Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Think about next season for feck sake!

• 20-03-2011 9:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭

Hey lads, meant to put this in a post earlier but thought it could do with a thread of its own. I shot 3 spots today for bunnies. Went to old faithful first cos me and my mate are the only ones with permission so we always mind what we shoot. Then we tried a new spot and got none,but it was nice to check out a new spot. Finally,we went to a huge island that for as long as we've been shooting was always crawling with rabbits,greys,magpies and foxes. After 2 long hours and not a sign of a rabbit or a fox we called it a day. On the way back we bumped into the landowner who gave us permission and he said that he saw 2 lads during the week leaving the place with what he guessed was 25-30 rabbits. He approached them and asked who they were and why were shooting there and who said they could shoot on his land. He was promptly told where to go and they got into their van and took off. We know they are local but what do we do? We and our small group of regular companions are VERY conscious about management of wildlife in our area. Do some people just have no feckin cop-on or what! Do any of you guys ever come across this kind of thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

If lads are being lippy with the farmer, I'd be informing the police that they're shooting without permission in his place. Can't stand that shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Savage93

Longranger wrote: »
    Hey lads, meant to put this in a post earlier but thought it could do with a thread of its own. I shot 3 spots today for bunnies. Went to old faithful first cos me and my mate are the only ones with permission so we always mind what we shoot. Then we tried a new spot and got none,but it was nice to check out a new spot. Finally,we went to a huge island that for as long as we've been shooting was always crawling with rabbits,greys,magpies and foxes. After 2 long hours and not a sign of a rabbit or a fox we called it a day. On the way back we bumped into the landowner who gave us permission and he said that he saw 2 lads during the week leaving the place with what he guessed was 25-30 rabbits. He approached them and asked who they were and why were shooting there and who said they could shoot on his land. He was promptly told where to go and they got into their van and took off. We know they are local but what do we do? We and our small group of regular companions are VERY conscious about management of wildlife in our area. Do some people just have no feckin cop-on or what! Do any of you guys ever come across this kind of thing?
    The sad situation is that there is absolutely nothing you can do about this, up to the landowner to make a complaint to the Gardai if he wants to, trespass is a civil and not a criminal offence afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Savage93 wrote: »
    The sad situation is that there is absolutely nothing you can do about this, up to the landowner to make a complaint to the Gardai if he wants to, trespass is a civil and not a criminal offence afaik

You're right about that. Problem is the farmer doesn't want to because he's a nice ould fella who lives alone and doesn't want trouble. I can see where he's coming from and it is up to him after all. Just gonna have to leave that spot for next year and hope it picks up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

go to the guards tell tgem exactly whats goin on and how they abused the farmer say he is told worryied about causein trouble for himself and you as a concerned citizen are askin could the guards keep a eye when ever there passing and approach any one they see shooting there
    as the farmer is afraid to say anythin because the lads just tell him where to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

He approached them and asked who He does not know them they were and why were shooting there and who said they could shoot on his land. They do not have permission, so they are trespassing
    He was promptly told where to go Ring the Gards,and they got into their van and took off.

There are laws on the books for just such behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭mrbrianj

Probably very little can be done in reality. But as the earlier poster said if the local gaurds were made aware of such behaviour it might help, it could effect them come renewal time!

Hi lads,thanks for the feedback. It's good to know that people care about this. An update: my mate and I went and spoke to the guards and they can't do an awful lot without proof but the local F.O. said if they are reported again, their renewal may be "awkward". I know it's a crap situation but I still would love to be a fly on the wall in the cop shop when those 2 bucks come in to renew their certs and the F.O. says "sit down there for a minute until I talk to ya" :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Hi lads,thanks for the feedback. It's good to know that people care about this. An update: my mate and I went and spoke to the guards and they can't do an awful lot without proof but the local F.O. said if they are reported again, their renewal may be "awkward". I know it's a crap situation but I still would love to be a fly on the wall in the cop shop when those 2 bucks come in to renew their certs and the F.O. says "sit down there for a minute until I talk to ya" :-)

Sadly, renewals are now three years away, so waiting that long to get anything done is a pain in the hole.

True,true. Oh well,you'd never know. What comes around goes around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

at least you done somthin doe its not right what they were doing

fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

Worked in my area with "poachers" put up signs saying- strictly No Shooting without prior permission. Then on another clear view tree or pole up high, put up a sign saying CCTV in operation, then they'll clear off.. Guards cant do much so this worked for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭DJandDeid

Savage93 wrote: »

Armed trespass is a criminal offence in some circumstances. Giving lip while armed and trespassing can get you in the brown stuff with the PTB.