Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deer Gun Club

• 18-03-2011 10:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭

Just a thought, maybe it has been tried before.
    Has anyone ever started a gun club, similar to those for game birds.
    Guys can pool their permissions, maybe build a few stands in suitable locations.
    Possibly agreed maximim bags per season to stop over shooting, depending on deer numbers as its a cull not extermination.

People can make their contributions in different ways, of course the guys with permission would be sought after, but maybe guys with butchering skills, others might be good at mounting skulls.

Maybe feed areas to encourage the deer to stay in certain areas.
    Possible a poaching neighbourhood watch type of system may be possible as more eyes always helpfull.

So what do ye think?
    Anyone interested in doing something like this, does it already exist?

I would think it is the right time of year to set up something like this as no use tyring to do it just as hunting season starts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

kildarejoe wrote: »
    Guys can pool their permissions, maybe build a few stands in suitable locations.
    Possibly agreed maximim bags per season to stop over shooting, depending on deer numbers as its a cull not extermination.

People can make their contributions in different ways, of course the guys with permission would be sought after, but maybe guys with butchering skills, others might be good at mounting skulls.

Possible a poaching neighbourhood watch type of system may be possible as more eyes always helpfull.

So what do ye think?

I would think it is the right time of year to set up something like this as no use tyring to do it just as hunting season starts.

Excelent idea but I bet you will find it hard for lads to give out info on their permissions. As they might have bin shooting there for years and are minding it for them selves.

I would love to be involved in such a club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭kildarejoe

Well maybe it would be a condition of joining that you already have permission.
    That cuts out the guys joining for just getting a licence which seems to be a problem with guys in the bird hunting clubs.
    Maybe a co-op would be a better description rather than a club.
    Actually I just struck me that funding wouldent really be an issue if in some way it was allowed to sell a few deer to fund itself, either to a game dealer or end user. That would make it more affordable to fund projects like feeding points and building hides / stands and maintaining them.
    I am sure a few summer activities like a bbq, maybe a bit of target shooting to keep people in contact during the off season would be a bit of craic.
    Maybe some club equipment like a heavy duty mincer, sausage machine, burger press, vac packer or some sort of a club deal with a butcher to do it for us.

Or guys (or gals before I get in trouble) who bring permission to the club join at a low rate and people who join without permission join at the full rate.

But as you said alot of people are very protective of their permission and dont want anyone else using it.
    But I think it could only do good for deer hunting in Ireland for people to pull together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

I think it's a great idea but I could see a potential problem.

How would a landowner feel if he/she meets a stranger on their land who states they have permission as they're in a club which 'pools' permissions together?

Would you have to go to landowners on each permission & ask them if they would be happy with such an arrangement?

I'm not a deer hunter so the answer may be blatantly obvious but it's just something that struck me when reading your post.

Other than that it sounds like a great idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

J.R. wrote: »
    I think it's a great idea but I could see a potential problem.

How would a landowner feel if he/she meets a stranger on their land who states they have permission as they're in a club which 'pools' permissions together?

Would you have to go to landowners on each permission & ask them if they would be happy with such an arrangement?

I'm not a deer hunter so the answer may be blatantly obvious but it's just something that struck me when reading your post.

Other than that it sounds like a great idea!

Of my deer permissions, 1 only allows me in as he knows me since I was a child, I still have to ring him every time I am going out and tell him my expected route. He lets nobody else shoot his land.

Most of the others I rarely need contact, but I can bring mates with me no problem.

Problem with co-ops are what if one guy has 200 acres and you only have 200 etc.

I like the idea in theory, but it could get very messy in practice.

Most of my shooting is farmland on edge of woods/forestry so high seats would not be encouraged by farmers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

there was one in wicklow as far as i can remember i'll not name it but it ended up very badly i think, not everyone was playing by the same rules or even bringing the same tools to work there were some VERY disgruntled lads around at the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I think the problem would be attracting the wrong kind of people who would turn it into a money spinning/power racket tbh. That may only be two or three people, but God knows, they always have their blind followers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

best option is to keep it unofficial and just try to meet like minded people who are willing to take lads stalking on their permissions in return for a day out on yours it all adds to the sport of stalking getting to explore new areas of our country and if things go well it becomes a regular occurance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

4gun wrote: »
    best option is to keep it unofficial and just try to meet like minded people who are willing to take lads stalking on their permissions in return for a day out on yours it all adds to the sport of stalking getting to explore new areas of our country and if things go well it becomes a regular occurance

Fr example I will probably bring Paulo out on one of my permissions in Sept and he might bring me out after a red on one of his.

Since we live miles apart it would only be perhaps a once a season gig for both parties.

But we both would have a change of scenery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭kildarejoe

johngalway wrote: »
    I think the problem would be attracting the wrong kind of people who would turn it into a money spinning/power racket tbh. That may only be two or three people, but God knows, they always have their blind followers.

Well Im sure people wouldent have to be accepted into the club if they were not suitable people with an undesirable attitude towards the club or sport, or could be expelled if their behaviour became unacceptable.
    I think a few sensable people could come up with a few common sense rules to keep things in line without being over the top with rules and regulations.

Maybe an invitaton basis for joining or nominated by an existing member who would vouch for a person, or a probationary period for new members, or new members to be accompained by an existing member who will show them the ropes and make sure of their safety skills etc, and if they are lucky enough to come across a suitable animal to take, then also show them gutting and inspecting for TB and other relevant things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Fallow01

kildarejoe wrote: »

So what do ye think?

This type of set up is already in place in many places, I am already involved in two, one has 26 guns the other 6, we have Coillte land and private land, build our own high seats/towers, clear rides, do poaching patrols etc.

I know there was a similar one set up in the Silvermines in 2009, but more to do anti poaching patrols.

If you were going to set up one just based on private land and it adjoined Coillte property there is the potential for conflict, while individual stalkers and Coillte lease holders get bye, a whole club surrounding a Coillte property would be trouble and would not benefit managing the deer as the Coillte property hold most of the deer numbers.

A club set up is the way forward as it already works well in many areas of Europe using state and private land but not when you have a "them and us" situation created mainly by Coillte.