Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lightweight Sleepingbag???

• 23-03-2011 12:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭

HI Everyone,

I'm looking for a decent lightweight sleeping bag.money is an issue, dont really wanna spend fortune.im looking for something that can handle irishweather.will be used in a tent.altitude around 600M.so many brands and types im just confused.

AND also review on some thermarest or foam matt would be great.

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭hick

quick reply cos it's late :D

with regards to sleeping bag, try the alpkit.com

I have the SkyeHigh 800, its down rated comfort to -10 and only comes in at 1.4kg it's stuff small too (I can get it in my ruck sack)

Snugpak look cheap but beware of their generous rating, my old sleeping bag had me freezing when I went out in the winter even fully clothed

I have a foam mat, is only ok, does the job but very bulkey, have a look at Thermarest Prolite or if your feeling very flash, get an neoair ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Mac2010

thanks I will check them out.cheers:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Sev

I have an Alpkit Pipedream 600 and I thoroughly recommend it, and Alpkit in general for good value. It has high quality down and it packs up very small. I can fit it into an 8L dry bag. And it's rated to -10C. I've bivvied in it in temperatures around maybe -8C and felt quite comfortable. I use a small size thermarest NeoAir (expensive but much much smaller and lighter than any other mat on the market) and the Alpkit Hunka bivvy bag. The total package is very small and light.

If compactness and lightness is of utmost important, go for the highest quality down. For this reason, if you go for Alpkit, I would recommend the Pipedream range over the Skyhigh. My friend had a Skyhigh 600, and he was jealous that mine packed down equally well but was better rated. That said, as you say, money is an issue, and the Pipedream will cost you a good bit more for the extra quality.

For ultra light, I also have a Pipedream 200 Half-bag. The pipedream 200 is not very expensive, and is incredibly small and light weight, but you need to partner it with an appropriately warm down or synthetic belay jacket. Combined with the patagonia DAS Parka, I have bivvied in this half way up the Frendo Spur, in the French Alps, soaked to the bone, while it rained all night in temperatures a little above freezing. But not without discomfort :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Mac2010

Thanks a lot Sev :) Deeply appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭keenan110

I use this Vango sleeping mat when camping, and have found it to be excellent. Much better than the foam mat i used to use, as it was much more cushioning. two of my friends also own the same same and they both find it very good too. And for €24 it is very good value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

yip alpkit is definitely the way to go i to have the pipedream bag worth every penny also i use the Exped downmat 7 probable the best sleeping mat in the world if you dont believe me get one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 wipeout.wendy

I went with a vango supernova 3000 and it was the bomb... never will i sleep cold again.... price wise i couldn't go for down but was thinking about the vango viper which is total quality - for the next upgrade

this web has free shipping .....

Any affiliation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

this web has free shipping .....

Wow, that Portwest store is expensive. Better to buy on Amazon and pay the shipping, it works out cheaper for everything i looked at.

i was just looking at the mat - works out the same on amazon???

but will check amazon out in future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

Right, but you're always shilling for Portwest, so you would pick the one item that's almost as cheap.

wendy it's better to come out and say your involved and get some feedback than trying to pretend. I'd be open to providing feedback
    Right now it's that your costs seem much higher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭irishlostboy

having plenty of experience, i would recommend the alpkit stuff. their sleeping bags are great value for money, as are their air mats. they also do a very nice super small bivybag. packs down tiny.

no affiliation just bought 2 items there that i liked on a bit of student discount too - i'm a believer in buying irish- this problem you have with my recommendations is your problem and way off topic for this tread-i don't have any problem with yours - ye guys would put anyone off posting - i'm done