Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Moment of the Six Nations 2011

• 19-03-2011 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭

Well the lads in studio gave theirs. What's yours ?

George Hook, strangely, gave his as when Mirco Bergamasco missed a kick to seal an Italian victory over Ireland.

Brent Pope gave his as Chris Ashton doing his swan dive against Italy and blatantly not following Martin Johnson's orders.

Conor O'Shea gave his as when the final whistle sounded when Italy beat France.This would be mine also as it was great to see the Italians finally win against France and the emotions on display were great to see.

Well what was your favourite moment ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

Definitely the Italy final whistle. Closely followed by the Ashton swan dive, his fourth try one though, not his second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭davidpfitz

Italy holding out against brutal pressure to to hold on, and not capitulate was the highlight.

If you think I'm wrong, just look at the tears in the eyes on Mallett, Parisse and the entire team. It meant ****loads to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

BOD breaking the 78 year old try scoring record. That was just brilliant, and I'm delighted for him

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

for me its "that" welsh lineout against us

if it hadnt of been given you would have had the english with the tournament pretty much wrapped up coming here for a grand slam match.
    considering how the match went today they would have been lost but still awarded the 6nations trophy while we would have been celebrating a good win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Italy final whistle - hands down. Nearly the only good moment in an awful 6N.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I echo the above but I have to mention Chris Paterson's try saving tackle on Ben Foden was pure textbook, absolutely class piece of defending! For me it was the best piece of play in the championship!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 The Northern Lights

barbarians wrote: »
    Well the lads in studio gave theirs. What's yours ?

George Hook, strangely, gave his as when Mirco Bergamasco missed a kick to seal an Italian victory over Ireland.

Brent Pope gave his as Chris Ashton doing his swan dive against Italy and blatantly not following Martin Johnson's orders.

Conor O'Shea gave his as when the final whistle sounded when Italy beat France.This would be mine also as it was great to see the Italians finally win against France and the emotions on display were great to see.

Well what was your favourite moment ?

Yes I would agree with you. Italy beating France was my favourite moment too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Italy beating France. Seeing the emotion on the Italian players' faces especially Parisse reminds me why Rugby is so great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

I honestly really enjoyed this years six nations!

It actually seems like it was scripted in parts with how some of the matches and incidences turned out.

Very hard to pick but italy beating france was just amazing, they truly deserved it.

I was hoping for a big italian win this year, especially with aroni beating biarritz and treviso beating leinster, I could just see something like that happening.

after that, it was probably about 5 minutes into the england match when ireland totally annihilated englands scrum, excellent stuff altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

at end of game where italy beat france,you could see happiness and tears in Italian players,show how much it meant too them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

Risteard wrote: »
    Italy beating France. Seeing the emotion on the Italian players' faces especially Parisse reminds me why Rugby is so great.

I thought this was a very good moment also, only eclipsed by Marc Lievremont's fantastic rant afterwards :D cannot stand the bloke, and he's clearly a complete loon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

jolley123 wrote: »
    Definitely the Italy final whistle.
    Fully agree with that
    Closely followed by the Ashton swan dive
    I actually puked a bit in my mouth! Seriously?

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I actually puked a bit in my mouth! Seriously?

It was just epic when he did it for his first try after getting told off and then going over for his fourth he did it again.:D I can understand how those things annoy people, but I saw it less as showing off and more as ripping the p*ss out of getting in trouble.

I've always loved Ashton even though everyone else seems to loath him. He's just such a jack the lad that can't stop scoring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Italy beating France - the reaction after the final whistle, Pairsse in tears

Brian O'Driscoll breaking another record, writing another chapter in rugby history that will make people talk about him in 50 years, and we get to see him week in week out, what an honour.

Taking the wheels off the chariot once again, the atmosphere in the first 30 minutes as we pulverised Martin Johnsons England. No surrender. Lansdowne Road is reborn and reclaimed.

Ronan O'Gara surpassing the 1,000 mark. We'll probably never see a more reliable points scorer or a more dominant force in the Irish 10 jersey for a very very long time.

From a rugby perspective, it was a terrible, terrible tournament, but the Italy win alone made it all worth while. The rest of the above were just nice moments, but very little else will be memorable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Italy beating France. I still remember when we used to celebrate that wildly when beating England or France.

It's a pity for the tounrment that they failed to beat any of Ireland, Wales or Scotland from winning positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Italy beating France. A shock result.

Ireland destroying England and denying them the Grand Slam. 10 years ago in 2001 the same thing happened but this was much sweetier.

