Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bookings Open for 60 PR @ MNSCI 03 April

• 22-03-2011 9:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭

Guys, the bookings are open for the 60 shot prone match @ Midlands on the 3rd April on the NTSA web site!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Booked in, should be good now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

MNSCI PR60 Open

Sunday, 3rd April 2011

The Midlands National Shooting Centre of Ireland (MNSCI) are holding a .22 Prone PR60 smallbore target rifle (ISSF)competition on Sunday 3rd April 2011 at the Midlands National Shooting Centre of Ireland, Blueball, Tullamore, Offaly.

Registration and Sign-in at 10am
    First Detail 11am
    Second Detail 12:30pm
    Third Detail 2pm

Entry Fee: €10 per Competitor

This is an Open competition and all are welcome.
    Online detail booking available via the NTSA website: http://www.targetshooting.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=538:mnsci-50m-prone-rifle-shoot-030411&catid=85&Itemid=100006

It has been confirmed by the NTSA that this competition will be an international selection qualifier shoot for the World Cup in Munich.

All rules, regulations, bye-laws and restrictions of M.N.S.C.I. apply.
    You must be in possession of a firearms certificate for the firearm you intend to use and proof of insurance must also be produced

Hope to see you all there.

Booked in!

Announcement on the Upcoming Competitions thread here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=71310056&postcount=6

Spread the word!!!!;):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭intershoot

Wow!

Either you guys are hard core, or you have neither Mothers , Wifes or Girlfriends that give a damn!!! :p

Happy Mothers Day! ;)

Just as long as you disappear quietly enough, early enough, you'll be grand. :p Take it you're trapped then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

If you bring her nibs some fresh coffee and French Toast in bed before you leave then it should be fine

only real issue is that it'll be at 7am ;-)

B'Man

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

Tough day today, but I think it was enjoyed by most people.

It was a good day for learning more about light, mirage and wind. The changing conditions allowed me to shoot a 100 (104.4) in one string and yet hit an 8 in another!

I'm annoyed at some stupid mistakes I made but I think I've learned from them. Hopefully I'll do better than 581 in the next shoot! :)

Despite my worst score in a long time, I learned a lot today. Not all of my gambles paid off but it was a very successful day's shooting in terms of picking things up. There was a lot right with it to build on. It was really well done, and thanks to MNSCI for hosting it. Always love shooting there. It's a great range and a constant learning experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Kryten

Hi IWM, Isnt it a pity when shoots clash with each other. You would have loved the Classic shoot today. Great selection of rifles there. Some good shooters too. The 300 yd proved a real challenge with a strong wind blowing. Like yourself today at the Midlands, I too learned a lot today, and shot pretty well to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭FLOYDSTER

Yes, a big thanks to all the guys involved in running the shoot yesterday!!, very nice setup with the electronics and a great days craic as usual even if the conditions where very tricky!!;)

Wish I could say I learnt a lot........more a case of what the [EMAIL="F@?k"]F@?k[/EMAIL] is going on, why's the flags not moving over here, where did the flag go now! Bollox.......just keep shooting!

Oh I tell a lie!........I did learn to avoid the left hand side of the range if at all possible. :rolleyes:

intershoot wrote: »
    Wish I could say I learnt a lot........more a case of what the F@?k is going on, why's the flags not moving over here, where did the flag go now! Bollox.......just keep shooting!

Oh I tell a lie!........I did learn to avoid the left hand side of the range if at all possible. :rolleyes:

You should have been far enough over to avoid the worst of it.

Firing points 1 & 2 are tricky when the wind comes from the left. I think you were on FP4?

Still, the light changes and mirage were plenty enough challenge by themselves!

IRLConor wrote: »
    You should have been far enough over to avoid the worst of it.

Firing points 1 & 2 are tricky when the wind comes from the left. I think you were on FP4?

Still, the light changes and mirage were plenty enough challenge by themselves!

Worst of it!! :rolleyes:

The flags on the left hand side of the range didnt really move at all, you had to watch the right hand side to get any idea what was going on. The flags on the left seemed to hang limp, and then blow up straight in the air from time to time - very un-nerving! :confused:

Some of the lads were saying the wind tends to build up against the back of the siding and then just drop over - they thought the first couple of firing points, 1 and possibly 2, were relatively sheltered from the worst of it.

