Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

hurling boots?!?!

• 22-03-2011 04:59PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46

hey,

hoping some of ye hurlers can be of some help to me... im looking to get my boyfriend some new hurling boots for his bday... i was thinking of getting him the adidas predators! has anyone any other suggestions? or any comments on the predators?

also i have no idea about all this dry weather/wet weather etc... doing some fishing i know he wears dry weather cogs.. but how in gods name do i know if im ordering the right ones if i order online?/

any help would be hugely appreciated, thanks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Puma kings are the way to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Ahm, maybe see if you could have a look at the ones he has already - would give ya a good idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 ULgirl2010

thanks for the replies...

he got stuck for a pair one day that he was broke and bought the cheapest he could find so seen as its a present i kinda want to get him a pair that he wouldnt typically buy for himself due to lack of money.. approx €150?!?

really my main concern is how do i know which soles to get? is there a way of knowing by looking at the boot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭corcaighabu92

Do not get predators or any boots that have blades. They are dangerous. Should be banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

I second the Puma Kings or the Copa Mundials - both have a moulded stud, which is what a lot of players use. Maybe it might be an idea to get a gift voucher for a sports store instead, and tell him you wanted to get him a new expensive pair, but you wanted to make sure they were right and you weren't sure what ones to get, so you got the gift voucher instead so that he could go and choose the perfect ones for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Do not get predators or any boots that have blades. They are dangerous. Should be banned.
    Sorry, What??

i dont want boots with blades anyway, i know he wears cogs, i was wondering how i would know the difference between wet and dry ground cogs?!
    do most boots not come in a variety of soles anyway?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Boots are kind of an awkward gift. Some lads have very particular preferences. For example, some lads might only ever buy and wear one brand or model eg. most gaa players swear by the Puma Kings or Adidas World Cups. I dont know how people buy boots online, I always need to try them on and walk around for a while before even thinking about handing over money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

There are a few different types:

Mouldies - used during the summer when the ground is very hard. Usually have plastic/rubbery blades or studs.
    Regular - used after a bit of rain and the ground is softer. usually longer than mouldies and often made from hard plastic/steel studs or blades.

I'm on my second pair of predators now. This year i bought the ones with screw in studs which are technically for Rugby. At the moment the ground is still soft and i find them excellent and am not slipping. Had Pred's last year but they were the fixed studs and found them loosing grip when the ground was very soft/muddy.

I see a benefit of getting the screw in studded boot is that you can change the studs based on the conditions. A different set of studs should only cost between 5-8euro.

Never owner puma kings but it does seem that evebody raves about them. I like my preds.

I agree with the previous poster about buying them online. Buy them in a shop and make sure they know its a gift and may need to be returned for size change.

i know he mentioned one day that hard ground cogs can be used on soft ground but soft ground cogs cannot be used on hard groun... would i be right in saying this or did i totally mis hear him??

basically i just want to know is there a sole type which he can use in all weather conditions? i know it might not be ideal but realistically i doubt everyone has 2 pairs of boots?? and if such a boot exists, what do i ask for? as in how do i recognise it??

ohh how i wish i played sport! ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

ULgirl2010 wrote: »

i know he mentioned one day that hard ground cogs can be used on soft ground but soft ground cogs cannot be used on hard groun... would i be right in saying this or did i totally mis hear him??

basically i just want to know is there a sole type which he can use in all weather conditions? i know it might not be ideal but realistically i doubt everyone has 2 pairs of boots?? and if such a boot exists, what do i ask for? as in how do i recognise it??

ohh how i wish i played sport! ha

Well considering it's coming into the summer I'd imagine boots with moulded studs would be best. Does he play all year round with his college or would he be just a club hurler.

Moulded studs are good for the hard ground because they stop your feet getting destroyed with blisters. These could be worn on soft ground but the grip wouldn't be as good. Plastic blades mightn't be a bad option either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 cashelking

Couple of things...

