Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

robbery

• 10-03-2011 1:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38

Please pass this message on......Monday night / tuesday morning (8th of march 2011) the apartment i share with my boyfriend and our friend was broken into in doughiska, whoever did this was professional, they must have been following me & surveying our movements for sometime prior to the robbery. The reason we were broken into was 3 weeks ago i bought a brand new 5 door opel corsa 1.3tdi ecoflex, registration 2011-g-1472 & the car was dark grey in colour.
    Whomever this was they knew which bedroom we had as a spare room & used that room to gain access to the house, forcing the window open without much/any damage.
    My car had never once been in view from the roadway i always parked at the back behind the oil tank, which show's in the last three weeks they had seen me & watched somewhere along the way, our apartment is a large house split in two & our only access point is at the back of the house.
    Once inside as the three of us slept they went into our housemate's room as he slept and took his wallet, they went through the hotpress,all the kitchen cupboards, even the boiler room. They ramsacked the entire house, taking with them a 32" hdmi faltscreen television with a grey rim the whole way round the edge, a canon pixma all in one printer scanner grey on top & black around all the sides. A parkardbell notebook laptop, xbox elite & many games a headset & two controllers one black, one grey.
    And most upsetting to me was my black advent laptop, on this were all my pictures & memories of what had to have been the most special person in my life my nan who passed away at the end of last march. This had huge sentimental value, i can't even begin to put in into words!
    If anyone hears of any of these items being bought or sold or has any information however small i would plead with them to contact me on or by contacting mill st. Garda station galway on 091-538000.There people were professional as we all slept they went through everything an we never heard a thing.
    Again to all my friends, or anyone who has ever known me even people who don't I beg you to pass this message on to anyone & everyone you may know, I may be grasping at straws but that is all i have, its highly likely my car is no longer in galway & could even be as far as england.
    I would be eternally grateful for any information & would reward whatever help I got!
    Thank you so much for reading this we have all been left very shaken & upset by this & I would do anything to have my pictures of my beloved nan back.
    If anyone has any advice i'd appricate it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

teaglei wrote: »
    Please pass this message on......Monday night / tuesday morning (8th of march 2011) the apartment i share with my boyfriend and our friend was broken into in doughiska, whoever did this was professional, they must have been following me & surveying our movements for sometime prior to the robbery. The reason we were broken into was 3 weeks ago i bought a brand new 5 door opel corsa 1.3tdi ecoflex, registration 2011-g-1472 & the car was dark grey in colour.
    Whomever this was they knew which bedroom we had as a spare room & used that room to gain access to the house, forcing the window open without much/any damage.
    My car had never once been in view from the roadway i always parked at the back behind the oil tank, which show's in the last three weeks they had seen me & watched somewhere along the way, our apartment is a large house split in two & our only access point is at the back of the house.
    Once inside as the three of us slept they went into our housemate's room as he slept and took his wallet, they went through the hotpress,all the kitchen cupboards, even the boiler room. They ramsacked the entire house, taking with them a 32" hdmi faltscreen television with a grey rim the whole way round the edge, a canon pixma all in one printer scanner grey on top & black around all the sides. A parkardbell notebook laptop, xbox elite & many games a headset & two controllers one black, one grey.
    And most upsetting to me was my black advent laptop, on this were all my pictures & memories of what had to have been the most special person in my life my nan who passed away at the end of last march. This had huge sentimental value, i can't even begin to put in into words!
    If anyone hears of any of these items being bought or sold or has any information however small i would plead with them to contact me on or by contacting mill st. Garda station galway on 091-538000.There people were professional as we all slept they went through everything an we never heard a thing.
    Again to all my friends, or anyone who has ever known me even people who don't I beg you to pass this message on to anyone & everyone you may know, I may be grasping at straws but that is all i have, its highly likely my car is no longer in galway & could even be as far as england.
    I would be eternally grateful for any information & would reward whatever help I got!
    Thank you so much for reading this we have all been left very shaken & upset by this & I would do anything to have my pictures of my beloved nan back.
    If anyone has any advice i'd appricate it,
    Does your mate hang around with scumbags and was he/she in a bit of debt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

What a nice surprise for international womans day... I am sorry to hear that.

Keep an eye on donedeal now. You might see some of your items there.

Haven't heard about houses being broke in to like that... With all residents in it...

Plug wrote: »
    Does your mate hang around with scumbags and was he/she in a bit of debt?