It'll be interesting to try various firing points over the next few months just to see what the range is like - but it is a cracking venue! It'll be interesting to see if the additions to the range have any affect on how the wind travels through or into the range.

Dungannon is funny too as the wind tends to come in and circle, meaning the front flags can be going in a different direction to the back flags, but you dont tend to have the flags blowing straight up! :eek: I didnt find the light made much of a difference on Sunday, but the other factors can be unsettling and distract you from the routine, and this may have been more harm than light and mirage....for me anyway.

It's funny. Scores were a bit down for everyone really, and you'd think that would be frustrating, but fundamentally it was just a really satisfying match to read conditions and respond to them. Lot of fun. MNSCI is always a challenging, but good venue to shoot at.

It'll be interesting to try various firing points over the next few months just to see what the range is like

Yeah, I must try FP1 next time I'm down.
    I didnt find the light made much of a difference on Sunday, but the other factors can be unsettling and distract you from the routine, and this may have been more harm than light and mirage....for me anyway.

I think you had different conditions to me. I was on the first detail and I had much less wind, but the light was going up and down quite a bit and the rain from the morning was evaporating off. By the time you were shooting, the sky was clearer and most of the water had burnt off so you had a more consistent (but quite bright) time but with more wind to contend with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

you dont tend to have the flags blowing straight up!
    Though I have seen wind flags in comber slowly windmilling through full rotations in the vertical plane, like watching a clock hand :D

Did anyone get the full results?;)

Sorry for the delay in getting this info out there. Here's the full results from the last Outdoor 50m shoot down in Midlands MNSCI:

50mPR60CompetitionMNSCIResults3Apr2011.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭BountyHunter

dCorbus wrote: »

It has been confirmed by the NTSA that this competition will be an international selection qualifier shoot for the World Cup in Munich.

Out of curiousity has anyone been selected for Munich?

Nobody from this shoot (qualification score was 590) but I think Ray's qualified in Air Rifle since, and Paul's pretty close, and I'll be surprised if Gary hasn't put in a 590 to make the cut at some point.

As I recall there are three people qualified at the moment. First qualification I know of for the Europeans in Belgrade now is the DURC Open on the 29th in Midlands.

Dave where do you get your info??, I'm missing things big style!! lol

Informal chats. That's kinda why I'm not mentioning names, in case I've taken people up wrong.

ISSF have released the entry list to date. Here's Team Ireland so far:

159417.png

Looks like I'll be kept running around out there!

Has the qualification process changed or is there something I've missed??:confused:

There was a small tweak in how the qualification scores are selected, but nothing enormous, why?
    International selection has been tweaked slightly by the NTSA – the procedure is the same from the shooter’s point of view, but they’ve reduced admin overhead by calculating minimum scores once per Olympic cycle, and per Tier of competition rather than per-competition. Which makes sense and the standards are about the same:

Tier|Matches|Score
    1|World Championships and World Cups|582
    2|European Championships, European Cups and other Continental championships|577
    3|Subsidiary competitions such as Grand Prix, Intershoot etc|573
    4|National Championships and other international competitions|570
    (those are AR60 scores)

Just wondered how Ray is shooting 3P and prone in Benning and Munich?
    I didnt get any notice of any new selection shoots as if I'd been in the country I'd have attended!;)

Hm. I don't know actually - I've not been following all the smallbore shoots of late. When was the last 3P match?

Sparks wrote: »
    Hm. I don't know actually - I've not been following all the smallbore shoots of late. When was the last 3P match?

Not sure ?, but I'm sure it'll all come out in the wash! lol:D, new trousers on order now ready for a hard winter 3P training in prep for next year!;)
    Now my shoulder is on the mend its getting a little easier to train!

