Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All The Way Round 2011 - 3 days, 50 towns, 1300km

• 17-03-2011 12:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭

All The Way Round 2011

97AFFA66F7A64686A511845EED9025C4-0000322113-0002148801-00500L-3D0E860DB4FE4E17833821D767AE18D6.jpg

As some of you may know last year 13 people from Boards.ie took on the challenge of driving around the country north and south in 3 days over the August bank holiday weekend in aid of Barretstown camp for children who suffer from cancer.

The idea was born out of a few motor heads wanting to do something positive and it is entirely planned and organised by just a few guys from boards.ie.

Last year 13 people from Boards.ie set out on a Saturday morning and in the following 3 days covered over 1300km going from Dublin to Derry, Derry to Killarney, Killarney to Dublin. It involved 3 long days of hard driving but it was for a great great cause.

Last year those 13 people managed to raise almost €7000 for Barretstown, including almost €1000 donated online from the good people on here.

A sincere thank you must be paid to everyone who took part last year, it was a great group of people who despite the long days driving had good fun and banter all the way through. Without them it never would have been as successful.

This year were planning on doing it all again, this time on the June bank holiday weekend and we hope to make it just as successful as last year.
    We already have 19 people singed up this year but we still have 6 places left to fill if anybody is interested in joining us this year.

The details of this year are:

Date: June 4th 8:30 am - June 6th finish time
    Route: Dublin to Donegal town to Limerick and back to Dublin [More Route Info]
    Cost: €150 - this covers accommodation costs and entry into the event [Deposit payment info]

Some other useful links:

[General Chat Thread]
    [Sign up thread]

So if your interested in getting out and seeing the country, meeting some of your fellow motors posters and taking on the challenge of All The Way Round get your name down :)

Last year we had everything from Taxi's to an Integra Type R to a Toyota IQ so the more diverse cars we get the better!

We also have a dyno day where myself, Onkle and Quazzie will be getting our legs waxed if we get €600 pledged for the waxing. More info - [Here]

Also if you cant make the trip you can help us along by donating online though our myCharity page which you can find - [Here] -

We received almost €1000 in online donations from Boards last year and we cant thank everyone enough, we would be eternally grateful for anything you can donate, as much or as little as you like, it all helps a great cause.

Here's some pics from last year for memories and to give entrants something to look forward to: :D

9A10EB2E733F4D008143DF20F2A3EDB9-0000322113-0002130452-00500L-4152D759B2A84547A53DB7766E96120E.jpg

AAFD62C4CAFC4DD2A03156C04DBDB466-0000322113-0002130411-00500L-539A664DB8FB4762A940EB048E767D29.jpg

DDE79200DF10445D85ABC3539B09FC50-500.jpg

FC7D16709E7D4C9CA56C5B6A61FA6536-0000322113-0002130412-00500L-E309C97E69C842588EFD07C8C00C8EF7.jpg

Anybody got any questions or anything post away....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

Fair play to ye lads.its a great thing to do.Hope its even better this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

We have reached our pledge target of €600 for the waxing of legs!

So myself, Onkle, Quazzie and -Chris- will be getting our legs waxed in Urban Performance along side a dyno day where anyone can come along and get their car dyno'd (2wd) for €40

It's happening on Sat April 9th. All welcome to come and watch the pain!

[Directions] to Urban

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Daraghot

Lads, I'm delighted to hear you are doing this again. Well done and best of luck with plans for this years trip.
    Ádh Mór,
    Daragh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Hey Daragh, will you be taking part? :D

Facebook event for the leg waxing and Dyno day - http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=201115439912941

Pics of the waxing!!

So here's the proof for anyone that couldn't make it on the day or had to leave early.

Taken from Tallons photos:

Quazzie was up first:

318A5AA2CFFC4E5B9B2C4CA174C7F09E-0000323155-0002257515-00500L-7AEDFCF6462548689473300507A4DBD1.jpg

8FDD63BE4B0E4CB7873CA80539C57A4E-0000323155-0002257512-00500L-E2D239E91B2B43CBBC6B78489B4F5A4D.jpg

1602D6496E91469A835D81FFA58D7151-0000323155-0002257519-00500L-95549F1852224D28ACBFFD605D640E3B.jpg

Then it was Onkles turn:

8485BBDE39FB4BB0B2B4D5A2DABAC925-0000323155-0002257490-00500L-519A095C78AA43068764535F19F740E7.jpg

BF97EC0F66B5415691029475E03CA50F-0000323155-0002257410-00500L-5CD15E6280C54D47A3A4BD700B5B230E.jpg

9F56C60ED3F943A28D708EED9C9E6C45-0000323155-0002257425-00500L-F4FE3C5B9E964FC98F829FDDDEF6A233.jpg

And me:

A438015545EC4686929CD69C25C07C8F-0000323155-0002257391-00500L-1BBCE067687A45108FD29A31A45EC6AB.jpg

0EB41521EFDD48FFAE633193144BD193-0000323155-0002257450-00500L-AE03430F7C9940FA85F58CCC22C3DA86.jpg

6BCC0C5CD11A4628B720F06B74637B79-0000323155-0002257467-00500L-E110312A220642BFB4531984CCC13AE9.jpg

The itching today is unreal!! :mad:

And here's the video (Thanks Marlow)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Has everyone paid up? I'm still waiting for PM with paypal details...

E39MSport wrote: »
    Has everyone paid up? I'm still waiting for PM with paypal details...

No, it will be sorted over the coming days. We're trying to figure the best way of doing it :)

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

Onkle wrote: »
    No, it will be sorted over the coming days. We're trying to figure the best way of doing it :)

Let me know as well as I want to pay my pledge.

We've decided that people can place their pledges directly to the charity as we have most of the costs of the event covered.

You can donate online here:

http://www.mycharity.ie/event/allthewayround2011/

Thanks again to everyone who donate and attended the day in support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Linky brokey

edit - NOT

edit: done as pledged. Fair play to you.

E39MSport wrote: »
    Linky brokey

edit - NOT

edit: done as pledged. Fair play to you.

I edited the link within 20 seconds of posting, you must have been on the ball :D

And thanks very much, really really is greatly appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭CompleteCarGuy

draffodx wrote: »
    I edited the link within 20 seconds of posting, you must have been on the ball :D

And thanks very much, really really is greatly appreciated.

Draffodx will you send me on some details so I can put them into my outlets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭CompleteCarGuy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Good work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Crap, I could have paid you when I was up there but didn't think about it. I'll pay you guys when you're in Cork, or give it to EPM next week. One of the two.

And I meant to ask for a few tips on painting my rocker cover! You were only gone when I remembered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Onkle wrote: »
    And I meant to ask for a few tips on painting my rocker cover! You were only gone when I remembered

Just cover it with the required colour:p

wrecking-ball.jpg

I can grad that off you during the week no bother PD.

Huge thanks to Bodhan for this - http://thenextgear.com/2011/06/01/all-the-way-round-hits-the-road-this-weekend/

Also be great if people followed Jonathons tweeting, link in the article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

Best of luck with it guys, if you have a twitter account follow @thenextgear, when you tweet over the weekend I'll re-tweet especially locations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I'll be tweeting like mad too, so keep an eye :D

http://twitter.com/#!/taltallon