16.99 I think(got robbed here only €14.99 in Easons)
    5. New Nike 60degree lob wedge from Ebay €50
    6. New windbreaker Kartel golf top from TK Max €35
    7. Joined a golf club for the first time Blarney Golf Resort €100 PM
    Ok so that's what I have bought since Jan 1st, but I am looking for a stand bag or pencil bag to carry around when the evenings get longer. Not sure what else I will buy but if I have spent €450-€500 in 3 months then surely I will manage to spend another €600/€700 before the year end!!

Guys,

What have ye bought so far this year and how much have you spent, my genuine list is as follows:
    1. 4 Dozen Srixon Soft golf balls from Ebay €65
    2. Set of new Golf Pride grips from Ebay €39, got clubs regripped by Pro only €20(Bargain)
    3. New Towel for the side of my bag from Amazon (€5)
    4. "Hooked" by Kevin Markham(updated version) from Amazon about €16.99 I think(got robbed here only €14.99 in Easons)
    5. New Nike 60degree lob wedge from Ebay €50
    6. New windbreaker Kartel golf top from TK Max €35
    7. Joined a golf club for the first time Blarney Golf Resort €100 PM
    Ok so that's what I have bought since Jan 1st, but I am looking for a stand bag or pencil bag to carry around when the evenings get longer. Not sure what else I will buy but if I have spent €450-€500 in 3 months then surely I will manage to spend another €600/€700 before the year end!!

Since January, just the 910 D2, regripped clubs at the start of the year (midsize - as most people tend to choke their clubs and the midsize stops that), ping towel, ping cold weather gloves, a vast selection of new summer golf trousers in many colours, under armour tops/trousers, pro v1s, bushnell tour v2, accessories for sureshot GPS, a new golf glove (titliest - leather one is the only job), ping hat.
    In November i splashed out on the x-forged callaways. nice sticks.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

ssbob, you can get 2 dozen Srixon Soft Feel balls for €30 in american golf out by the CUH. Its the ball i play aswell.

Since January i have bought

1: Scotty Cameron California Sonoma - €220 (pro)
    2: Titleist 909H Hybrid - €99 (halpenny)
    3: Titleist 52 Vokey Wedge - €80 (golfstoreeurope)
    4: TM Carry Bag - €63 (golfstoreeurope)
    5: 2 Nike flatfront trousers - €60 (€30 each) (american golf)
    6: Nike Short Sleeve wind breaker - €40 (Halpenny)
    7: Srixon AD333 + Soft Feel Balls - €30

If we go back a further 2 months, i've bought

1: TM Burner 2.0 irons €550 (pro)
    2: TM R9 10.5 Driver €130 (Halpenny)
    3: TM R9 3 wood €175 (pro)
    4: Titleist 60 Vokey Wedge €100 (mahers golf)
    5: TM Monaco Cart Bag €100 (mahers golf)
    6: Ping Wet Gear €120 (mahers golf)
    7: Adidas Tour 360 4 €140 (mahers golf)

Having said all that, i started with nothing, so spent the money getting good stuff so i won't have to change for a few years.

ssbob, you can get 2 dozen Srixon Soft Feel balls for €30 in american golf out by the CUH. Its the ball i play aswell.

Hi Hades,

I actually won the auction @ €38 for 4 Dozen but I didn't realise(My own fault) was that the P&P was £20stg from UK, I had only saw £6.99stg on the price.....but that was domestic postage, ah well will go with American Golf next time.(I actually live 5 mins from Wilton)

What club are you playing out of? You mention you got some of your equipment in the Pro Shop! I will more than likely be getting that same Taylormade stand bag which you bought, it's a great deal at €65.

Bob

I play out of Youghal, but get my stuff in Dungarvan GC (working in Waterford) David Hayes, the pro in Dungarvan is super and in my experience is the cheapest around. Got the Burner 2.0 irons back in November, and he was beating McGuirks and Halpenny by €100 at the time.

Only found American Golf in February, crikey its much better than Mahers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭TheGrump

dvemail wrote: »
    To be honest for most people id say the addiction doesnt stop and for someone like
    me it only gets worse! Maybe not so much for wanting to buy all the 'latest and greatest'
    new equipment but for something as simple as i would happily watch a bunch of high
    handicappers whack a golf ball around some course inSspain on SkySports for an hour. :o

When do you know you are addictted?

When you find yourself watching the Trilby Tour on Sky Sports

TheGrump wrote: »
    When do you know you are addictted?

When you find yourself watching the Trilby Tour on Sky Sports

Oh oh!
    I watched the play offs there recently.
    The swings were shocking.
    Although the big lad was the easy winner in the end.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

Oh oh!

Yours etc,
    GSH.

Ya i especiallly liked the bit where they showed their tee shots in slow motion.
    Great action through the ball at impact.:p

Oh oh!

Yours etc,
    GSH.

Are the Trilby tour guys not pro golfers just they are on a lower tour? I though some of them were extremely good players tbh, better than me anyway :-)

I also watched the disabled golf championship that was on sky sports, some of those guys were class given the disabilities they had, I reckon you would need to cut both my legs off before you could stop me golfing!

Are the Trilby tour guys not pro golfers just they are on a lower tour? I though some of them were extremely good players tbh, better than me anyway :-)

Pretty sure they are just amateurs and basically whoever is the biggest bandit wins.
    Great television.:D