Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Its jail or a job

• 11-03-2011 11:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/judge-activates-sentence-after-jail-or-job-warning-496912.html
    A settled Traveller who previously had been warned by a Dublin Circuit Criminal Court judge “it’s jail or a job” has had a suspended sentence reactivated after he failed to get work in the last four years.

Martin McDonagh (aged 36) had received an 18-month sentence from Judge Donagh McDonagh in June 2007 after he pleaded guilty to assault causing harm to Dr Stephen Lynch at Tallaght Hospital on November 8, 2004.

McDonagh had thrown a chair at the accident and emergency doctor while he was being treated for cuts to his face.

Judge McDonagh had ordered McDonagh of Bawnlea Green, Tallaght, in December 2006 to have “a permanent and meaningful job” and proof of employment before his sentence was finalised.

Mr Kieran Kelly BL, defending, told Judge McDonagh at the sentence hearing the following June that his client had secured employment with the Tallaght Travellers Youth Service.

Judge McDonagh then imposed an 18-month sentence which he suspended for five years on condition that McDonagh stay in this employment or get a better paid job during this period. He also ordered that he engage with the probation service and attend for regular appointments.

Mr Kelly told Judge McDonagh today that McDonagh never actually started that job.

Mary Trainor, probation officer, told Ms Marie Torrens BL, prosecuting, that McDonagh had also failed to attend for scheduled appointments with her and had not turned up for meetings for the purpose of compiling a report.

She agreed with Mr Kelly that McDonagh was a father of eight and said she was aware that he had attended a psychiatric clinic but added that specialists there concluded that he did not have a psychiatric illness.

She told Mr Kelly that his client was extremely difficult to interview. “It depends on his mood if he will engage with you or not,” Ms Trainor said.

Mr Kelly told Judge McDonagh that his client is now in custody again after he pleaded guilty to a road traffic offence at the District Court.

Judge McDonagh told Mr Kelly that McDonagh had “cocked a snook at you, me, the prosecution and everyone else” before he said he would not review his sentence from June 2007 and reactivated the suspended term.

Unusual but common sense from judge!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Its better than the usual decisions we get from Judges. To be honest, i would rather he was locked up for committing such a crime. Crimes committed against our emergency services should be treated ruthlessly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

So how much is this knacker going to cost the state per year to jail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Pauleta wrote: »
    Its better than the usual decisions we get from Judges. To be honest, i would rather he was locked up for committing such a crime. Crimes committed against our emergency services should be treated ruthlessly.

Lock him up if he acts the bollix at work and gets fecked out of it. This way is cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

bonerm wrote: »

Don't call him that - you might upset a mod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

So the guy's a bit of a nutter & has anger management issues & the judge tells him he has to stay in his job working with children?

Something in that whole scenario doesn't really make a whole lot of common sense to me.

Don't call him that - you might upset a mod.

Anyone who does that to a doctor who's trying to help him out deserves to be called a lot worse than a knacker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

bonerm wrote: »

he is going to cost the taxpayer way to much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Daegerty wrote: »
    Lock him up if he acts the bollix at work and gets fecked out of it. This way is cheaper

I kind of agree with you but i fear this man is a danger to society. If you attack a doctor trying to treat your injuries then this man is could commit horrific crimes BUT if he has received psychiatric help then maybe its a good decision from the judge.

Pauleta wrote: »
    I kind of agree with you but i fear this man is a danger to society. If you attack a doctor trying to treat your injuries then this man is could commit horrific crimes BUT if he has received psychiatric help then maybe its a good decision from the judge.

Psychiatric help is in a lot of cases just another money racket for our fine public service.

If this fecker is kept on his toes being threatened with jail time it might keep him in line. These unusual methods are worth a try anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Judge McDonagh The Traveller Judge....thats got TV show written all over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Niall09

Not enough being Donagh to help the situation imo..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

Its not as good as the old fashioned Jail or the Army, where being in the army meant travelling off to fight in war.

I've been watching too much of the Sharpe and Hornblower tv series recently I think

Unpossible wrote: »
    Its not as good as the old fashioned Jail or the Army, where being in the army meant travelling off to fight in war.

and that's not as good as having him blasted with piss

Depends on the army I suppose

Unpossible wrote: »
    Depends on the army I suppose

If he's in the French army when we decide to invade France I suppose he would be getting blasted with piss

Something tells me the germans might be more into that kind of thing