Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will Smith snubs Aer Lingus flight to Manchester after finding it lacks Hollywood cla

• 11-03-2011 6:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭

What a f**king nob.

http://menmedia.co.uk/manchestereveningnews/tv_and_showbiz/s/1410593_will_smith_snubs_aer_lingus_flight_to_manchester_after_finding_it_lacks_hollywood_class#comments

Hollywood star Will Smith refused to join a 50-minute flight from Dublin to Manchester – because the plane only had economy seats.

The actor was due to fly with Aer Lingus from Dublin.

But when his representatives found out that the aircraft had no first or even business class seats, they chartered a private jet instead.

The M.E.N. understands that special arrangements had been made for the arrival of Mr Smith and his family – including pop star daughter Willow and actor son Jaden – at Manchester Airport when the Aer Lingus plane landed.

They were to leave the airport using a private exit after a request by his entourage. Mr Smith and his family were then expected to leave in a car waiting on the service yard – to avoid having to go through the arrivals hall with other passengers.

But the plans were scrapped at the 11th hour when his representatives discovered that none of the 150 seats on the Airbus A320 leaving Dublin were ‘premium’.

They instead flew into the exclusive Ocean Sky terminal at Manchester on a private jet.

An Aer Lingus source said: “It raised a few eyebrows when we heard because it seemed to be a bit of a snub.

“It surprised everyone because it's a short flight and economy is still very comfortable. It may not have been good enough for Will Smith but everyone from millionaire footballers to politicians use the route all the time.” No-one connected to the star was available for comment.

The family are in the country because Willow, 10, is supporting teen sensation Justin Bieber on his British tour, including two nights at the M.E.N. Arena on March 20 and 21.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

What a pompous pr1ck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I saw that Johnny Logan on the plane once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

mmmm Will Smith......what was the post again.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

If money was no object for me I'd charter a plane too. Imagine the hassle he'd getting sitting among the plebs, I'd avoid that at all costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Humans eh!

So what,
    I'd do the same if I could afford it. Some slightly drunken arse in a numbered polyester shirt telling you repeatedly 'Hancock' was Sh**e. No way man.
    Yeah right! millionaire footballers & politicians in economy.
    If he did fly economy you'd be calling him a tight cnut.
    I can't even afford to fly economy and it doesn't bother me.

Hancock was sh**e though. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Humans eh! wrote: »
    So what,
    I'd do the same if I could afford it. Some slightly drunken arse in a numbered polyester shirt telling you repeatedly 'Hancock' was Sh**e. No way man.
    Yeah right! millionaire footballers & politicians in economy.
    If he did fly economy you'd be calling him a tight cnut.
    I can't even afford to fly economy and it doesn't bother me.

Hancock was sh**e though. :pac:

Tony Hancock is a god, dead one though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

What a plonker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

I thank and salute all the folk who pay extra for priority boarding, travel insurance and first class allowing the airline to only charge a tenner for a basic seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

The guy seems a complete and utter gobshite.
    I know this has nothing to do with Aviation but about 4 years ago his wife formed a 'Metal' band called 'Wicked Wisdom' and he pulled strings to get them to play the Download Festival at Donington. They were given a slot on the Main Stage, then the next day were given another slot on the Second stage!! She came onstage with SOIL to sing there hit 'Halo' and she didn't know the words!!! Damn they were bad.
    A friend is a journo and was reporting at the festival, said Smith had his own VIP area within a VIP area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭seanmacc

He is a nob.

Look at the Beber fella himself. The worlds hottest teen sensation got the Stenaline Ferry from Dublin Port to Holyhead yesterday to get to Manchester.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

seanmacc wrote: »
    He is a nob.

Look at the Beber fella himself. The worlds hottest teen sensation got the Stenaline Ferry from Dublin Port to Holyhead yesterday to get to Manchester.
    Humans eh! wrote: »
    tight cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

Snub by Will Smith? I doubt he was even involved in the decision. All movie stars have 'people' for that kind of thing. He needed to get to Manchester and he did. Big deal. Frankly if I had his money and fame. I wouldn't bother with scheduled services either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

seanmacc wrote: »
    He is a nob.

