Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foxes won 2-0 tonight

• 13-03-2011 1:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭

I went out tonight with the 223, lightforce & the p7 + my nephew & his mate we normally drive around a bit with a lamp out each side of the van, but with the bit of frost tonight, the ground was fairly solid so we hit for some swampy ground between 2 forests (both forests were in a hill one north and one south of us) We spotted a pair of eyes on some flat ground to our west, maybe 300yrds off, but no backstop. We put on the ucaller, the fox came in to about 200yrds, it was coming close to some ground where I thought I could take a shot. I had the red filter on the lightforce & at 200 yards I was not happy to take the shot with it on. So a long story short took of the filter & lit him again,he bolted like a bat out of hell.

Fox 2 appeared to our south in the forest. We left on the ucaller for 15-20 min to try & tempt it out. It kept moving east & west about 3 to 5 yards deep in the forest never giving me a clear shot, also scope steaming up with the cold & taking too long over the shot. I lelt the lads with th ucaller moved moved south east too see if I could get a better angle on it. The forest was one of those Christmas tree forests that there was no market for & let to grow wild.I got in to about 30 yards took the shot standing an hit a tree.
    Ah well you win some you loose some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

there for ya the next night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Remmie 223 wrote: »
    I went out tonight with the 223, lightforce & the p7 + my nephew & his mate we normally drive around a bit with a lamp out each side of the van, but with the bit of frost tonight, the ground was fairly solid so we hit for some swampy ground between 2 forests (both forests were in a hill one north and one south of us) We spotted a pair of eyes on some flat ground to our west, maybe 300yrds off, but no backstop. We put on the ucaller, the fox came in to about 200yrds, it was coming close to some ground where I thought I could take a shot. I had the red filter on the lightforce & at 200 yards I was not happy to take the shot with it on. So a long story short took of the filter & lit him again,he bolted like a bat out of hell.

Fox 2 appeared to our south in the forest. We left on the ucaller for 15-20 min to try & tempt it out. It kept moving east & west about 3 to 5 yards deep in the forest never giving me a clear shot, also scope steaming up with the cold & taking too long over the shot. I lelt the lads with th ucaller moved moved south east too see if I could get a better angle on it. The forest was one of those Christmas tree forests that there was no market for & let to grow wild.I got in to about 30 yards took the shot standing an hit a tree.
    Ah well you win some you loose some

It could happen to anyone. I missed a gift of a shot at 40y there a couple of weeks a go.

The man that never missed anything never shot anything. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Standing shot with silencer and a lamp even at dat range is tough to get on target its always a 50-50 chance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

ah something for you to go after again shur.
    fair play. alot of people on here dont seem to ever miss or just forget to mention the misses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

Try a yellow filter, its brighter than the red but not as bright as none, they stand a bit longer for you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Remmie 223

No6 wrote: »
    Try a yellow filter, its brighter than the red but not as bright as none, they stand a bit longer for you!!

Was thinking about a different colour, but red has worked very well for me, I have not had one run under the red filter. I am trying to limit the amount of gear we carry with us. Have you had much experience with the yellow one? Do many of them run from it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭sean raff

ah well at least your not afraid to admit you missed,good on ye for getting out,there for again