Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Air Force One to Ireland

• 16-03-2011 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭

Tomoro on paddy's day president Obama is anticipated to announce a presidential visit to Ireland and all i'm interested in is seeing Air Force One. Any chance that it will be coming to Dublin this time as last time bush landed in Shannon didn't he. using Marine one to travel around. He didn't come to dublin i don't think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

I dont remember Bush coming here must be the old age kicking in:p but I do remember clinton being here on two occasions as it disrupted my operations:D.
    A C17 was parked on the remote stands some where out in Swords as we used to say:D security was extremly tight,With the boyos all in black standing around the jets with no hi viz on were was the DAA H&S lads.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Foggy43

He was in Ireland in 2004. Some world leader conference at Dromoland Castle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Ah now I remember:Dnow where did I leave my tablets:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Irish Fire

SNAKEDOC wrote: »
    Tomoro on paddy's day president Obama is anticipated to announce a presidential visit to Ireland and all i'm interested in is seeing Air Force One. Any chance that it will be coming to Dublin this time as last time bush landed in Shannon didn't he. using Marine one to travel around. He didn't come to dublin i don't think

The current plane used is a Boeing VC25. There are currently two in service with the tail numbers 28000 and 29000. The aircraft is only refered as "airforce one" when the president is on board. The call sign for the helicopter "marine one" is also only used when the president is on board.

The chances of you getting next or near the plane on the ground is highly unlikely, you might have a better chance of winning the lotto, although the last plane used is on display (not 100% sure where)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Irish Fire wrote: »
    The chances of you getting next or near the plane on the ground is highly unlikely, you might have a better chance of winning the lotto, although the last plane used is on display (not 100% sure where)

It's here...... www.reaganlibrary.com

Housed in a specially constructed hangar on the site alongside Marine One, Cadillac One and the original interior of the pub in Ballyporeen co Tipperary where Reagan went on the lash during his visit here in 1984.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I believe both aircraft make most journeys with the backup standing about 1 hour away in case of failure etc. I was stunned to learn that they had 2 of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭CaptainSkidmark

O'bama wil be here in May ;)

ya know the way the 2 of them take off at the same time to cause a decoy, does the other one ttake a different route or just turn back half way or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Don't they still use the E-4Bs too, or are they time of war, Defcon 2 and above use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Don't they still use the E-4Bs too, or are they time of war, Defcon 2 and above use?

They do indeed. I noted one here before routing overhead.

ya know the way the 2 of them take off at the same time to cause a decoy

First I heard of that, is that confirmed?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056081373&highlight=force

Steyr wrote: »
    First I heard of that, is that confirmed?

twas on discovery channel when bush invited them on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

The chances of you getting next or near the plane on the ground is highly unlikely, you might have a better chance of winning the lotto, although the last plane used is on display (not 100% sure where)[/QUOTE]

would parking out by the runway before the planes come in to land and taking pictures be ok or will there be a forty mile seclusion zone. I'm not looking for the guided tour, I know it's only air force one when the president is on board i posted the thread simply to inform that he maybe visiting and i am looking forward to getting some pics of my own of the c17's and air force one marine one if its been used;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

would parking out by the runway before the planes come in to land and taking pictures be ok ......

Take off and landing will probably be your best chance to get a close look at it. I reckon that road will be closed while the aircraft arrive and depart, but there are plenty of vantage points nearby to get good shots (of the photo variety;)) of incoming traffic.

I remember being in Heathrow when Clinton came to London. It was pre 911 and the old viewing gallery on the roof of Terminal 2 was open. The presidential planes were parked over a mile away from anything, where Terminal 5 is now. Pity I had no camera with me that day. :(

I reckon it will be possible to find some vantage point to get some photos while the planes are parked in Dublin. The whole airfield is very exposed and with a bit of scouting around and a decent zoom lens you should manage it.

