Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

comic relief 2011

• 18-03-2011 5:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭

i'm just wondering does anyone know if we get the English version or the Northern Ireland version this time? I have looked forward to watching this every year and sometimes it's the NI one that's on and I can't stand it:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

casio4 wrote: »
    i'm just wondering does anyone know if we get the English version or the Northern Ireland version this time? I have looked forward to watching this every year and sometimes it's the NI one that's on and I can't stand it:(

I think Comic Relief is networked, so you get the same show on all BBC Regions. It's Children In Need that BBC NI mess up with their local coverage. I could be wrong, though.

Best way to watch Comic Relief is to tape it, then fastforward all the fundraising appeals :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

thanks for that I do tape it and fast forward alot of it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I don't think there is any regional difference but if you have Sky, you could receive BBC (London) via "Other Channels".

Here is the tuning info - Frequency 10.773 Polarisation H Symbol Rate 22/0 F.E.C. 5/6

I have a upc box not sky that's why i'm afraid i'm going to be watching the local broadcasts from the north

Ah now, isn't it time we embraced our Northern neighbours :)

SkidMark wrote: »
    Best way to watch Comic Relief is to tape it, then fastforward all the fundraising appeals :o
    I'm beginning to think that we should be recording the LLS so we can fast forward Tubs :D

you try listening to may mcfetrich and Gerry Anderson for four hours :rolleyes:

You beat me to it!

Elvis Presley could be doing his comeback and BBC NI would still opt out to show a 'hilarious' segment featuring this person ...

[Embedded Image Removed]

make it go away by eyes are burning :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

sky +'ing this at the moment, so I can watch a 7 hour show in 2 hours tomorrow :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

cjmcork wrote: »
    sky +'ing this at the moment, so I can watch a 7 hour show in 2 hours tomorrow :o

I reckon you'll get through it in an hour. From what I've seen so far it's mainly been fast forward material.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I want to punch my tv every time that unfunny useless bastard James Corden appears on it.

That sketch that was just on with James Corden george Michael,Keira Knightley, Gordon Brown, Paul McCartney, Seb Coe etc was class. (about 10.40pm, if you are taping it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Mmmmmm, Keira Knightly.

Poor enough so far, usually it's only towards the end there's any decent bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

The Smithy sketch has been the highlight so far, such a bizarre collection of people they got together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Cole

So far, it's been awful.

The James Corden sketch wasn't bad, but that Downton Abbey skit was shockingly bad.

J Ross has just come on, he might raise a few laughs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I laughed at Fake That :o

the tv guide and the upc box were wrong with the change over to bbc2 at 10pm they said changing over at 10.30 so if you went with the guide you will have missed out on an hour of it :( i caught it just in time :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Inbetweeners special on now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Cole

I think I'll give up, even Alan Partridge wasn't funny.:(

That George Michael video was a joke, wasn't it?:confused:

Cole wrote: »
    I think I'll give up, even Alan Partridge wasn't funny.:(

That George Michael video was a joke, wasn't it?:confused:
    I thought it was me getting old and not finding things funny, i'm very disappointed this year with it and was looking forward to Alan Partridge :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Joeyjoejoe83

I am shocked at how **** it is this year, really bad! Right from the start nothing was funny!
    The smithy thing was good but completely ripped off from jimmy kimmel sketch from last year, even down to the justin bieber bit:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MyGJXLxtVEo

Where are the funny celebs all gone, ricky gervais, billy connelly etc?!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i think they tried to make russell brand the new billy connolly judging by his piece.

but check out axis of awesome. their four chord song was quality

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I enjoyed the Susan Boyle & Peter Kay sketch
    http://fans4susanboyle.ning.com/video/susan-boyle-peter-kay-duet-i

that duet was good alright :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Cole wrote: »
    So far, it's been awful.

The James Corden sketch wasn't bad, but that Downton Abbey skit was shockingly bad.

J Ross has just come on, he might raise a few laughs.

I only saw the first part of that Downtown Abbey skit, but it was more than enough. Fcuking awful!

