Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Minute Silence Turned Into A Moment Silence

• 15-03-2011 7:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭

What is the reason a minute silence has been turned into a moment silence? have noticed this a lot lately in sporting fixtures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭NeedaNewName

STIG83 wrote: »
    What is the reason a minute silence has been turned into a moment silence? have noticed this a lot lately in sporting fixtures.

Lisbon II

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Adversing time wasted?
    (Guessing)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Usually when I'm at a hurling match with a few friends we start ringing people we know are at the same match or if we spot them in the crowd so they get embarrassed when their stupid ring tone is blaring & they get dirty looks from people.
    It's very, very childish but it's also very satisfying.

I don't have an answer to your question but I felt the need to share my little story of acting the maggot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

"let us have a minutes silence for our dear friend Homer"
    "how long has it been?"
    "six seconds"
    "do we have to start over?"
    "hell no"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Biggins wrote: »
    Adversing time wasted?
    (Guessing)

"This moment of silence is sponsored by Panasonic Megaphones"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Usually when I'm at a hurling match with a few friends we start ringing people we know are at the same match or if we spot them in the crowd so they get embarrassed when their stupid ring tone is blaring & they get dirty looks from people.
    I love doing that at weddings and funerals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Arséholes feeling that they can't go one minute without talking and respecting a minutes silence is the reason why.

Make it a moments silence and the ref can blow it up if he hears aforementioned arséholes making noise without having to spend the latter part of the minute listening to those people ruin the tribute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Irish_Elect_Eng

Because there are a lot of people around that do not know the meaning of the word RESPECT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Because anyone who is like me is incapable of being quiet for one minute:). A moment sounds shorter somehow:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

I don't have an answer to your question but I felt the need to share my little story of acting the maggot.

I was at the Cork Tipp Match last year and there was a minute silence but a few ignored it decided instead to start shouting abuse at Donal Og Cusack, it infuriated me to be honest, a few scum who couldnt stay quiet for a minute :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

You're not invited to my funeral :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

A moment is more flexible, if you ring tech support they'll say "One moment please". 20 minutes later you're pondering what a moment is, among other mysteries of the universe

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Because they started having ridiculous two and then three minutes silences "MOAR RESPECT!" and it just got out of hand.

Because there are a lot of people around that do not know the meaning of the word RESPECT.

Before the united match earlier a moment silence was observed for Japan but yet a few bad eggs couldnt shut up a for a bit.

I was at the Cork Tipp Match last year and there was a minute silence but a few ignored it decided instead to start shouting abuse at Donal Og Cusack, it infuriated me to be honest, a few scum who couldnt stay quiet for a minute :mad:

Jesus will you take it handy & don't be upsetting yourself.
    From the last few hurling matches I've been to theres an awful lot of young lads & young wans getting pissed drunk before the match & just annoy everyone else with their need to let everyone know that they're so grown up & hard that they are locked & vomitting at four in the afternoon.

You may get used to it because it's becoming a lot more common. And if it upsets you that much avoid going to matches when Limerick or Waterford are playing. For some reason they seem to have a lot of younger fans that act like wild animals. All counties have that element but they seem to be the worst I've seen anyway.

Jesus will you take it handy & don't be upsetting yourself.
    From the last few hurling matches I've been to theres an awful lot of young lads & young wans getting pissed drunk before the match & just annoy everyone else with their need to let everyone know that they're so grown up & hard that they are locked & vomitting at four in the afternoon.

You may get used to it because it's becoming a lot more common. And if it upsets you that much avoid going to matches when Limerick or Waterford are playing. For some reason they seem to have a lot of younger fans that act like wild animals. All counties have that element but they seem to be the worst I've seen anyway.

Dont get me wrong, it wouldnt put me off going but what annoyed me the most that day was the abuse Donal Og Cusack got for been gay, i couldnt care that the guy is gay, fair play to him for coming out, but still people are out there who have a problem with it sadly he will still get abuse on the terraces when he plays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I was at the Cork-Down football game Saturday night and there was a full minutes silence observed for Japan and someone else. It was well respected too except for when my 5 years old nephew turned around to me a roared "why is no one talkin'?!"