Welsh controversial try against Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

hard to call, the Italians were clearly dancing in the fountain of emotion

Congratulations Sir BOD, long may we serve you

And that widdletush and bogsniff moment of madness involving Mike Phillips and our whitewash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

It was just epic when he did it for his first try after getting told off and then going over for his fourth he did it again.:D I can understand how those things annoy people, but I saw it less as showing off and more as ripping the p*ss out of getting in trouble.

I've always loved Ashton even though everyone else seems to loath him. He's just such a jack the lad that can't stop scoring.

Didn't he stop three games ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,979 ✭✭✭✭phog

I have a few, didn't see too many of the games where Ireland weren't playing so here goes.

BOD record breaking try scoring in the 5/6Ns - the previous holder must have been some man to do it in a 5Ns championship

ROG breaking the 1000 points and joining the likes of Wilkinson, Carter and my 2 heros Jenkins and Diego Domínguez.

The Wales try - we could have 4 out of 5 only for that.

And I think the big moment of the 6Ns goes to Italy beating France.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭TheRevolution

For me, the smile Sexton had on his face when he was being subbed yesterday. Nice to see him put in such an incredible display after the **** hes had to put up with in the media and from "fans"

Other ones :
    O'Driscoll record breaking try tally
    Sean O'Brien proudly wearing his glistening MOTM medal
    Mike Ross face after the first scrum against England
    Seeing O'Connell back regularly in a green shirt

The sexton ROG substitution yesterday. Johnny knowing he's nailed it and rog coming in to take the complete p1ss out of England.

The respect and apparent warmth between the two of them.

That was a TEAM yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

Italy beating France :)

Brian O'Driscoll beating the try scoring record in yesterday's match :D

I feel so blessed to have lived at the same time as BOD and privildged to see him and many of this generation players live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Mike Ross face after the first scrum against England

His face before the final scrum against Italy. The look of pure determination and aggression was a sight to behold. YOU SHALL NOT PASS!

ross.jpg

Interestingly, the same catchphrase seemed to be ringing in Paddy Wallace's ears a few weeks later...

Speaking of Paddy Wallace, this was another moment of the 2011 championship where he wouldnt pass the ball to Earls who was in a better position of scoring a try. Unbelievable! Shane Byrne was right to say that this guy should never wear an Irish jersey again especially making a mistake like that at top level rugby. Unforgivable. The same guy almost cost Ireland the Grand Slam when he gave away a penalty at the 79-80 minute.

I thought stringer was in from the side in 99

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

teednab-el wrote: »
    Speaking of Paddy Wallace, this was another moment of the 2011 championship where he wouldnt pass the ball to Earls who was in a better position of scoring a try.

Unbelievable! Shane Byrne was right to say that this guy should never wear an Irish jersey again especially making a mistake like that at top level rugby.

earls wasnt in a better position. this has been discussed on here already. if he had passed to earls it was game over as byrne would have pushed him into touch.

by taking it up himself he kept the game alive and ireland had a ruck within a meter of the welsh line.

since when has shane byrne been an expert on back play?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Where did Shane Byrne say this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

CatFromHue wrote: »
    earls wasnt in a better position. this has been discussed on here already. if he had passed to earls it was game over as byrne would have pushed him into touch.

by taking it up himself he kept the game alive and ireland had a ruck within a meter of the welsh line.

Exactly. I've been defending him since the game even though I'd be a critic of his. At least he kept the ball alive and gave us another chance to score a try. Shane Byrne should stick to doing cameos in homoerotic rugby videos.

Just because it's being discussed here already doesn't make it right. Actually, no one knows if Earls would have caught the ball, had he caught it would he have being pushed to touch or made the try line. Everything about what might have happened is pure speculation and no one here can say for certain what might have happened.

What is known is that Paddy stepped inside, the ball was kept alive and knocked on by Healy.

Nonsense, Earls was within meters of going over if he got the right pass.

wixfjord wrote: »
    Where did Shane Byrne say this??

It was in the paper, either the Independent or the Examiner. Cant remember which one exactly.

durkadurka wrote: »
    Didn't he stop three games ago?

Why do people hate this guy so much?? Is it because of what country he plays for.

All I know is I'm looking forward to watching a Lions test side that includes him and Bowe, just as I look forwards to seeing Youngs and Sexton as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

From an irish point of view

drico getting another record.. he is now also joint with john smit as the most capped captain in international rugby.

SOB swatting defenders out of the way like flies.

David wallace making english backs look like snails.

Rog getting the 1000.. and the cheeky smile after showing ashton whos who.

in general

italy v france ..parrise being the one man in world rugby who will never get the silverware he deserves the man is a ****ing hero.

The french coach calling his team cowards.... what a strange man.

I dont hate him but the swan dives don't impress me one bit.

