Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the night before cheltenham : by handsomecake

• 14-03-2011 1:34pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭

'Twas the night before Cheltenham, when all through the gaf

memories are flowing of mccoy and pat taffe;

The form lines are scanned by the fire with care,

In hopes that a windfall soon would be there;

The punters were nestled all snug in their beds,

with plans to rape and pillage your betdaqs and betfreds;

to get the winner of the gold cup would be a feather in my cap,

and i cannot believe that kauto is mick fitz's nap,

While out on the course it appears that they've watered,

again simon claisse will no doubt be slaughtered.

they flock in their droves to sink pints and win cash,

while the ladies day wannabees covet that sash.

some had their campaigns blighted by snow

heards whispers for the arkle by the name of ghizao,

When, what to my wondering eyes should appear,

But an email from mr power with some money back cheer ,

he will refund your bet if that cue card lad wins,

sure in that case its al ferof each way for my sins.

More rapid than eagles these thouroughbreds came,

but im down on my luck as my ante-posts lame ;

"Now, peddler! now, brampour! now, grandouet and quevega!

think he's owned by the same chap as lady de la vega!

from the top of the rostrum the starter will call !

Now dash away! dash away! dash away all!"

As dry leaves that before the wild hurricane fly,

When they meet with an obstacle, mount to the sky,

So up to the old course the hurdlers they flew,

brennan has a double hand, and ruby does too.

And then, in a twinkling, he storms to the front

That mccoy costs me fortunes the cantankerous ****.

As he drew on his whip, and was turning around,

Down to the last they came with a bound.

He was dressed all in armour, from his head to his ass,

And his clothes were all tarnished with soil and dried grass;

between jockey and saddle he has 11-7 on his back,

and i betcha the peddler makes a joke of the pack.

kauto's star it did twinkle and those days they were merry!

i heard this lad hacked up in a bumper in kerry!

nicky has a broad face and a little round belly,

and when henderson laughed it shook like a bowlful of jelly.

He was chubby and plump, a right jolly old bollix,

at 20/1 in the coral cup my money is on solix;

A wink of his eye and a twist of his head,

dont tell me you backed him coz his colors are red !;

He spoke not a word, but went straight to the bookmaker,

And filled his boots on that nag sprinter sacre,

i could go on all day but i dont want to bore ya,

BUT ILL TELL YOU THIS MUCH,ILL BE LAYING MENORAH
    remember finians rainbow will be wearing all white,
    dont back grand crus,he's just over hyped ****e

"Happy cheltenham to all, and to all a good-night."
    handsomecake 14/3/2011 (seamus heaney who are ye)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

Wow very impressive,

I will add...

Here comes the story of the Hurricane,
    The horse the media came to blame
    For somethin' that he never done.
    Put in a prison cell, but one time he could-a been
    The champion hurdler of the world.

Number one contender for the champion hurdle crown

Had no idea what kinda shit was about to go down
    When the media pulled him over to the side of the road
    Just like the time before and the time before that.
    In Pub talk that's just the way things go.
    If you're a montjeu progeny you might as well not show up at chelthelem
    'Less you wanna draw the heat.

Four in the mornin' and they haul Ruby in,
    Take him to the hospital and they bring him upstairs.
    The wounded man looks up through his one dyin' eye
    (lol)
    Yes, here's the story of the Hurricane,
    The horse the media came to blame
    For somethin' that he never done.
    Ruby could take a man out with just one punch
    But he never did like to talk about it all that much.
    It's my work, he'd say, and I do it for pay
    And when it's over I'd just as soon go on my way
    Up to some paradise
    Where the trout streams flow and the air is nice
    And ride a horse along a trail.

All of Ruby cards were marked in advance.

That's the story of the Hurricane,
    But it won't be over till they clear his name
    And give him back the time he's done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Haha McCoy the contankerous ****

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

i love the smell of potential before all the hard luck stories begin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Baby Got Back-ed

I like Big Bucks, and I can not lie