Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Garda truck?

• 10-03-2011 7:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭

Have seen a strange vehicle down these parts in the last week, have not seen it before, and not sure what its for.

Its a small truck, with a body not unlike that of a prison van, but it's clearly a Garda Vehicle. I thought the Prison service did all the prisoner escorts, and all the garda ones were done in paddy wagon?

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭rallye150flyer

i think the guards do some transport because i have often seen garda trucks

Have seen a strange vehicle down these parts in the last week, have not seen it before, and not sure what its for.

Its a small truck, with a body not unlike that of a prison van, but it's clearly a Garda Vehicle. I thought the Prison service did all the prisoner escorts, and all the garda ones were done in paddy wagon?

Which part of the country are you talking about?

Re the transporting of prisoners, Prison Service don't transfer people on remand as far as I know, only those service a sentence. Thats why we do the rest.

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭rallye150flyer

is it a certain corps of the guards that do the transporting of remand prisoners like the prison service escort corps ?

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Salmon

Yeah,

The Gardai have a large cellular van used for transfering prisoners from the bridewell mostly! Also the prison vans are also used to transport remand prisoners where required!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

If your talking about down south around Waterford/Wexford it could have been the Water unit's truck you seen (see attached picture).

Theres a pretty major search going on at the moment for fisherman John Ennis LINK. Please god they'll find him, thoughts are with his family.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Hightower21

Saw it in dublin today. Looks the same as a prison service truck but it has GS markings. no text though.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭In my opinion

Saw it in dublin today. Looks the same as a prison service truck but it has GS markings. no text though.

Courts van

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

If your talking about down south around Waterford/Wexford it could have been the Water unit's truck you seen (see attached picture).

Theres a pretty major search going on at the moment for fisherman John Ennis LINK. Please god they'll find him, thoughts are with his family.

Thanks ludvig, but I would have noticed the writing on the side.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,270 ✭✭✭source

something like this?

151242.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭belacqua_

foinse wrote: »
    something like this?

151242.jpg

In its natural habitat, the Square, Dundalk. Out of picture, behind the camera, is Dundalk Courthouse.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Hightower21

foinse wrote: »
    something like this?

Thats the one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Thats it exactly. Was the paddy wagon too good for them?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,056 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Back in the day, on Church St. near the Bridewell, I saw a great opportunity for a Sunday World Page 1 Exclusive photo. It was a vehicle of the aforementioned type, seen from the rear, with the small window framing a blue-shirted forearm with an expensive-looking gold wristwatch clearly visible. The juxtaposition of advantage and disadvantage just seemed to scream out at me.

No camera available, obviously. C'est la vie....

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Thats it exactly. Was the paddy wagon too good for them?
    Paddy wagon isn't really ideal for long distance transport. Those trucks are kitted out properly for the safety and comfort of the occupants.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

This yoke or similar can be seen outside the Bridewell often enough.

The Traffic Corps also seem to have new jeep/van/truck yoke not unlike what the aussies use? Saw it a while back, some piece of kit.

sdonn wrote: »
    This yoke or similar can be seen outside the Bridewell often enough.

The Traffic Corps also seem to have new jeep/van/truck yoke not unlike what the aussies use? Saw it a while back, some piece of kit.

t2_Special_D-Max_web.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭The Sheriffk

Esel wrote: »
    Back in the day, on Church St. near the Bridewell, I saw a great opportunity for a Sunday World Page 1 Exclusive photo. It was a vehicle of the aforementioned type, seen from the rear, with the small window framing a blue-shirted forearm with an expensive-looking gold wristwatch clearly visible. The juxtaposition of advantage and disadvantage just seemed to scream out at me.

No camera available, obviously. C'est la vie....

The difference is that the blue shirted forearm , worked for that watch ...!!!

Wow , a Sunday World exclusive .... ' Shock , Horror , Prison Officer owns a gold watch ......

Get a grip man ...... If its that good a job that they can afford gold watches , why dont you join up yourself ...!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,056 ✭✭✭✭Esel

The difference is that the blue shirted forearm , worked for that watch ...!!!

Wow , a Sunday World exclusive .... ' Shock , Horror , Prison Officer owns a gold watch ......

Get a grip man ...... If its that good a job that they can afford gold watches , why dont you join up yourself ...!!!!
    If you had been reading the thread, we are talking about a GS truck, not a Prison Service one. As they say, a picture paints a thousand words and if you had seen the vignette I mentioned you would probably agree with me. The small window, further limited by bars, framing the mule's forearm with the fist clenched on one of the bars - all serving to focus the eye on the flashy gold watch. There was also some text on the truck in the frame, but at this stage I can't remember what it was. Basically, you could not have set up a better shot.

Not your ornery onager

foreign wrote: »
    t2_Special_D-Max_web.jpg

Fairly certain a similar jeep (don't think it was that exact one) was around Drogheda there before Christmas. Seen it do a few rounds of the town and parked in the station, all in the same day.

Haven't seen it since and hadn't a clue what it was used for.

What is that jeep used for? What's in the back?

Also, today I seen a Toyota 07 Garda car? I thought all the Toyota cars were supposed to be new (2010/2011)?

• Registered Users Posts: 37 onmia

Also, today I seen a Toyota 07 Garda car? I thought all the Toyota cars were supposed to be new (2010/2011)?

well theres a 2001 traffic toyota camry knockin round Dublin at the moment. wonder what the mileage is on that one ?

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭pingu2008

Fairly certain a similar jeep (don't think it was that exact one) was around Drogheda there before Christmas. Seen it do a few rounds of the town and parked in the station, all in the same day.

AGS toyotas

gtsr.png

It's basically a Motorway support vehicle. Lots of cones, lights and other such things for blocking roads in it. Also has a Matrix display which can be raised up. Not in that picture though.

Loads of the old Avensis around. The new ones are just that, new. The old ones are just shíte.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Few Vectras foating about too - Malahide had one till recently. Seems to have been replaced with a new Avensis or a Mondeo now.

I actually like the variety, there's some who'll say every car should be the same - but they're not planes, they dont need specialist maintenance, any mechanic can fix a car. Variety is good to an extent. Plus, if you purchase 200 or 300 or 400 you'l probably still only get a certain discount.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

It's basically a Motorway support vehicle. Lots of cones, lights and other such things for blocking roads in it. Also has a Matrix display which can be raised up. Not in that picture though.

Loads of the old Avensis around. The new ones are just that, new. The old ones are just shíte.
    pingu2008 wrote: »
    AGS toyotas

gtsr.png

Really like the last three! Yours??

NGA wrote: »

Think those last 3 are in a picture in the Castle and possibly in the Garda Club.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Think those last 3 are in a picture in the Castle and possibly in the Garda Club.

The two whites are ex castle traffic so possibly a photo in there alright.

There was a white Carina E in the south city for a while. It had to old lights on it rather than the all in one bar. It was a flyer too. It was eventually replaced by a mondeo which didn't look anywhere near as nice as the Carina.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭pingu2008

nope took a photo of them in the museum in the castle have a rake of photos posted most of them already.

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

That truck is one of the original cellular vans purchased by the Prison Service when the Escort unit was set up. It was handed over to the Gardai for their local escorts to district courts. Obviously to save money cos you don't need as many bodies when they are in cellular transport.