Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Lenihan - "I stabilised the ship and kept the ship afloat"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

Brian Lenihan “disappointed” by former Taoiseach Brian Cowen’s performance

Lenihen is spot on in what he says about Cowen. To say the rest of the country is disappointed with Cowen is an understatement. All Cowen was good for was singing at 3.30 in the morning in a Galway hotel and addressing the nation on breakfast national radio a few hours later !

What a muppet. It was not as if he was not paid enough - he paid himself more than Obama was paid. He destroyed the country through surrendering to his !" social partners " , which doubled expenditure on the public service between 1999 and 2009. Even now he is retired he has a pension many times the average industrial wage, and a big lump sum payment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Lenihan getting his excuses in early.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,002 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Where exactly did Lenihan stand on the leadership challange back in January.
    Did he not publically declare his support for Cowen just before the vote was to be cast?

These are the actions of a coward now, he is taking the easiest option again and trying to use Cowens lack of support to his advantage.
    If he really believed Cowen was so bad why did he offer his support in January were things not as obvious then as they are now, what exactly changed between then and now.

Oh thats right Cowen quit politics and only now is it all his fault, I see.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...g9.html?via=mr

In that article Leninhan criticises Cowen and states that

"I stabilised the ship and kept the ship afloat"

How deluded is Lenihan??? No, you didn't "stabilise" us, we're sinking, and sinking fast.

Lenihan, you presided over unemployment which has hit hit 14.7% the worst it's been since 1994. That statement is almost as bad as Bertie's biggest regret being the Bertie Bowl not being built.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...reaking21.html

Interesting that the CSOs unemployment figures had to be revised up by a full 1% immediately after an election. Not casting aspertions on the CSO but if this was done for the benefit of Fianna Fail and in order to make the economy look a bit better coming up to the election then heads must roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Humans eh!

I think its more that Mr Lenihan & Co built a lifeboat for a few of their friends out of the belongings of the rest of the passengers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

No Brian, you scuttled the ship.....then said "oops"....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

No point stabilising the ship when its lying on the ocean bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

"In other news,deluded douchebag is deluded"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Suryavarman

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...g9.html?via=mr

In that article Leninhan criticises Cowen and states that

How deluded is Lenihan??? No, you didn't "stabilise" us, we're sinking, and sinking fast.

Lenihan, you presided over unemployment which has hit hit 14.7% the worst it's been since 1994. That statement is almost as bad as Bertie's biggest regret being the Bertie Bowl not being built.

Interesting that the CSOs unemployment figures had to be revised up by a full 1% immediately after an election. Not casting aspertions on the CSO but if this was done for the benefit of Fianna Fail and in order to make the economy look a bit better coming up to the election then heads must roll.

That is probably due to people being let go after short term work after Christmas. 1% does seem like a pretty big change do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

Delusional fools the lot of them.

It scares me that 20% of our population voted them in again. Between FF and the church this nation of muppets and idiots deserves what it gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

These are the actions of a coward now, he is taking the easiest option again and trying to use Cowens lack of support to his advantage.
    If he really believed Cowen was so bad why did he offer his support in January were things not as obvious then as they are now, what exactly changed between then and now.

I'm no Lenihan supporter (anymore) but I'm sure it isn't as black-and-white as that. Perhaps he didn't want a new leader to be on the front line of the kicking that FF would get at the election? Many were arguing that case at the time. Perhaps he genuinely was just concerned with pushing the Finance Bill through and, thinking of his own political ambitions, didn't want to take on a leadership campaign that would distract him from it?

I was never comfortable with the assumption that Lenihan supporting Cowen made him an out-and-out 'coward'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Where exactly did Lenihan stand on the leadership challange back in January.
    Did he not publically declare his support for Cowen just before the vote was to be cast?

Oh thats right Cowen quit politics and only now is it all his fault, I see.

It was a very difficult decision. Again hindsight is tremendous in politics but I was aware that essentially I was the financial controller of Ireland and that Ireland was in very choppy waters and any political move of mine could have destabilised the country and the finances of the country so that was the factor that was weighing heavily with me in relation to the Fianna Fáil leadership. Indeed when Micheál Martin did challenge Brian Cowen the government did collapse very quickly and I had to pilot through the Finance Bill under very difficult circumstances in the last week of the government.

So I was very conscious of the fact that if I withdrew my support from the government irrespective of personal considerations it had the danger of bringing down the financial stability of the country with it. It was a terrible constraint to be operating under.

http://www.communityvoice.ie/pages/CV159/CV159n03.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

He steered the ship away from the iceberg and straight into the side of a cliff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Lenihan was part and parcel of the government that has fcuked us over for life.

were the papers reporting not long ago that merker rang lenihan before the guarantee asking BL to do all that he can to save the banks?

were there reports in the papers that BL on the night of the guarantee, had a few different options available for the banks and was also advised against anglo.