I enjoyed the Peter Kay / Susan Boyle thing; I enjoyed the George Michael bits of the Smithy sketch, but the rest of it was just 'meh' - the Take That thing was ok I guess, but other than that I forwarded through most of it, except the David Walliams thing...............and who the hell finds miranda bloody hart funny - I just don't get it :(

Miranda Hart isn't funny I don't get it either :confused:

she was in most of the show and is on every bloody panel the BBC have now...........I just don't get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

It was pretty fecking dreadful!

Best bits were the Doctor Who "mini-sode" (2 Amy Pond's! Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm), the Smithy sketch (decent, but a tad overlong), Masterchef was pretty funny, The Axis Of Awesome (superb) and Fake That wasn't bad!

The rest of it went from mediocre to superb.. from the awful Miranda Hart to the downright painful Upstairs Downstairs Abbey.

Basq wrote: »
    It was pretty fecking dreadful!

Best bits were the Doctor Who "mini-sode" (2 Amy Pond's! Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm), the Smithy sketch (decent, but a tad overlong), Masterchef was pretty funny, The Axis Of Awesome (superb) and Fake That wasn't bad!

The rest of it went from mediocre to superb.. from the awful Miranda Hart to the downright painful Upstairs Downstairs Abbey.

they could have done a half hour of the Inbetweeners!

That wasn't even that entertaining tbh!

Yeah I thought that even your one Claudia was funnier than her in the masterchef skit.

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Yeah I thought that even your one Claudia was funnier than her in the masterchef skit.
    The realisation of how hot Claudia's Chilli Con Carne was the funniest bit I thought!

Yeah I thought the critic's reaction was gas. You know, the one with little hair and the beard. :pac:

That being said, I was disappointed at how well received their dishes were. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I hope that all the moaning minnies on here parted with some cash before ripping into this free entertainment.:P

I didn't watch it, didn't give them any money, and I'll just say that Michael McIntyre gets on my tits, and has got the face a 50 year-old woman.:eek:

ejmaztec wrote: »
    and I'll just say that Michael McIntyre gets on my tits, and has got the face a 50 year-old woman.:eek:
    I've always hated Michael McIntyre... but I will admit the guy can be very witty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Very dissapointed with it overall. That upstairs downtown abbey was so unfunny and ridiculously long! The Smithy sketch was funny enough and I liked masterchef but that was it really. Fake that was just like a massive promo for Take That's new song - it wasn't funny?

The Axis of Awesome 4 chord song was excellent (this song, although this wasn't last night's performance)

Edit: Basq has last night's performance in the next post,fair play >>>>>

SkidMark wrote: »
    The Axis of Awesome 4 chord song was excellent (this song, although this wasn't last night's performance)
    I put last night's performance up on my Facebook..

The Axis of Awesome were the highlight of Comic Relief 2011.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    The Axis of Awesome were the highlight of Comic Relief 2011.
    It's a shame they were relegated to 1.30am! :(

I put last night's performance up on my Facebook..

oh my God - never heard of these guys till tonight - they rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

The only bit I enjoyed was Alan Partridge...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Daisy!

I thought the Take That sketch was brilliant! Was disappointed with the Inbetweeners part, could have been a lot funnier. I missed the Smithy sketch. How long did it go on for lastnight? I must have missed a load of it. Anyway I can see it online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Daisy! wrote: »
    I thought the Take That sketch was brilliant! Was disappointed with the Inbetweeners part, could have been a lot funnier. I missed the Smithy sketch. How long did it go on for lastnight? I must have missed a load of it. Anyway I can see it online?

It wasn't actually the inbetweeners though, it was just the cast. It would have been better if it was scripted.
    most of the sketches are on youtube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Daisy!

lizt wrote: »
    It wasn't actually the inbetweeners though, it was just the cast. It would have been better if it was scripted.
    most of the sketches are on youtube.

Oh I know that. Dunno, just thought it could have been funnier because the lads themselves (well two of them) are really naturally funny in interviews etc.