Dont get me wrong, it wouldnt put me off going but what annoyed me the most that day was the abuse Donal Og Cusack got for been gay, i couldnt care that the guy is gay, fair play to him for coming out, but still people are out there who have a problem with it.

They might not have a problem with it but are trying to unsettle him. No one could care less what he is or isn't tbh but the usual loudmouths will think they are being clever or funny for targetting him.
    If they met him face to face they wouldn't open their mouths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Before the united match earlier a moment silence was observed for Japan but yet a few bad eggs couldnt shut up a for a bit.

That's the French for you.

Shower of loudmouths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

That's the French for you.

Shower of loudmouths.

Actually that is something I have noticed over here, French supporters show very little respect to minute silences in comparison with English or Irish fans.

They might not have a problem with it but are trying to unsettle him. No one could care less what he is or isn't tbh but the usual loudmouths will think they are being clever or funny for targetting him.
    If they met him face to face they wouldn't open their mouths.
    Bullies are cowards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

No one has a long enough attention span to stay quiet for a full minute these days. A moment seems much shorter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

It's because people have less patience these days and are incapable of finishing what they

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

A full-minute's really brings home how time can seem to vary based on our perception. It drags on...and...on...and the people with short attention spans will inevitably get bored and start making noise, which obviously takes away from the whole thing.

A moment's silence gets the intended point across in exactly the same manner. It's efficient and it's a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

The footballer Dean Richards passed away in the last few weeks, when Spurs and Wolves played each other (he played for both clubs) they had a minutes clapping. It was the first time I had even heard of it, I felt it was a nice touch but everyone looked very awkward clapping towards the end of the time.

ziedth wrote: »
    The footballer Dean Richards passed away in the last few weeks, when Spurs and Wolves played each other (he played for both clubs) they had a minutes clapping. It was the first time I had even heard of it, I felt it was a nice touch but everyone looked very awkward clapping towards the end of the time.

That's an unusual way of doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

That's an unusual way of doing it.

They do it to drown out all the terrace scumbag boo-boys who generally ruin a minutes silence.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    I love doing that at weddings and funerals.

*hands on hips*

You two......

C'mere....... *makes "come here" finger sign*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

ziedth wrote: »

"A minute of apprication" was first staged at Molineaux when George Best died, Wolves had an early kick off after his death and when word spread it seemed to catch on and many stadiums followed that afternoon. It makes sense as a way of marking the death of a person well thought of and celbrated in life. Obviously not too clever for an earthquake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I noticed that last night, it was only for about 10 or 12 seconds and even at that, some muppets couldn't keep their mouths shut!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

mike65 wrote: »
    "A minute of apprication" was first staged at Molineaux when George Best died, Wolves had an early kick off after his death and when word spread it seemed to catch on and many stadiums followed that afternoon. It makes sense as a way of marking the death of a person well thought of and celbrated in life. Obviously not too clever for an earthquake.

They've been doing it for years in Italy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

they average about 15sec these days.

And anyway since the seems to be doing them before every single game these day for one reason or another. People get sick of it IMO, it cheapens the whole thing if its just a standard part of the buildup to a match.

I fail to see the point of it at all really. If they really want to make an actual difference why not donate the gates receipts to the cause / disaster rather than being quiet for a few seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

But that would cost money:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 JDfan

One of the most memorable minutes silence took place in the san siro in 1989 in the European Cup final between Ac Milan & Real Madrid in memory of the Hillsborough football disaster which took place the previous Weekend. The ref stopped the game six minutes it ( the Liverpool game was stopped at 3:06pm) and the players and supporters stood still. Half way through the minutes silence the words of "you ll never walk alone" can be heard coming from the stands getting louder and louder before the whole stadium is singing it. Made the hairs on the back of your neck stand.