Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do, Police are no help.

• 10-03-2011 4:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

Last Saturday my friend had a party in his house, and at the end of the night when everyone had passed out, one of the guests got a bag and packed away a bunch of laptops, mobile phones, the ps3 and a really expensive camera.

Now the morning after the worked out quite quickly who did it, so they contacted the police. The police took statements from 4 different people but even though they knew who they guy was and where he lived, and that he had apparently done it before they refused to search his house.

Now we are stuck in a situation where, we know who the guy is, where he lives and where he works, plus we now have cc tv footage of him leaving the premises with a big bag.

What should we do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Talk to a solicitor perhaps or go back to the Gardai and show them the CCTV footage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

they must have explained why they weren't searching his home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭HenryChinaski

Yeah the Guards are generally useless for following up on that kind of thing. I used live in an apartment building in inner city Dublin and we had terrible problems with the car park. My car got vandalized several times and broken into once and I had a very unique custom made snooker cue stolen. Also on another occasion my flatmates 4 week old motorbike got robbed out of there. There was only one way that bike could have been taken out of there and that was through the main gate which had a couple of different camera angles. Likewise there were cameras on every door into the carpark from inside the complex too. When we got onto the management company about seeing this footage they said they'd only access it if the cops told them to. In both cases we were calling the Guards begging them to just phone the management crowd and they just ignored us. So the story is I'd imagine you'll have no luck on that end.

Have you tried approaching the guy and saying 'what the hell like?' If you find you have to cut your losses and accept that the stuff is gone you should be sure to name and shame him and telling everyone ye know what a scumbag he is.

Don't let the guy know that ye know or he'll hide the stuff. Keep at the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

What should we do?

Ask the Gardai for a PULSE number for your case. Insist on getting this number, as it validates that your case has been registered. Gardai will pay more attention to cases which are recorded on their PULSE system as these cases generate their annual statistics.

Z