You need to find out if he has wide feet etc, usually some brands, adidas run a bit narrow for muck a*ses like myself with webbed feet, then if you add on an extra half size, can work in some boots but not in others. Puma are generally OK size wise, best bet is to go by the european size as these can vary slighty between brand from the UK size, though if the leather is soft enough it will stretch, so probably best to stick to something that isnt too narrow and his normal size with a soft - ish leather!

Here is the difference between studs and mouldies, you'll usually see SG or FG or HG beside the boot names, thats soft ground, firm ground and hard ground (ignore the hard ground ones, with our weather, we're not that lucky)

http://www.prodirectsoccer.com/Products/Puma-King-Finale-Soft-Ground-Mens-Boots-Black-White-Fluorescent-Yellow-22494.aspx

http://www.prodirectsoccer.com/Products/Puma-King-Finale-i-Firm-Ground-Mens-Boots-Black-White-Fluorescent-Yellow-22495.aspx

you'll see the top of the boot is exactly the same, the botom is the difference, you'll notice the screw in studs on the SG ones and the moulded plastic ones on the FG ones. These Puma's are only just out and look fairly nice, had a few pairs of the older ones, always been decent. The model thats on the way out could be a bit of a bargain too!! the adidas copa / world cups (- difference is just the studs, copa are the moulded or fg ones!) are similar only a bit narrow for me as I said. there are plenty of boots out there not just the ones I said, but if its hurling he plays then while the predators are comfortable they can be a tad heavier and the predator bit is a bit wasted on a hurlers boots!

I'm sure you know not to get him white ones, or its unlikely he will return home with both legs after training never mind a match!!

I say go with the moulded Puma Kings and if he's a 10 go for a 10.5 and he should be happy with that! Classic and simple look!!

Jes I'm off now to read vogue or something, man up a little after all that - feel like Paul Galvin giving fashion tips!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,464 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

cashelking wrote: »

Jes I'm off now to read vogue or something, man up a little after all that - feel like Paul Galvin giving fashion tips!!

LOL - who in their right mind would take fashion advice from him:D

cashelking wrote: »
    Couple of things...

You need to find out if he has wide feet etc, usually some brands, adidas run a bit narrow for muck a*ses like myself with webbed feet, then if you add on an extra half size, can work in some boots but not in others. Puma are generally OK size wise, best bet is to go by the european size as these can vary slighty between brand from the UK size, though if the leather is soft enough it will stretch, so probably best to stick to something that isnt too narrow and his normal size with a soft - ish leather!

Here is the difference between studs and mouldies, you'll usually see SG or FG or HG beside the boot names, thats soft ground, firm ground and hard ground (ignore the hard ground ones, with our weather, we're not that lucky)

http://www.prodirectsoccer.com/Products/Puma-King-Finale-Soft-Ground-Mens-Boots-Black-White-Fluorescent-Yellow-22494.aspx

http://www.prodirectsoccer.com/Products/Puma-King-Finale-i-Firm-Ground-Mens-Boots-Black-White-Fluorescent-Yellow-22495.aspx

you'll see the top of the boot is exactly the same, the botom is the difference, you'll notice the screw in studs on the SG ones and the moulded plastic ones on the FG ones. These Puma's are only just out and look fairly nice, had a few pairs of the older ones, always been decent. The model thats on the way out could be a bit of a bargain too!! the adidas copa / world cups (- difference is just the studs, copa are the moulded or fg ones!) are similar only a bit narrow for me as I said. there are plenty of boots out there not just the ones I said, but if its hurling he plays then while the predators are comfortable they can be a tad heavier and the predator bit is a bit wasted on a hurlers boots!

I'm sure you know not to get him white ones, or its unlikely he will return home with both legs after training never mind a match!!

I say go with the moulded Puma Kings and if he's a 10 go for a 10.5 and he should be happy with that! Classic and simple look!!

oh thank you thank you thank you!! this is exactly the info i was after :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 cashelking

No problem glad to be a help. Just a small note, if you are going for the new king finale, dont get them from the site I sent links to, they are limdly expensive there but the model which its replacing is a bit of a bargain and still a good boot.

Hope he enjoys them and appreciates the effort you've gone to listening to FG, SG, mouldies and other such s**t talk!