With Enda Kenny in the White House today we might get some indication of the actual dates of Barrack Obama's visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭joegriffinjnr

Dardistown cementry would be a good spot for photos ;)

will that road be closed down along the main runway. i didn't think it would. I suppose if you have a handy stinger launcher you have a sure thing as regards a clear shot.:rolleyes:

Pity though. Depending on the approach on the day i might try the cemetery never been to that location before. i have a good long lens so distance won't be too big an issue. I suppose they will be parked over where the light aircraft normally are away from everything. Will the c17's be parked in dublin too or be brought to casement or elsewhere for the state cars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

will that road be closed down along the main runway. i didn't think it would. I suppose if you have a handy stinger launcher you have a sure thing as regards a clear shot.:rolleyes:

Pity though. Depending on the approach on the day i might try the cemetery never been to that location before. i have a good long lens so distance won't be too big an issue. I suppose they will be parked over where the light aircraft normally are away from everything. Will the c17's be parked in dublin too or be brought to casement or elsewhere for the state cars

Meh, I'd be surprised if they do close the Old Airport Road. I reckon it will be just have a strong Garda presence at the most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Is it true that the flight crew of Air Force One despite being U.S. Air Force officers only wear civilian clothes on duty ? If so , why is this ?

Delancey wrote: »
    Is it true that the flight crew of Air Force One despite being U.S. Air Force officers only wear civilian clothes on duty ? If so , why is this ?

That is only when they go shopping for food for the Aircraft, other than that it is USAF Number 1's ( Military Suit ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Hopefully it will be Shannon again!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

finbarrk wrote: »
    Hopefully it will be Shannon again!

Reading on another site that a possibility is AF1 landing into DUB to disembark the guests for any activities. Helicopters would already be in place from the day before for transport from DUB to another location. Meanwhile due to the more isolated airfield and better security AF1 (now just a SAM9000 or similar callsign) would fly to SNN until needed 2 days later.

EDIT: as pointed out below this is just speculation.

We have no secure military airfields for the aircraft to stay. SNN with its low traffic, wide open spaces and designated US military taxiiway/parking spot would suit that need more than DUB. This sounds plausible to me, I cant see them leaving the B747 'sitting in the open' in full view for the 2 day visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I imagine the roads will be open, but you won't be allowed stop / park.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 174 ✭✭troposphere

I always thought AF1 had to be located nearby to the President at all times. Shannon Airport is probably around 1hr away in an helicopter from Dublin if anything was to go wrong during the trip.

I'm not sure if it's only when he travels to dangerous places like the Middle East but there is always two VC-25's that travel with him. However I can't imagine that it would be worth the effort if he's only coming to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

Tenger wrote: »
    Reading on another site that a possibility is AF1 landing into DUB to disembark the guests for any activities. Helicopters would already be in place from the day before for transport from DUB to another location. Meanwhile due to the more isolated airfield and better security AF1 (now just a SAM9000 or similar callsign) would fly to SNN until needed 2 days later.

We have no secure military airfields for the aircraft to stay. SNN with its low traffic, wide open spaces and designated US military taxiiway/parking spot would suit that need more than DUB.

Just because someone else speculated this on another site doesn't make it accurate. What is suggested was not done on previous visits, as far as I can recall.

i can't see them sending two other aircaft along with transport and the three choppers Dublin is camped enough without having to accommodate three already very large aircraft with room for a ground security detail and two standby aircraft they will prob stand off in Shannon or maybe even further a field like the uk. I reckon best bet for a picture will be parking out toward Ballymun and walking from there back to the old airport road. Hopethe weather is good:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

ya know the way the 2 of them take off at the same time to cause a decoy, does the other one ttake a different route or just turn back half way or what?

Actually I don't this was done when bush went to Iraq, because it would have draw attention to fact he was travelling when he wasn't supposed to be ?
    They were in Iraq before anyone knew it and press were not allowed file reports until he was out of Iraq on his first trip in 2003.

There is excellenet Discovery Channel documentary on AF1.
    You have got to have some service record before you get to fly one of those babies.

BTW Air Force Two and Marine Two are for the vice president.

I am not allowed discuss …

jmayo wrote: »
    Actually I don't this was done when bush went to Iraq, because it would have draw attention to fact he was travelling when he wasn't supposed to be ?
    They were in Iraq before anyone knew it and press were not allowed file reports until he was out of Iraq on his first trip in 2003.

