Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changing crankset

• 21-03-2011 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭

I'm looking at changing my current crankset for Sram Force which will be fixed into the existing GXP BB.
    Can I safely install the crankset without using a torque wrench? Is there too much risk of over tightening & damaging the non drive side crank arm when fixing it to the spindle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Have a read of the technical manuals (should always be your first port of call):

http://www.sram.com/en/service/sram/view.php?catID=3&subcatID=20"]

In general, yes, a torque wrench is pretty important for meeting the manufacturer's specified torques. If you are unsure or lacking the correct tools, I would just take it to your local bike shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭paddymacsporran

I've changed my set from a standard sram gxp to a sram compact and back again, and fitted them to different frames, never had a problem with overtightening, never used a torque wrench either, Just tighten it as much as I can.

The gxp bearings seem a bit tight when first fitted, but loosen up to spin free after a few spins. Sram is compatible with Shimano on most things, but not on the BB, incidentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Im sure you know if your a eejit or not ;) Once you dont swing out of the crank bolt you will be fine. Those have the self extracting crank design, so just make sure you tighten the right bolt :p

Some eejits, dont know what overtightening is, and they swing out of a spanner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

The gxp bearings seem a bit tight when first fitted, but loosen up to spin free after a few spins. Sram is compatible with Shimano on most things, but not on the BB, incidentally.

Doesnt stop some people, Ive seen some cowboys doing this, you cannot get the cranks to turn freely without them being too loose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    If you are unsure or lacking the correct tools, I would just take it to your local bike shop.

I'd like to do it myself tbh & gain a bit of experience in doing these things.
    never had a problem with overtightening, never used a torque wrench either, Just tighten it as much as I can.
    kona wrote: »
    Once you dont swing out of the crank bolt you will be fine.

Grand, I was just a little concerned about over-tightening because the frame & crankset are both made of carbon.

Cheers lads!