Before yimou bring up heaslip , that doesn't impress me either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

The english scrum being shunted backwards yesterday.

http://www.youtube.com/v/hIyQTGbSfEc&hl

thanks Ruggie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Cronin's chance against France. So close yet so far.

durkadurka wrote: »
    I dont hate him but the swan dives don't impress me one bit.

Before yimou bring up heaslip , that doesn't impress me either.

I can understand that, It doesn't impress me but I don't get irritated.
    The one thing that does irritate me is when teammates or try scorers, instead of going to congratulate, go after the opposition tackler to mock him or push him out of the way. It's something the SANZAR teams do consistently and I think there's no place for it in rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭David900

Yeah its a funny auld world. I have to admit I'm not a fan of the swan dive - or Chris Ashton for that matter (although I wouldn't say he irritates me). Can't really put my finger on the reason, but I imagine the reason for the latter can be found in the former. It seems to me like a distasteful boast, take for example at least two of his tries against Italy that Toby Flood made and Ashton had little work to do - by little I mean nothing an international winger shouldn't be able to do. Ashton's swan dive seems slightly selfish in a team sport, it seems gloss over some of the other players efforts. In saying that I doubt Toby Flood would agree, its just a personal thought from the outside.

What I do enjoy watching is Castrogiovanni pat an opponent on the head when they get penalised at a scrum or receive a yellow card or something. I laugh at that even when its against the Irish lads.

Funny how the mind works.

teednab-el wrote: »
    Nonsense, Earls was within meters of going over if he got the right pass.

no he wasnt. byrne had the angle on earls and was closer to the corner then him.

i agree with you on the right pass, but the pass wallace got from bod was the worst possible. sexton and darcys quick hands created a possible 2 to 1 overlap , bods pass reduced that to a 2 on 2.

no he wasnt. byrne had the angle on earls and was closer to the corner then him.

i agree with you on the right pass, but the pass wallace got from bod was the worst possible. sexton and darcys quick hands created a possible 2 to 1 overlap , bods pass reduced that to a 2 on 2.

I disagree I think Earls would have beaten Byrne to the line, if he caught the ball and made a meter or two he could have dived and then Byrne would never have got to him. But then the question would be would Sexton have converted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

the first scrum v england on Saturday followed by any one of SOB's barnstorming runs during the campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Italy beating France... no other moment like it in the whole thing really...

Overall the quality was fairly poor but as always the 6 nations is very entertaining and almost unmissable... shame we were so ****e in the end but meh'...

Woohoo, bring on the WC and watch the SH take the NH to the cleaners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭yoursaviour1989

phog wrote: »
    I disagree I think Earls would have beaten Byrne to the line, if he caught the ball and made a meter or two he could have dived and then Byrne would never have got to him. But then the question would be would Sexton have converted?

I reckon the reason he came inside was an attempt to make the conversion easier as Sexton wasn't exactly full of confidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Ronan "The Enforcer" O Gara sticking it to Chris Ashton after he spent the day sledging Sexton. Can only imagine what ROG said to him after having over an hour to come up with it! Priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

phog wrote: »

Does it matter? Score the try, then worry about the conversion. One difficult kick to win the game is better than no kick to win it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

buck65 wrote: »
    Ronan "The Enforcer" O Gara sticking it to Chris Ashton after he spent the day sledging Sexton. Can only imagine what ROG said to him after having over an hour to come up with it! Priceless.

I don't access to sport sites in work but will post the pictures later of Sexton laughing and sledging Ashton after he nailed the penalty for the high tackle. Was highlighted on The Breakdown last night. Held on an extra second when collecting the tee to goad Ashton and laugh. Was good to see the boy has a lot of bottle and confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

GerM wrote: »
    I don't access to sport sites in work but will post the pictures later of Sexton laughing and sledging Ashton after he nailed the penalty for the high tackle. Was highlighted on The Breakdown last night. Held on an extra second when collecting the tee to goad Ashton and laugh. Was good to see the boy has a lot of bottle and confidence.

johnny's take on that:
    “It was all good banter. He was just telling me where I should be on the bench during the kick. We spoke after. He seems to be a good lad. Off the pitch. He likes to chat on it. Sometimes on the wing, when you have not a lot to do, you have to keep yourself in the game. No, he is a quality player – one of the best finishers in the world.”

:D:D:D

Best response to sledging is to nail it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

After reading that interview, I think my favourite moment of this 6Nations was the moment Sexton was subbed for ROG against England.

Let the Rexton/Sogara love-in begin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

GerM wrote: »

So you reckon Sexton started it? Pull the other one. I'll get ROG after you.