There is excellenet Discovery Channel documentary on AF1.
    You have got to have some service record before you get to fly one of those babies.

BTW Air Force Two and Marine Two are for the vice president.

Look a few posts up, the Youtube video of the documentary is there ;)

That secret trip to Iraq was a just plain silly in my opinion.
    If you want to travel to another place discreetly then going in a 70m long blue and white jumbo jet that has United States of America written on it or in other words the most famous aircraft in the world is not the way to go about it in my opinion.

Surely they could of used some other type of aircraft or even one of the C40's :confused:

mle1324 wrote: »
    Surely they could of used some other type of aircraft or even one of the C40's :confused:

Air Force One carries a substantial array of communications equipment that in theory permits the President to communicate with anyone anywhere in the world ( didn't work too well on 9/11 I understand ).
    Probably not possible to set up the gear as well on another aircraft.

Air Force One carries a substantial array of communications equipment that in theory permits the President to communicate with anyone anywhere in the world ( didn't work too well on 9/11 I understand ).
    Probably not possible to set up the gear as well on another aircraft.

I understand what you mean but I'd imagine that there has to be some other aircraft that would have similar technology to the 747 that could of being used. For not wanting to be spotted and needing to keep things on the down low using AF1 was a bit risky.

I am amazed they have not upgraded her with Winglets yet. I know they are not necessary per se but they could make her go a little bit longer fuel wise but then again AF1 is capable of mid air refuelling.

Really ? I've never seen the re-fuelling probe on it , any idea where it's hidden ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭hurleronditch

Really ? I've never seen the re-fuelling probe on it , any idea where it's hidden ?

But they used it in the film 'Air Force One' so it must be true!!

apologies for being a smartass, i havent a clue if it can or not. Wouldnt be surprised if it could though.

She can and does, the refuel entry point for the probe is just below the cockpit and above the nose cone the snub part:

A16E44A787054BF891887B952FCF6E7C-0000336624-0002228785-00532L-5CFC8537A1F34A548D57ACD2CFC6AED9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

But they used it in the film 'Air Force One' so it must be true!!

apologies for being a smartass, i havent a clue if it can or not. Wouldnt be surprised if it could though.

AFAIK the capability is there but little used. It's on the front above the nose.

281538310_b3d6280126.jpg

28000 and 29000 are capable. As are the E4B's, Air Force One crews train using the E4B's to mid air efuel first before trying it with Air Force One.

E4B's Same position for the refuel:

1CA653778B564647AF7CF6AEF91912D8-0000336624-0002228809-00468L-08A48774334A488C9AF022AC17FF0079.jpg

E349E752BA1C4461A88F19102637496E-0000336624-0002228808-00640L-33BE24A61A8C48808029D8E2B4CAF008.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭TangoVictor

Surely they could of used some other type of aircraft or even one of the C40's
    SAM2800 & SAM2900 are generally used to carry POTUS around the place but the irony is that although the USAF carry the president under the call sign Air Force One they have aparently concealed their identity on at least one occasion back in 2003 when Bush made a secret trip to Iraq. It is suggested that even ATC were kept in the dark as to the identity of the flight, droping the AFO call sign in favour of a Gulfstream. Whether or not this is true I don't know, but I imagine it has been vastly exagerated! I think NatGeo done a documentary on it?

I'm looking forward to the visit and hope that AFO makes it up Belfast way, definately worth requesting a zone transit wherever the VC-25 is parked up in the hope of a few arieal shots!! :D

After a trip to Prestwick just before Christmas I made the mistake of not picking the local flying club to handle us, to the tune of £70!! But, looking back now I discovered they handled Air Force One previously, so if its good enough for 'Dubya', I suppose it's good enough for me:rolleyes:

171101_1566527605508_1304961374_31279597_2805329_o.jpg

170500_1566528485530_1304961374_31279598_6506920_o.jpg

171008_1566529205548_1304961374_31279599_2038605_o.jpg

PS Sorry about the size of the photos and the reflection I had to make do with an iPhone!
    ?action=view&current=171101_1566527605508_1304961374_31279597_2805329_o.jpg

-tv

Look a few posts up, the Youtube video of the documentary is there ;)

Ta.
    That secret trip to Iraq was a just plain silly in my opinion.
    If you want to travel to another place discreetly then going in a 70m long blue and white jumbo jet that has United States of America written on it or in other words the most famous aircraft in the world is not the way to go about it in my opinion.