Good point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Haven't heard about houses being broke in to like that... With all residents in it...

Happened me. I just shouted down the stairs not to come up and I wouldn't come down.

They took my car as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

So they snuck into your house, took all this gear, took the keys of your car, bunged it in and drove away without anyone hearing a thing?:eek::eek::eek:

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Happened me. I just shouted down the stairs not to come up and I wouldn't come down.

They took my car as well

I guess I will need my biggest ratchet under the bed now too...

Newer liked idea of leaving keys near exit doors... Allways have them near me. Bedroom door is really squickie too, no way I am putting wd40 on it now...
    I pay insurance so I don't have to worry about these things.

My girlfriends next door neighbour was woken by 3 guys one night, two held him down and one held a kettle of boiling water over his head and they asked for his keys and money........they got both without argument

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I guess I will need my biggest ratchet under the bed now too...

I have an alarm, deadlocks, keys hidden, plenty of insurance, and live in a good area, but and I still sleep with a baseball bat beside the bed.

You never know when someone will call "batter up" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭shogunpower

you should keep a close eye on your mate who heard nothing wile someone practically sat on him in the bed, if hes suddenly got alot of money floating about he may have had something to do with it, then again maybe im being a skeptical idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

you should keep a close eye on your mate who heard nothing wile someone practically sat on him in the bed, if hes suddenly got alot of money floating about he may have had something to do with it, then again maybe im being a skeptical idiot.

for once, i agree with you. Sounds very fishy.

ottostreet wrote: »
    for once, i agree with you. Sounds very fishy.

Our boy grows up... I will not start crying!

I do agree on roommate theory. It's unreal hiw they managed to get all this. Start a diesel car, which was parked in the back of house...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I have an alarm, deadlocks, keys hidden, plenty of insurance, and live in a good area, but and I still sleep with a baseball bat beside the bed.

I have one of these badboys. Ready to try a 'Padraig Nally' at a moments notice!

I know it's a sad topic, but I just loled my ass off. Fair play :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

johnos1984 wrote: »
    I pay insurance so I don't have to worry about these things.

My girlfriends next door neighbour was woken by 3 guys one night, two held him down and one held a kettle of boiling water over his head and they asked for his keys and money........they got both without argument

That's a myth.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    That's a myth.
    As I've talked to him about it I doubt it.

It happened to him in an area of Bessbrook Co. Armagh

So in short, NO its not a myth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I've yet to read of such an incident in a paper or hear it on any news and for such a big site I've only seen anecdotal stories of it happening to neighbours or neighbours of friends etc, never anyone who experienced it. There's victims of every crime imaginable here but oddly not this one.

Put yourself in a thiefs position, are you going to fill a kettle and wait for out to boil while the resident may hear you and be waiting for the police to arrive that they've just called ? You just want to get in and out as quick as possible without risking a confrontation.

I've yet to read of such an incident in a paper or hear it on any news and for such a big site I've only seen anecdotal stories of it happening to neighbours or neighbours of friends etc, never anyone who experienced it. There's victims of every crime imaginable here but oddly not this one.

Put yourself in a thiefs position, are you going to fill a kettle and wait for out to boil while the resident may hear you and be waiting for the police to arrive that they've just called ? You just want to get in and out as quick as possible without risking a confrontation.
    I've talked to the person involved I really don't see why you need to insinuate that I'm lying about it.

Fair enough if you don't believe me but I really have no reason to lie about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 teaglei

thanks for all the advice, but i do laugh at all the suggestions that our housemate is suspect number 1, not because its not an obvious 1 (the guards did ask me how well we knew him) but the lad couldn't beat an egg :p
    alot of people wonder how he lives with my boyfriend & i at all with how much practical jokes we are always playing on him
    we are both from galway but hes not from near here hes from, dundalk, i've been friends with him for years he doesn't hang round with to many and know every single person he does.
    to be honest as bad as it sounds im more suspicious of the couple out at the front of the house, she is lovely him well not so much, but that night i couldn't sleep for ages with the noise out front that night they at least had a couple of people over.
    i told the guards all of this....& to my knowledge they didn't even call round to them to ask them did they hear anything, i did & so did our landlord later in the day but that was it.
    it is possible they pushed the car out the drive a little like it is a diesel car & it was closest to our bedroom, but i just don't know.
    the landlord is getting us an alarm put in tomorrow but i still want tat the very least the back three windows of the house changed they are old teak windows & they are no bother to pop out, but trying to get them to agree to change the windows is like trying to pull my own teeth. an alarm is all good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

My best friend's apartment was broken into a few months ago. It turned out to be a person renting an apartment in the same building. You may want to keep that at the front of your mind as a possibility.