Hoping to get my new suit ordered in a month or so for the next season - money's all saved up, but have to get the weight down first. That's taking forever :(

chart?chs=240x160&chd=t:95.7,84.1,89.9,100.0,95.7,78.3,81.2,69.6,65.2,66.7,66.7,56.5,58.0,50.7,50.7,52.2,40.6,46.4,34.8,47.8,58.0,42.0,37.7,43.5,52.2,40.6,40.6,39.1,43.5,43.5,30.4,29.0,33.3,30.4,56.5,40.6,31.9,26.1,36.2,43.5,33.3,42.0,30.4,31.9,30.4,34.8,23.2,36.2,36.2,39.1,37.7,37.7,44.9,43.5,39.1,43.5,46.4,30.4,29.0,24.6,33.3,40.6,34.8,33.3,18.8,21.7,23.2,23.2,21.7,27.5,24.6,34.8,30.4,23.2,31.9,37.7,18.8,18.8,17.4,15.9,20.3,4.3,0.0|71.0,72.5,73.9,76.8,79.0,79.0,79.0,78.3,76.8,76.1,75.4,73.2,71.7,69.6,67.4,65.9,63.8,62.3,59.4,58.0,58.0,56.5,54.3,53.6,53.6,52.2,50.7,49.3,48.6,47.8,46.4,44.9,43.5,42.0,43.5,43.5,42.0,40.6,39.9,40.6,39.9,39.9,39.1,38.4,37.7,37.7,36.2,36.2,36.2,36.2,36.2,36.2,37.0,37.7,37.7,38.4,39.1,38.4,37.7,36.2,36.2,37.0,37.0,37.0,35.5,34.1,33.3,32.6,31.9,31.2,30.4,31.2,31.2,30.4,30.4,31.2,29.7,29.0,27.5,26.1,25.4,23.2,21.0&cht=lc&chxt=x,y&chxl=0:|19.02.11|17.05.11|1:|257.8|264.9|271.6&&chco=FF0000,00dd00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Sandy22

Sparks wrote: »
    Hoping to get my new suit ordered in a month or so for the next season - money's all saved up, but have to get the weight down first. That's taking forever :(

chart?chs=240x160&chd=t:95.7,84.1,89.9,100.0,95.7,78.3,81.2,69.6,65.2,66.7,66.7,56.5,58.0,50.7,50.7,52.2,40.6,46.4,34.8,47.8,58.0,42.0,37.7,43.5,52.2,40.6,40.6,39.1,43.5,43.5,30.4,29.0,33.3,30.4,56.5,40.6,31.9,26.1,36.2,43.5,33.3,42.0,30.4,31.9,30.4,34.8,23.2,36.2,36.2,39.1,37.7,37.7,44.9,43.5,39.1,43.5,46.4,30.4,29.0,24.6,33.3,40.6,34.8,33.3,18.8,21.7,23.2,23.2,21.7,27.5,24.6,34.8,30.4,23.2,31.9,37.7,18.8,18.8,17.4,15.9,20.3,4.3,0.0|71.0,72.5,73.9,76.8,79.0,79.0,79.0,78.3,76.8,76.1,75.4,73.2,71.7,69.6,67.4,65.9,63.8,62.3,59.4,58.0,58.0,56.5,54.3,53.6,53.6,52.2,50.7,49.3,48.6,47.8,46.4,44.9,43.5,42.0,43.5,43.5,42.0,40.6,39.9,40.6,39.9,39.9,39.1,38.4,37.7,37.7,36.2,36.2,36.2,36.2,36.2,36.2,37.0,37.7,37.7,38.4,39.1,38.4,37.7,36.2,36.2,37.0,37.0,37.0,35.5,34.1,33.3,32.6,31.9,31.2,30.4,31.2,31.2,30.4,30.4,31.2,29.7,29.0,27.5,26.1,25.4,23.2,21.0&cht=lc&chxt=x,y&chxl=0:|19.02.11|17.05.11|1:|257.8|264.9|271.6&&chco=FF0000,00dd00

You need to label your y-axis properly. This being the 21st Century people will assume you're using metric units. :eek: :P

(I know - TPCTKB)

:D Kettle indeed :D
    Still, the graph looks the same whether it's 257.8 or 116.93 :pac:
    (As in, still not fallen far enough :( )