Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Customer Service

• 18-03-2011 9:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭

Hey,

I got a puncture today while out on a spin to Howth today. Had a spare tube and levers with me but no pump. I had seen a shop in Fairview before so I said I'd pop in to see if they'd to a quick change for me.

I asked one of the guys (looked like the owner) if they could change the tube for me and explained I had no money on me. He practically told me to **** off and change it myself outside and that I had to learn to do it myself.

I was so annoyed that I just walked up the road and got the dart home.

Its amazing how one little bit of a freebie would have me thinking that this was a good shop to go buy stuff and get a service but I'll never go back there.

I got the same crap customer service in a shop in Sandymount, think its called Freemans. Do stores not realise that if they bother to make an effort with you that they pretty much have your custom for years.

That's my rant over with anyway!!!

DOC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I meant to post this sooner but sort of forgot, you reminded me when you mentioned Howth:

Went for a Howth spin last weekend with WAD?, we stopped for lunch in the village after a quick "porn stop" into the bikehub. Lovely shop, great range of bikes and even a little bike rack so you don't have to lean your bike awkwardly against some expensive display bike and risk the shame of "bike dominoes" occurring.

So, we go for lunch and WAD? says to me "Why not leave the bikes here?", I scoffed at her suggestion on the assumption that NO shop in Dublin would appreciate you parking your crap while heading off somewhere else.

How wrong I was.

We were in having lunch when in pops a very nice man, who I can only assume was the owner, asking us why we hadn't left our bikes inside as we were more than welcome to and they would be much safer. He even said we could pop in with our coffee, that they had a seating area and were looking to install a TV.

It sounds like a great idea tbh and I know it was talked about on boards before. Cyclists out and about at the weekends love coffee and a chat. What better way to drum up business than making your shop a hub for them to congregate, watch some spring classics over espressos and do some window shopping. Sure, you will get some free loaders, but people will talk, people will keep calling in and eventually, people will buy stuff. I'm already eyeing up a Wilier with Chorus :D

Anyway, I'm not affiliated with the shop in any way, but I felt I needed to spread the word to the masses. Go forth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭DonalK1981

Really had a nice experience with good customer service from a shop on Prospect Hill in Galway City. Was passing with a friend and his tyre was a little soft so asks the attendant to help with it. She had no problem bringing his bike in and checking the pressure for him, then offers to do mine as well! Nice to be nice, good for the business owners to realise that people like us keep them going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

doc1976 wrote: »
    Hey,

I got a puncture today while out on a spin to Howth today. Had a spare tube and levers with me but no pump. I had seen a shop in Fairview before so I said I'd pop in to see if they'd to a quick change for me.
    I'm fairly sure City Cycles in Fairview has a pump left outside the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

I'm fairly sure City Cycles in Fairview has a pump left outside the whole time.
    They do indeed. The last time I had trouble removing a pedal they sorted it for me and wouldn't take money from me for it. Sound lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Hey,

I asked one of the guys (looked like the owner) if they could change the tube for me and explained I had no money on me. He practically told me to **** off and change it myself outside and that I had to learn to do it myself.

Its amazing how one little bit of a freebie would have me thinking that this was a good shop to go buy stuff and get a service but I'll never go back there.

I got the same crap customer service in a shop in Sandymount, think its called Freemans. Do stores not realise that if they bother to make an effort with you that they pretty much have your custom for years.

DOC

Was the problem that they wouldn't give you a pump or that they wouldn't change the tube for free? If it was the latter I have some sympathy for them - what's the point in bringing tyre levers and a spare tube (and an empty wallet) if you can't use them? There's a shop in Fairview that changes tubes while you wait but they have this weird thing going on where they expect to be paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Why is the thread called "Bad Customer Service"?

OP wasn't a customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭doc1976

Well I didnt see the pump outside. My point is that instead of taking 2 minutes to do me a favour they decided not to. Btw there was only one customer in the shop so it wasn't like they were snowed under.

The go outside and fix it yourself doesnt smack of good service to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭C3PO

The go outside and fix it yourself doesnt smack of good service to me.

Maybe not but fixing punctures for nothing doesn't smack of good business either!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Diego Murphy

RPL1 wrote: »
    Maybe not but fixing punctures for nothing doesn't smack of good business either!!

It doesn't smack of good business doing things for free but at times it can be excellent business. If someone is genuinely stuck, they should be thinking a five minute job here and you've gained a loyal customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

When you asked him to fix it did you also offer to pay him at a later date?
    If someone is genuinely stuck, they should be thinking a five minute job here and you've gained a loyal customer.