Do you reckon all crimes that occur are reported in the media?
    There is a nasty world out there in every part of Ireland that you won't read about in the paper and certainly not on boards.ie.

Put yourself in a thiefs position, 3 thieves to be exact. You are in a lads house, he is sound asleep, 3 of us, one of him and he's in his jocks, we're ballaclavad up, there is no house alarm and he has a decent car outside and perhaps a few quid on him. Why not wake him up and threaten him with a kettle of boiling water?

And to anyone fancying themselves with the baseball bat or similar, pull a baseball bat on an intruder and you'd want to have a fairly decent swing because if you miss the first time you may well be in severe sh1t. And by the time you have the bat swung back to have a pop you may well find your jaw broken before you get your chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭ingen

swing away :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭THE LINK WALSH

This whole sorry affair is making for very interesting reading,my money is still on the geek that op and her boyfriend are living with,he owes a debt or something,he likely gave the boys a guided tour of the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

quality..

and as for the OP, its not possible that the whole house was raided and a diesel car was driven into the night without no one hearing a thing, sorry, but lol at that story.

also try using paragraphs, its actually thefirstpostwithnospacingorparagraphsthatireadinalongtime.

In AH, its probably the norm, but we like to be a bit civil here.

RoverJames wrote: »
    There is a nasty world out there in every part of Ireland that you won't read about in the paper and certainly not on boards.ie.

Put yourself in a thiefs position, 3 thieves to be exact. You are in a lads house, he is sound asleep, 3 of us, one of him and he's in his jocks, we're ballaclavad up, there is no house alarm and he has a decent car outside and perhaps a few quid on him. Why not wake him up and threaten him with a kettle of boiling water?

And to anyone fancying themselves with the baseball bat or similar, pull a baseball bat on an intruder and you'd want to have a fairly decent swing because if you miss the first time you may well be in severe sh1t. And by the time you have the bat swung back to have a pop you may well find your jaw broken before you get your chance.

true, but thats where a 40 dollar bad boy comes in...:pac:

Mr RoverJames, you do have a fine line of work.

?

No smiley at the end of that, should I be offended?

?

No smiley at the end of that, should I be offended?

Only if it's true!!

No, I was joking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Unfortunately this is happening alot lately,my house was broke into 2 weeks ago while I was asleep.Luckily for me the Honda was parked elsewhere that night and the scumbags were caught 2 hours later with my stuff.

They did take the keys to the gf's fiesta but left the car there. ( I wouldn't blame them) :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Unfortunately this is happening alot lately,my house was broke into 2 weeks ago while I was asleep.Luckily for me the Honda was parked elsewhere that night and the scumbags were caught 2 hours later with my stuff.

It's the only way to steal modern cars. So it's on the increase.

I've also heard of the kettle being used. No reason to doubt the person who told me or why someone would make it up TBH.

Have we got the right to kill scum protect ourselves in our homes yet or are we still required to retreat? I know they where talking about it last year but not sure if they actually did anything bar talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I love having a dog. Natures deterrent and alarm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

keep an eye on done deal and see if your stuff turns up there, tbh the first thing that comes to mind is that they took your car simply because they found the keys, i doubt corsa's are on the stolen to order list, hope the car and your stuff turn up

My best friend's apartment was broken into a few months ago. It turned out to be a person renting an apartment in the same building. You may want to keep that at the front of your mind as a possibility.

i have kept that in mind thanks, even whatever about them like i don't know any of there friends that they have over & you just don't know what they are capable of. to be honest i doubt i will get anything back @ this stage now BUT i really really would love to think they got whatever is coming there way i.e. getting caught 1way r another r karma in another way, 1way r another i would love to know they would end up payin 4being such ass***es

This whole sorry affair is making for very interesting reading,my money is still on the geek that op and her boyfriend are living with,he owes a debt or something,he likely gave the boys a guided tour of the place.

