Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying tax when changing ownership ( tax office)

• 14-03-2011 10:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭

Hey lads, a quick one.

I bought an ecobanger for 500 quid, got it sorted. I got log book from old owner now.

I will be going to tax office to change ownership and buy tax at same time. I have seem this done before, but will I still need to fill in form, get a stamp from Garda, as car had no tax for 1year. Or I can just drop down log book and pay for tax as a new owner of a car and get tax from next month etc? As I am still keeping it offroad until nct in April.

Anather thing, will I need to have insurance o that car when buying tax? As I said I am keeping it offroad, and I still drive skyline untill I get it sorted.

Thank you.

If you are declaring it off road for March you'll need the declaration signed for March, the last year doesn't need to be accounted for :)

Just write your policy number and expiry date off the Skyline on the Mondeo tax form, presumably you'll be transferring the insurance so the number will be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

RoverJames wrote: »
    If you are declaring it off road for March you'll need the declaration signed for March, the last year doesn't need to be accounted for :)

Just write your policy number and expiry date off the Skyline on the Mondeo tax form, presumably you'll be transferring the insurance so the number will be the same.

I guess I will have to pay for all march aswell then? As I am really cba with going to Garda, specially with my car, even if I have every single sticker on widescreen :).

Yup, I will be transferring insurance of skyline to Mondeo. You right, about policy number not changing.

So it's posible to buy tax while changing the log book so. I presume I still need to fill in form? Does anyone remember form name? I'll download it and print it up.

As for nct, I got only message that I got nct booked. No written prove of it. Would Garda be okay with SMS prove? As much as stupid it sounds.... The reason I don't drive Mondeo is not having nct, I really hate not having something, and then talking to Garda and explaining what he heard 100 times...

RF100A I think

If you can't be arsed with the decalration for March I reckon you'll have to pay for March so.

I would think having an NCT booked on a car you just bought would be fine to most Gardai providing the thing isn't on bald tyres or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

RoverJames wrote: »
    RF100A I think

If you can't be arsed with the decalration for March I reckon you'll have to pay for March so.

I would think having an NCT booked on a car you just bought would be fine to most Gardai providing the thing isn't on bald tyres or anything.

Ah cheers, I'll get that printed.

Nah it's in friends garage and he changing bushings, oil, gaskets. Tyres and ather bits are grand too.

Cheers again.