He wasn't stuck though. He had everything he needed to fix it himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Going out with all the necessary gear but not a pump (FFS, that is beyond schoolboy error) and no money AND expecting someone to change the tube for you? You must be having a giraffe! I'm sorry but that's a bit too blasé; even thinking someone would have zero reservations about sorting you in the cirumstances is taking the piss!

PS - how do you get a Dart with no money??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭spokeydokey

Somethings not adding up here

how did the OP pay his DART fare?

Mountjoy mugger...im a customer the minute I step into any shop. You dont have to spend money.

Ppl are missing my point. They could have done me a favour, but instead told me to go fix it myself because I didnt have any money. A two minute favour would have had me on here saying how great they were but I left the place pissed of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Lol. Why didn't you ask them to throw in a new wheel while you were at it.

I had 2euro on me. Sorry I forgot to bring 1000 quid me in case of emergencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

i know the shop and the guys who work in it are as rude as the day is long - I avoid it like the plague.

There is another cycle shop down the road (Little Sport) - the service and staff in there are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭C3PO

Ppl are missing my point.

Actually I don't think they are! For the shop to refuse to lend you a pump would be bad customer service but for you to expect them to fix your puncture for nothing because you were too lazy to do it yourself is just taking the piss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Op, mind me asking... What line of work are you in yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

You could have asked the station master to let you on for free. You could then have posted on here that "trains are great" and the state subsidy to Iarnród Éireann would have been eliminated overnight.

And you could have had a Choc Ice on the way home.

mloc123 wrote: »
    Op, mind me asking... What line of work are you in yourself?

I work in a bank but have previously worked in retail for 14 yrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

I work in a bank....

You mean we have to bail you out when you have a puncture too???? :eek:

CPL 593H

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

furiousox wrote: »
    You mean we have to bail you out when you have a puncture too???? :eek:

I think that comment is a little unfair.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I personally wouldn't have changed your tyre unless a) you were paying b) you were a complete novice c) a woman. Everyone should carry some cash with them, enough to cover emergency food anyway, what if you have a loss of energy? I always carry my bank card. Forgetting the pump, it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

c) a hot woman.
    Or you're being sexist.

I bring at least €20 taxi money with me in case of an unfixable breakdown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Side Show Bob

I work in a bank but have previously worked in retail for 14 yrs.

If he came into your office OP, what would your reply to him be were he to tell you he was unable to pay his mortgage this month,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭blobbie

Mountjoy mugger...im a customer the minute I step into any shop. You dont have to spend money.

Ppl are missing my point. They could have done me a favour, but instead told me to go fix it myself because I didnt have any money. A two minute favour would have had me on here saying how great they were but I left the place pissed of.

http://www.investorwords.com/5877/customer.html

There is a key word in there. You are a "potential" customer when you enter a shop.

Why didn't you change the tube yourself and then look to borrow a pump from the shop? Are you able to change a tube? If so, why didn't you?

It is kinda pointless bringing spares & levers if you don't know how to use them.

+1 on having enough cash for emergency evac by taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Thread needs Kona.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

The shop has goods and services to sell - I don't think they'd be in business for long if they gave either away for free. Maybe he could've handled the "get lost" element of the interaction better, but fundamentally not giving services away for free is a good idea.

What if people came into your bank and were just given money for all sorts of harebrained schemes, where would that leave us...........

Finally, I'd endorse what previous posters said about the Bike Hub in Howth (I'm not affiliated with the shop) - great shop!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Was waiting for some others for w Saturday spin last week when some chap stopped and asked for an Allen key as his gears weren't working. Unfortunately I didn't have any, but the bike shop was just opening. The guy asked for the lend of the Allen key and set about adjusting the cable.
    It sort of worked but the lad from the shop says bring it in and I'll fix it for you.

Moral of the story in my view: don't expect a free hand out without putting in some effort yourself.

Went out for a spin again this morning and noticed my tyre was a bit low on air.
    I called into Mikes Bikes in Dun Laoighre (spelling) who told me I had put the tube in wrong around the valve. He then showed me how to do it properly, pumped it up and sent me on my way.

Great customer service don't you think????

http://bicycletutor.com/

While I don't particularly like the shop you were in in Fairview. I don't see a problem with them not doing work for free. If they had done a bad job where you had paid them, then you'd have a point.

simons_graphs_01.gif
    http://www.27bslash6.com/p2p2.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Public service lessons from this thread...

