Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would anyone be in favour of this?

• 12-03-2011 10:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭

I'm sick at looking on Donedeal and seeing people selling UK reg cars all over the place. I'd be in favour of introducing a system of only allowing cars being sold here to have Irish regs. That said, I have no idea how much a system would be implemented.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

that is already the case. You may not sell a foreign registered car here. A authorised dealer may HOLD one until sold but has to be re-registered before sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭snickers

Do you mean donedeal not allowing uk reg cars on there site or no more uk reg imports into ireland if its the latter whats your beef with uk reg cars ? if anything i dont see why sellers from the north advertise down here because nowadays its much cheaper to buy the same car in the south with vrt already paid than to import as our market value of cars has dropped way below theres imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

I talking about cars owned by people in the South selling them on Donedeal, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭snickers

Max_Damage wrote: »
    I talking about cars owned by people in the South selling them on Donedeal, etc.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Just report every one you see to the revenue, by email

Bigus wrote: »
    Just report every one you see to the revenue, by email

address?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

corktina wrote: »
    that is already the case. You may not sell a foreign registered car here. A authorised dealer may HOLD one until sold but has to be re-registered before sale

out of curiosity...If a dealer has imported a UK reg for sale and holds it for say 4-5 years

when you go to buy it from them are you (or the dealer for that matter) liable for 4-5 years of fines for not paying vrt on the vehicle when it was first imported like a private person is supposed to

or because its a dealer vehicle is the vrt only charged at the rate it would be if the vehicle had just been imported?

asking as I did not bother buying an imported uk reg bike from a guy who still had it registered to the dealer as revenue stated there was a charge for every day its in the country over the time you are supposed to regsiter it ....didnt want to be liable for a massive vrt fee

the person who imported it would be liable I imagine and it would be up to him to re-register it before sale. Thats one reason for not buying a Uk reg vehicle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭gn3dr

Max_Damage wrote: »
    I'm sick at looking on Donedeal and seeing people selling UK reg cars all over the place. I'd be in favour of introducing a system of only allowing cars being sold here to have Irish regs. That said, I have no idea how much a system would be implemented.

Why? What's your problem with it?

Don't you think Ireland is already a ****ty enough place for motorists with all the excessive car related taxes without introducing more restrictions?

Sellers and buyers are all adults.

I'd suggest, if it sickens you that much to look at donedeal, turn off the computer and go work on one of your cars:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

or apply for a job in the gardai/revenue?

sounds like you've too much time on your hands if english reg cars for sale on dulldeal pisses you off enough to go moaning on the internet about it.

well if you dont mind people avoiding VRT then I guess its OK...

not OK with me, i have paid thousands in VRT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Think there's enough Revenue Officials and Gardai in this country to look after this. VRT will have to be paid either way.:P

maybe i could care about people paying VRT and their taxes? but i couldnd give a **** about reporting every god damn improper for sale ad on the internet. not my problem. not you're problem.

I dont care a **** about everyone equally paying their taxes or not when they should, and those who dont making it unfair for the people that do, some people will always cheat when they think they can save a few pound, you cant change human nature. just make a fair, equal, mandatory tax, that no-one can avoid if they drive their car, then there is no avoidance, no getting around it, no cheating, everyone pays per gas guzzzling mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

amacca wrote: »
    out of curiosity...If a dealer has imported a UK reg for sale and holds it for say 4-5 years

when you go to buy it from them are you (or the dealer for that matter) liable for 4-5 years of fines for not paying vrt on the vehicle when it was first imported like a private person is supposed to

or because its a dealer vehicle is the vrt only charged at the rate it would be if the vehicle had just been imported?

asking as I did not bother buying an imported uk reg bike from a guy who still had it registered to the dealer as revenue stated there was a charge for every day its in the country over the time you are supposed to regsiter it ....didnt want to be liable for a massive vrt fee

.......currently official registered dealers (with TAN numbers) are allowed to hold foreign reg'd vehicles on their lot and only have to pay the VRT when the vehicle is sold. The buyer is liable for nothing more than the agreed full price he has negotiated with the seller. The reason for this is the VRT is based upon the Open Market Selling Price of the vehicle at time of sale. The longer he has it in stock the lower the price he gets and the VRT drops accordingly. However there are limits and rules, which may have changed lately, but what better time to judge the actual price achieved than when it has been realised.

You should NEVER buy a foreign reg'd vehicle from anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Redrocket wrote: »
    not my problem. not you're problem.

Yes it is your problem. And my problem. For every euro someone dodges tax, you and I have to come up with that extra euro on top of the tax we pay already. I'd rather they pay their own tax rather than me paying it for them. Don't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

unkel wrote: »
    Yes it is your problem. And my problem. For every euro someone dodges tax, you and I have to come up with that extra euro on top of the tax we pay already. I'd rather they pay their own tax rather than me paying it for them. Don't you?

Not if the government don't know about it. ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I can see both side of the arguement. I personally imported my 924 and left it in my driveway for 4 months until it turned 30. I wasnt paying the goverment 700-900e for the sake of a couple of months. The car sat in my driveway while I worked on it.
    Did it work out for you? (i.e. they didn't cop/request the import date?)

unkel wrote: »

my point is people will cheat if they are let, or if they think they can get away with it. come up with a system that can't be dodged, abolish VRT and road tax, tax the fuel instead, pay as you go.

putting the tax onto the fuel throws a disproportionate extra cost on to high mileage users who are normally reps, vans and other business users and would lead to higher prices across the board, thus transferring the cost burden from the low mileage Motorist to every man woman and child in the land, hardly fair Id say.
    Enforcement with zero tolerance is my preference,mainly because Ive already PAID my VRT/roadtax/ PAYE/insurance/ NCT/etc.

putting the tax onto the fuel throws a disproportionate extra cost on to high mileage users who are normally reps, vans and other business users...
    Something which could be dealt with by introducing "commercial rates" for people who drive for their livelihood, like they have with commercial motor tax. A fuel card or something.

about half the population would not be paying in that case....

Really? I only know maybe three people who drives a vehicle commercially.

only three people you know have company cars?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 sid131

putting the tax onto the fuel throws a disproportionate extra cost on to high mileage users who are normally reps, vans and other business users and would lead to higher prices across the board, thus transferring the cost burden from the low mileage Motorist to every man woman and child in the land, hardly fair Id say.
    Enforcement with zero tolerance is my preference,mainly because Ive already PAID my VRT/roadtax/ PAYE/insurance/ NCT/etc.

x2

only three people you know have company cars?:eek:
    Company cars are soooo 90's. Actually I don't know anyone with a company car. On reflection though, I probably know 10 people either claiming mileage or driving some form of commercial vehicle.

Would be interesting to find actual stats of the %'age of people who claim some form of motoring-related business expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭sam22

x3 totally agree with corktina

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Hey lads can we leave the aggression over on the main Motors Forum, That's why i hang around in here, less aggresion and more knowledgeable crowd !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

It does annoy me when im looking for a car, thinking its a bargin and then having to pay VRT on it. The only time i ever paid VRT on a car is sold, think it was €304 to VRT it. I didnt mind paying it.

It is a bit of a pisser the price of it but if VRT/Road tax was put on fuel i would be fecked, as im a taxi driver it would hit me badly. As im taxed commercally @€;82pa.