i really really do appreciate your opinion & i can totally understand why he would be suspect number 1 but o god if you knew him, honestly you would be laughin at the thought of it, hes just not capable of that....im a grl &im always kickin his ass :P
    you know there are certain people in the world you know are incapable of that, & he is one of them. he has been a friend for years, i know all his debts, i know every soul he does (in some ways you could describe me as a stalker friend....thats a joke), but in all seriousness, i know it was not him, the couple at the front i am wary of & not even necessarily them but god knows what kind of friends they may have

I love having a dog. Natures deterrent and alarm.

alas, my deceased king charles spaniel had the most fierce of barks known to man kind..!

trouble is he would probably be tail waggin a scumbag within 5 minutes...

quality..

and as for the OP, its not possible that the whole house was raided and a diesel car was driven into the night without no one hearing a thing, sorry, but lol at that story.

also try using paragraphs, its actually thefirstpostwithnospacingorparagraphsthatireadinalongtime.

In AH, its probably the norm, but we like to be a bit civil here.

i am so sorry to offend thee,
    but excuse me civil is clearly not something you are to familiar with!
    you definition of what is possible & not possible is i am pretty sure not scientific, we had been out Sat night until 5/6 a.m in the morn, Sun night my bf & i never slept, both of us were just so restless all night!! by Mon after work both of us were wreaked usually he would be a light sleeper whatever about myself, its likely id sleep thru an earthquake but in saying that i usually always get up between 3 & 4a.m & our house mate would usually be up multiple times but neither of us were (& thank god we weren't because god knows what would have happened if we had woke r got up)
    i don't know if you have a brand new diesel car or not but if you did you might be far more aware that they are far more silent that diesel cars used to be.....so believe it or not it is possible not to wake!!
    & i happen to find your message highly insulting considering what has happened to us, ignore the car all the rest of the stuff that is replaceable overtime if you think for one second i would ever EVER joke/lie about losing pictures of nan then you are one seriously clueless individual, she meant the absolute world to me when i lost her i didn't just loose my grandmother i lost my best friend, my advisor in life, the person who was closer to me than anyone else on the earth. i really really try to be a good person I'm a 26 year old that just tries to do the right thing, live my life the right way, be good to all those around me, say my prayers & be a good person but please try & excuse me in what has been a pretty crap time if i have not had my spacing & paragraphs to your liking, i did use & do, use both plenty.....weather that comes up on your screen or not is another days work, but seriously given the seriousness of what happened, id appreciate you not complaining about such petty little things, its pretty silly of you given the circumstances, you are clearly not someone who has ever been through something like this before yourself...as if you had, perhaps you would tend to understand i sent my post in desperation for help/ advice off good people who may have been there before or may not have been but have better ideas than myself, but i certainly did not ask for nasty criticism in the mist of what believe it or not happens to be a tand bit of a stressful/upsetting time for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

There is a high probability that they will be back at some stage in the future:
      Their robbery at your place was successful.
      When they run out of other places to rob, or when they want an easy "sure thing", they will think back to previous successes.
      Yours falls into that category.

Get something done to that window through which they came. If you think that you were under surveillance before the robbery, there is also a very high probability it was someone that lives in the apartment, building, or in neighbouring buildings.

If the apartment can't be secured, consider moving.

fatbhoy wrote: »
    There is a high probability that they will be back at some stage in the future:
      Their robbery at your place was successful.
      When they run out of other places to rob, or when they want an easy "sure thing", they will think back to previous successes.
      Yours falls into that category.

Get something done to that window through which they came. If you think that you were under surveillance before the robbery, there is also a very high probability it was someone that lives in the apartment, building, or in neighbouring buildings.

If the apartment can't be secured, consider moving.

thanks yea, oh god thats a horrible thought to think they could be back but i know your totally right there is nothing to stop them coming back, especially now when they have the layout figured and all that, hes refusing to change the windows even with my boyfriend saying he could get it all done for 500, (just to change the back three, my bf used to be in the window business so he told them he would get them, fit them for free & labour costs would be cut out all of that & but they are crying pauper which trust me is not the case with them at all), in saying that they are getting us an alarm fitted in with those P.I.R's in afew places & the sensor's on the windows but like i'm still uneasy about it.
    i would prefer those windows changed, as they are just so so easy to pop out & there are still certain area's the alarm won't cover.
    we do have to think about perhaps moving, but it just driving me mad that we not hearing anything & it would really anger me if i taught not everything that could possibly be done to find them wasn't happening, but when nothing reassuring is being said, what the hell else am i supposed to think!? :mad: