Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can court case take place without being officially arrested?

• 20-03-2011 12:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

Hi folks,

Long story short I was detained at the side of the road by guards after I (ridiculously stupid I know) threw an apple at one of their squad cars that was passing by.

It was at 3.00am and I was with a mate and it seemed funny at the time until I realised it was a garda car I had struck...

Basically the 2 of us were searched and put in cuffs having attempted to run away (it just gets better...)

After taking our details I got the feeling they just thought we were right eejits and we were given back our passports etc and were let go

I'm just wondering if anything further can come out of this if anyone knows? We weren't taken to the station and were allowed go home ourselves un-escorted... The incident took place on Paddy's Day so I can only presume it was because of more serious crimes taking place that they let us go

If anyone knows whether you can be taken to court after something like this (even though I wasn't brought to the station), it would be greatly appreciated. Also i'm wondering if by not being taken to the station whether this means I wasn't 'officially arrested'?

Thanks, and yes I do realize how utterly stupid I may appear to sound...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Wow, that is utterly retarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭mcgarrett

If you haven't been in trouble before you are looking at an adult caution, if you have then probably a summons for public order, or maybe you won't hear anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,280 ✭✭✭shamrock55

i done something silly too when i was younger just got a bit of a lecture and sent home a few weeks later guard at the door with a summons for court just a fine though cant even remember if i went or not:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭source

in short, yes you can be taken to court without being arrested. You will if the member decides to follow up on this, receive a summons outlining that you should attend court. You could of course go and spell with the member and apologise, we have all done stupid things in our youth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

As above yes you could be summonses to appear before court without being arrested. You may also receive a fcpn (fine). Or you may have gotten away with it. Afraid all you can do is wait and find out or chance talking to the guard in question if you know who it is