1) Buy a track pump, if not already done so
    2) Ensure tyres are correctly pumped before all cycles
    3) Learn how to correctly install a tube
    4) Bring your own pump

It would appear that lesson 3 has been achieved, so just 1 and 2 remain. I am unsure on the status of number 4.

Edit: I offer that summary free of charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Rallymad

You just wanted him to change it because you were there for notthing thats not on. If on other hand you went in and said listen ive no money with me im caught short here could you help me and ill drop in the money in a few days you might of got a better response but seen as your on here giving out about this bike shop you obiviously cant see what you did wrong not the shop think before you slate someones business its you thats comming out bad here not them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭blobbie

Raam wrote: »
    Public service lessons from this thread...

1) Buy a track pump, if not already done so
    2) Ensure tyres are correctly pumped before all cycles
    3) Learn how to correctly install a tube
    4) Bring your own pump

It would appear that lesson 3 has been achieved, so just 1 and 2 remain. I am unsure on the status of number 4.

Edit: I offer that summary free of charge.

From the post just above it would appear # 4 has still to be applied.
    Went out for a spin again this morning and noticed my tyre was a bit low on air.
    I called into Mikes Bikes in Dun Laoighre (spelling) who told me I had put the tube in wrong around the valve. He then showed me how to do it properly, pumped it up and sent me on my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

how do you put a tube in wrong around the valve? ive never even though about it tbh, maybe its different with mtb tubes :confused:

Maybe the valve ring was inside the rim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Maybe the valve ring was inside the rim?
    Lumen did this once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

blorg wrote: »
    Lumen did this once.

Lumen's valve is always in a ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

The Howth Bike shop has excellent service. Been in a few times now and they always bend over backwards to help.

As for the OP I'd have done the exact same as the bike shop in Fairview did if you came in and asked me to change a tube for you gratiis. Same on the road if someone is stuck I'll lend them tools or give them a tube but don't expect me to replace your tube for you if it's just a straight forward puncture. I'll teach you how to do it but you'll be the one doing the work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭spokeydokey

Maybe if you call into a different shop every day you'll have the bike fully serviced by the summer without having to spend a penny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

Sounds like both shops won't be in business very long with " customers" like this.
    Bring a steak into a restaurant next time and ask them to cook it for you. Bailouts for bankers are expected in these circumstances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Like thats the same thing. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Hey,

DOC

Im sorry if I took this up wrong, but the bang of entitlement off you expecting a free puncture repair? The shop is a business not a charity.

Honestly bad customer service? your having a laugh. Un-****ing-Believable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

I got the same crap customer service in a shop in Sandymount, think its called Freemans...

Did they refuse to fix your puncture for free as well?

CPL 593H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 573 ✭✭✭dave.obrien

If you had gone in and said, "I'm new to this, I have a tube and levers with me, can you talk me through changing the tube and can I please use a pump to get me going again?" I think the responses here would be a lot different. I work in a bike shop and this has happened numerous times and I'm more than happy to help if the shops not busy. Never have I had a customer come in and ask me to do any labour for nothing and get annoyed enough to post it on the internet if/when I said "no, but I can talk you through it so that when it happens from now on you can do it for yourself? Here, use one of our track pumps so you get the pressure right too." I don't think in this case the shop is guilty of bad customer service; rudeness, possibly, but not bad service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Ant

kona wrote: »
    Im sorry if I took this up wrong, but the bang of entitlement off you expecting a free puncture repair? The shop is a business not a charity.

Honestly bad customer service? your having a laugh. Un-****ing-Believable.

Wholly in agreement with Kona. I find it hard to believe that the OP actually worked in retail themselves where you regularly come across chancers, freeloaders and people who think that just because you work in a shop you're some sort of servant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭paddymacsporran

I'll stop on the road if I see a cyclist needing help - I'll help anyone I can, even drove a guy 20 miles out my way to get him home when he had smashed his front wheel in a pothole once. But if I'm on the bike and stop, as Pigeon reaper says, you'll be doing the grafting..

And something to bear in mind re the OP - Two sides to every story, truth usually in the middle somewhere. Nobody has heard the shop's opinion, nobody knows how you asked the guy in the shop for assistance, maybe you were displaying the qualities of a prize nugget.

No change there then.....

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

, maybe you were displaying the qualities of a prize nugget.

and maybe not

This thread is going no-where