Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Isn't it brilliant how...

• 15-03-2011 8:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭

...Driving instructors are so well looked after in Ireland.

Business kind of slow?
    -Government brings in a whole raft of new measures
    -Mandatory lessons
    -Make the test a good bit harder
    -ADI Approval - barriers to entry to stop competition
    -FAS training courses for jobs that don't exist (C,D license)

When the rest of the place is going to hell in a handbasket it's brilliant that these lads are so well looked after and have the job security a teacher turned TD would envy.
    Fair play to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭DrivingTestTips: Brian

Daegerty wrote: »

Business kind of slow?
    -Mandatory lessons

When the rest of the place is going to hell in a handbasket it's brilliant that these lads are so well looked after and have the job security a teacher turned TD would envy.
    Fair play to them.

I think I speak for all ADIs when I say "We wish!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

I got a few lessons last month, my instructer said she was only doin 5 lessons a week for all of Jan-Feb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Business kind of slow?
    -Mandatory lessons

Fair play to them.

Mandatory lessons
    I took my first driving test despite my instructor telling me I wasn't ready, result-FAIL, no longer being young and knowing everything, I realise now that he knew better. More lessons should result in lower failure rates too.

Make the test a good bit harder
    Do you think it should be easier? What part of the new test is too hard and not relevant?

ADI Approval - barriers to entry to stop competition
    As opposed to the previous system where anyone with a full license was allowed to set themselves up as an instructor? I'd rather have competent instructors who are capable of imparting the knowledge and skills required.

FAS training courses for jobs that don't exist (C,D license)
    You could close down FAS entirely based on that! What FAS courses should be run? At least a C,D license might get someone who emigrates a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

ADI Approval - barriers to entry to stop competition

Anyone who wanted to continue as a driving instructor had to take the ADI tests, it wasn't just for the newcomers.

I did notice that it thinned the herd quite a bit around my way. There were instructors (loose term in some cases) all over the place 3 years ago, but not anymore. The ones who are left are those who had a reputation for providing quality tuition and were dedicated to their profession, while the chancers are all gone.

Probably one of the most important measures introduced by the RSA imo.
    FAS training courses for jobs that don't exist (C,D license)

Do FAS even provide C/D training anymore?

I do remember reading a post on this forum about a year or so ago by someone who wanted to get on a course, but couldn't find any available. One of the responses indicated that FAS had all but dumped them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Robxxx7

Business kind of slow?
    -Mandatory lessons

Fair play to them.

Funniest post of the year so far

I know a few ADI's and believe me, can you live on Eur150 a week if you're lucky !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭DrivingTestTips: Brian

Robxxx7 wrote: »
    Funniest post of the year so far

I know a few ADI's and believe me, can you live on Eur150 a week if you're lucky !!

I list ADIs on my sites and some wish to become sponsors (as a sponsor they pay the price of one lesson a month, this helps me to keep the sites FREE for the users).

Most of the ADIs can't afford the one lesson a month because they are doing less than five(5) lessons a week and cant afford to pay their bills.

SO!....... I totally agree with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

I must point out though, since passing my driving test th cost of insurance has dropped by 400 euro, negating the cost of lessons. So even with the new ruling the cost (for someone in a similar insurance rate as me) remains basically the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

I'm learning to drive (awaiting 2nd test date) at the mo but don't fall under the new regulations. However I do agree with them for the most part. I took at least 15 lessons before attempting my test and the reason I failed was in large part due to nerves. In fact the tester even told me that I made all my mistakes (12 grade 2's, 2 grade 1's) in the first 10 minutes of the test.

Business kind of slow?
    -Mandatory lessons

I agree with this - I know people who attempted their test after no lessons & were extremely dangerous drivers - and were told this as the test was aborted due to it. I think a minimum number of lessons is a good idea.

The test is only harder (from what I've heard) to those that sat in the hired out centres. As mentioned above, I'm awaiting my 2nd sitting and looking into all the prep for the driving test not much has changed in a year between my first and now.

You want just anyone giving you lessons? No thanks - I'd prefer to be taught by someone who's been appropriately certified to teach it. And that applies to anything.

Can't comment on this as don't know

Fair play to them.

Ah they hardly have it easy at all. I know a number of instructors. 2 I've used for lessons and 1 the boyfriend of a friend. None of them have it easy. 1 of the instructors I had the majority of my lessons with has started setting up a number of driving inspired businesses in order to keep himself & his young family going. My friend's boyfriend hasn't been able to take more than a week off for a long time as he'll lose those people who want a weekly lesson. Plus the unsociable hours a lot of them have to work - weekends and evenings as a lot of learners work. I don't envy them also sitting in a car with people who are only just learning every day. It's not something my nerves could handle so I applaud them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

To drive on the road you need a driving licence, i.e. the State forces you to procure a qualification.

Its much better for consumers that an industry which seeks to benefit from that requirement is regulated than not.

That's over and above the safety considerations of producing better drivers at the point of qualification, which I am willing to accept is likely to arise more frequently from tuition by a qualified instructor than not (there being exceptions of course, I'm not saying all ADI's are brilliant, your mileage may vary).

That's also over and above there being some oversight of the participation in a profession which brings people working within it into direct and personal contact (pick me up from my house/place of work and drive off with me in your car for an hour or two) with members of the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

OK, I could be wrong (and if I am, there are a lot of ADIs on here that can correct me) but when I was learning last year, my ADI was telling me about these new changes while they were only at the discussion stage. He told me something really interesting, but I'm not sure if this is now part of the final law (this is where an ADI may need to correct me).

Apparently your ADI will have to approve you to sit the driving test and provide his or her name and details in doing so. Even the most competent of drivers are prone to suffering from their nerves and for that reason alone can fail the test. If an ADI has a certain number of students fail he or she then gets reviewed by the RSA. Given that these fails can be down to nerves and crumbling under pressure, this seems so harsh for the ADIs.

As I said, I was told about this before the new regulations were finalised so I don't know if this one made the cut, but if it did then, no, they're not "so well looked after", as you put it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J_R

cosmic wrote: »
    OK, I could be wrong (and if I am, there are a lot of ADIs on here that can correct me) but when I was learning last year, my ADI was telling me about these new changes while they were only at the discussion stage. He told me something really interesting, but I'm not sure if this is now part of the final law (this is where an ADI may need to correct me).

Apparently your ADI will have to approve you to sit the driving test and provide his or her name and details in doing so. Even the most competent of drivers are prone to suffering from their nerves and for that reason alone can fail the test. If an ADI has a certain number of students fail he or she then gets reviewed by the RSA. Given that these fails can be down to nerves and crumbling under pressure, this seems so harsh for the ADIs.

As I said, I was told about this before the new regulations were finalised so I don't know if this one made the cut, but if it did then, no, they're not "so well looked after", as you put it.

Officially, not at the moment but later they will have to bring it in and hold the instructor responsible for their pupils competency.

Otherwise some cowboy instructors will stamp all twelve
    lessons as being successfully completed for say €100 and send them in for the test after one or two lessons.

Any good instructor will have no problem with being graded on their overall results. taken over a period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

J_R wrote: »
    Any good instructor will have no problem with being graded on their overall results. taken over a period.

This is true. I was jsut thinking about people failing because of nerves, which I suffered from too. But in saying that, my ADI (who I found to be excellent) anticipated that with me so took me on a pretest immeidately before my actual test, which did the trick and I passed no problem.

Also, thanks for clearing that up for me :)