Yeah, but he probably qualifies to get a childs fare with them, he wouldn't on the plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

For someone as well known as him I'd say sitting in economy would be an absolute nightmare. You wouldn't get a moments peace with people asking for autographs etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

He was dead right. Imagine the hassle he would get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭dowlingm

Mueller should issue a release saying any celebs who want to book out rows 1-4 A-F are welcome to do, and can board last. (might be a weight-balance issue though)

Some particularly tall people have trouble with all econ - it's not like buying the seat beside you for extra room if you're on the wide side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Hugh Grant is the same ,he said a few years back that he doesn't like mingling with "civilians" as he put it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I'd do the same if I could. Aer lingus cabins are budget standard now, especially the ones they got from Iberia.

I sat behind Jedward on a BMI flight and although the curtain helped keep the oi polloy away, they still got hassled.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Coincidentally I sat in front of Jedward on a Aer Lingus Heathrow - Dublin flight last year and the amount of attention they got was unbelievable. Everyone had their "I remember when" stories they felt they had to share with them. They were also severely hassled in the departure lounge with everyone wanting a photo and autograph (including a very creepy man in his 50s :eek:). Not surprising that Big Willy wanted/expected a bit of piece and quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭Turbulent Bill

He really should have taken an FR flight: 'The Fresh Prince of Ryanair', anyone?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

irish-stew wrote: »
    Yeah, but he probably qualifies to get a childs fare with them, he wouldn't on the plane.

The unaccompanied children rule probably stopped Bieber from flying! As for having Jedward on a flight imagine getting stuck next to them on long haul, Valium would be quite important! Two friggin idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

On the Cork London route you could end up sitting next to a wanker, but I hear he's been banned for life.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

hell the 3 lads from the Lord Of The Rings were on the flight from Shannon to London recently..
    Elijah Woods,Sean Astin & Dominic Monaghan..seemed very down to earth and were friendly with the staff etc...everyone gave them their privacy and if it was good enough for them then I'm sure it was good enough for Will + Family..then again Will's a bigger star so I'm sure he just wanted some peace and quiet...and frak it..if I had his money I'd have my own private jet and to hell with the plebs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

On the grand scale of things and depending on the size of aircraft, you could charter a private jet for about €4-6k per flight hour to the UK and Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Ironman76

Imagine being seated near a few lads on the rip for a stag or something. His head would be wrecked. Dont see anything wrong with his choice.

Drunk Bloke: "Wil, cmere and I ashk ye, what *hic* ever happened to *hic* Jashee Jeff? !? "

Smith "STEWARDESS! ! "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

will read posts, but i'd imagine it was an insurance/ security issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

yeah. majority agrees. grand. so what's next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

For someone as well known as him I'd say sitting in economy would be an absolute nightmare. You wouldn't get a moments peace with people asking for autographs etc.
    A friend of mine works with Aer Lingus and she said a certain Mr Keating insists on being first on and sits in the front row meaning everyone has to walk past him then gives out about being asked for autographs. Larry Mullen is also very demanding and Nicky Byrne is supposed to be sound but his wife less so.
    Surely Will Smith could tolerate economy for a 35min flight though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Hell to the no, pssssh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Dotsey wrote: »
    A friend of mine works with Aer Lingus and she said a certain Mr Keating insists on being first on and sits in the front row meaning everyone has to walk past him then gives out about being asked for autographs.

Had to see his mug in the Sunday Mail or something entitled "people would be happy to know that I'm human after all".
    Talk about fúcking delusion...he's a talentless knobhead and full of shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Cessna_Pilot

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    Had to see his mug in the Sunday Mail or something entitled "people would be happy to know that I'm human after all".
    Talk about fúcking delusion...he's a talentless knobhead and full of shíte.

Talentless knobheads "read" the Sunday Mail and similar garbage :D