BL allowed merkel and the EU to influence a decision that led us up sh1ts creek in debt that we had nothing to do with.

Between lenihan and cowen they both sold us to the banks and into debt slavery for life.

They had a mandate to govern but no way did they have a mandate to sell us and exploit us. anglo irish was never our bank. i hope to god ye remember that. and not everybody partied with the banks either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I have just one thing to say in reply to him:

trolololololololololol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

http://www.communityvoice.ie/pages/CV159/CV159n03.htm[/FONT]

“So I was very conscious of the fact that if I withdrew my support from the government irrespective of personal considerations it had the danger of bringing down the financial stability of the country with it. It was a terrible constraint to be operating under.

This sounds like a "DeValera fact".
    He could have withdrawn his support during the heave, but he wanted that position for himself.
    Clearly "personal considerations" were given plenty of thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Him stating in the media he saved us has made me completely forget who issued that unconditional bank guarantee and sunk us. :rolleyes:

I'm still in shock the tool got re-elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

He is quiet right,

but he forgot to add that he was Chief Officer what was on the bridge with the Captain when they ran the ship on to the rocks on a spring tide, taking the whole bottom out.

Reason why she ran aground, vessel was so over loaded with debt, she would not answer the helm when they tried to take averting action

In the old days he would have his ticket suspened and probably taken away from him at the court of inquiry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

He is like a kamikazee pilot who after striking the deck of the ship and holing it finds himself amazingly unharmed; and seeing the error of his ways in some small way retires to the officers deck to drink wine and eat pheasant and debate passionately how we can all be saved from the great danger that presesnts itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭donaghs

The buck stops with him on the Bank Guarantee in 2008. Maybe I'm need to read up on all this again, by why was the decision taken so quickly? With all the rumours flying about Ireland's banks, maybe it would have made more sense to probe a bit more deeply, and possibly then reach the conclusion that some were not worth saving?

I realise that a quick decision would stabilise markets and so on, but at the costs of not knowing how big the problem really was?

donaghs wrote: »
    The buck stops with him on the Bank Guarantee in 2008. Maybe I'm need to read up on all this again, by why was the decision taken so quickly? With all the rumours flying about Ireland's banks, maybe it would have made more sense to probe a bit more deeply, and possibly then reach the conclusion that some were not worth saving?

I realise that a quick decision would stabilise markets and so on, but at the costs of not knowing how big the problem really was?

Brian cowen too. Dont forget cowen and seanie fitypatrick played golf together in the summer before the guarantee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I don't accept that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

It scares me that 20% of our population voted them in again. Between FF and the church this nation of muppets and idiots deserves what it gets.

Is that any worse than the people who voted for Sinn Fein and the ULA?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

donaghs wrote: »

We still don't know - the shameless so-called investigation (not secret but behind closed doors) approved by both FF and the lackey Greens stopped short of the fateful night for some 'unknown' reason.

The govt's next step in this sorry saga better be to pour resources into a proper, transparent public investigation into what these FF people did to the country before, on and after that night in September 2008.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Is that any worse than the people who voted for Sinn Fein and the ULA?

The question is stupid but, yes is the answer.

gambiaman wrote: »
    We still don't know - the shameless so-called investigation (not secret but behind closed doors) approved by both FF and the lackey Greens stopped short of the fateful night for some 'unknown' reason.

The govt's next step in this sorry saga better be to pour resources into a proper, transparent public investigation into what these FF people did to the country before, on and after that night in September 2008.

And none of this 10 year tribunal ****e either. It has to be done a.s.a.p. People are not co operating where i'm from. walking from jobs, shopping up north, not looking or willing to work, spending very very little down south. appetites very poor therefore buying very little food and not spending. We're not slaves and we'll force this country into a default unless there is something to give us confidence ie lock up our ex government for the negligence that they showed running our country. lock up anyone else who took this country down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

ilovesleep wrote: »
    And none of this 10 year tribunal ****e either. It has to be done a.s.a.p. People are not co operating where i'm from. walking from jobs, shopping up north, not looking or willing to work, spending very very little down south. appetites very poor therefore buying very little food and not spending. We're not slaves and we'll force this country into a default unless there is something to give us confidence ie lock up our ex government for the negligence that they showed running our country. lock up anyone else who took this country down.
    We're going to default anyway. Its better if its sooner rather than later. Fitzpatrick, Neary, Ahern and co will never do a minutes time because the corruption is too deep. We're basically screwed for at least a decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Hopefully the names Lenihan, Haughey, Ahern and Cowen will bear the mark of Cain in Irish politics for many decades to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

Hopefully the names Lenihan, Haughey, Ahern and Cowen will bear the mark of Cain in Irish politics for many decades to come.

We did just elect a Lenihan and a Cowen so I'm guessing... unfortunately not.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Fitzpatrick, Neary, Ahern and co will never do a minutes time because the corruption is too deep.
    Well thats just absolutely great news, that is.