Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My first sunday cycle

• 13-03-2011 1:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭

Just wanted to let all the cyclist out there that ye are a very frendly bunch.

I got over taken by a lot of ye today and bar one each and everyone said hello even the ones coming from the opposite direction.

I even had two motorbikes do a wheelie as they passed me by.

As i'm only starting off,so how often should I be drinking. I did 8 miles yesterday and have a bad headache today. So I tried to drink a little more today on the 10 miles I did. (still getting to grips with getting the bottle out of the cage with the many potholes on the road).

Just wanted to know for future trips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

cycling or not you should be aiming for at least 2-3l a day.

while out, its a good habit to get into, I don't drink enough while on the bike but have started to ake a drink whenever I reach a flat spot after a climb, jst to get into the habit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

If you are staring off you will probably sweat more.

I used to fill my bottles with Powerade (blue). One sip ever fifteen minutes was ok for me. Because it was a pain buying Powerade before cycling I bought a 2kg tub of High5 Isotonic powder and make my own drinks.

If you have difficulty getting the bottle out of the frame cage you should stop the bike and have a drink while stopped (traffic lights possibly if you are quick.) Always keep a bit in reserve in the end of the bottle and drink that as you get near home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Welcome to the cycling fraternity, lots of friendly obliging guys out there, but you will meet a few grumps as well, take no notice.
    As for the eating while you cycle, a half decent energy drink and basically little and often, don't wait until you are low on energy to take a swig, but thats something you'll learn with experience.
    Ah potholes and our wonderful roads, well as you get used to a few familiar routes that you cycle you will get to know the good and bad patches where you can take a swig, so just take it handy to begin and again you will pick it all up with experience, well enjoy and may the wind always be to your back !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭setanta159

I'm no doctor so don't take this as gospel but I found that before I would develop almost hangover type headaches whilst cycling which quickly disappeared when I increased my intake of fluids during a cycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

recipe for a good spin bowl of hot porrage nice cup of coffee.on bike banana 3 energy bars 2 bottles high energy drink.eat and drink little and often .
    stay away from hero gears:rolleyes: if you find your struggling pushing the pedals ,your in the wrong gear simples.
    good luck have fun be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

2 bottles high energy drink.
    Each to their own, but I personally prefer one bottle of water and one of energy drink. Bad experience one day having 2 bottles of energy drink and reacted badly to them, so was left with no liquid going over sally gap. Mistake never to be repeated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭megapixel

Thanks guys for all the opinions and useful tips.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Too much energy drink = laxative effect doesn't it?

Also don't forget to stop somewhere nice for coffee or soup on some of your longer runs :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If you have no energy drink, then I recommend you just stick with water. I tried the water + sugar + pinch salt method two weeks ago and while it kept me well hydrated, it was bloody minging. Like watery honey.

As said, try to just get into the habit of taking a drink every time you reach a flat part (or even just a slight easing of the climb). You shouldn't need to drink much each time, just a small mouthful every few minutes.