According to copilot on that flight they flew over US territory, not much of it anyway when flying out of Andrews, and territories where the aiurcraft might be recognised in darkness.
    They crossed the Atlantic in darkness so that other flights would not be able to spot who it was.
    By the time it was daylight they were over areas where the aircraft would not be as recognisable.

The only ones of the crew to have much prior notice were the pilots.
    Some of the crew did not even know where they were headed.
    And yes it was a publicity trip to boost bush.

As others have said it carried a huge amount of equipment.
    It has secure air to ground communications systems, it has emergency room equipment and operating room table, it has electronic counter measures for radar jamming, flares to offset heat seeking missiles and most importantly it has two galleys and loads of food.

I bet the none of McEvaddys Omega guys refueled her ?
    Hey while he is in Ireland she could be parked up in Knock, after all the place was built capable to handle heavy US aircraft. :D

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

The winglets may not be compatible with the wing on the 2 VC-25s. Winglets are found on the B744.
    AFAIK VC-25s are B747-200B fuselage with the wing of the B747-300? Can anyone elaborate?

I believe the problem during 9/11 was that the VC-25s were not fully equiped to communicate with the US military and civilian apparatus unlike the E-4B Looking Glass aircraft. I think that this has since been rectified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

jmayo wrote: »
    Ta.

According to copilot on that flight they flew over US territory, not much of it anyway when flying out of Andrews, and territories where the aiurcraft might be recognised in darkness.
    They crossed the Atlantic in darkness so that other flights would not be able to spot who it was.
    By the time it was daylight they were over areas where the aircraft would not be as recognisable.

The only ones of the crew to have much prior notice were the pilots.
    Some of the crew did not even know where they were headed.
    And yes it was a publicity trip to boost bush.
    Almost. It would be some feat to get across the Atlantic and to the Mid East all the way in darkness. It was Iraq where they flew in darkness so they wouldn't attract the attention of missiles. A missile had hit a DHL cargo a few days previous. A BA spotted them over the Atlantic:
    This is from a reporter currently on Air Force One

The only threat to the thick veil of secrecy thrown over the mission was an alert British Airways pilot.
    White House officials said at one stage on the flight to Baghdad, the British pilot radioed across: "Did I just see Air Force One?"
    Colonel Mark Tilman, chief pilot on the presidential jet, remained silent for a long time. Then he replied "Gulf Stream Five", which is a smaller jet.
    The BA pilot said "oh" as if he knew something secret was happening, the officials said.
    Full story on pprune: http://www.pprune.org/archive/index.php/t-110356.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

tricky D wrote: »
    Almost. It would be some feat to get across the Atlantic and to the Mid East all the way in darkness. It was Iraq where they flew in darkness so they wouldn't attract the attention of missiles. A missile had hit a DHL cargo a few days previous. A BA spotted them over the Atlantic:

When reading the orginal article i had taken the info from I had wondered the same, because I do remember they had landed in Iraq in darkness because of ground attack threats.
    Interesting to work out sun up and sun down times on their path to see if possible to take off late morning while still dark East Coast US and land evening Iraq.
    It was November December AFAIK so it shoudl be possible.

Plowman wrote: »

Have you never heard of the "small" and "faraway" theory ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

Plowman wrote: »

Sorry I should have added my smilies after my post as I was imaginig Father Ted sitting in the cockpit explaining it to Dougal. :D

Seriously though out of all of those items mentioned above, the only thing that woudl really make it unique is the colour scheme. The rest at distance would I presume look like many other B747s ?
    Of course saying it was much smaller aircraft was the giveaway I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Not just smaller, but with only 2 engines and those being mounted at the rear. I'd guess there was an element of AFO telling BA to shut the feck up.