Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Call of Duty Black ops

• 08-03-2011 4:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭

Hi, Im hoping to get some honest answers here. Is this game suitable for a 13 year old ? My son is on a relentless mission to get this, has all the other ones that are 16's , but am very reluctant to get this one.

Any opinions welcome, please be brutally honest.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭sarumite

tempura wrote: »
    Hi, Im hoping to get some honest answers here. Is this game suitable for a 13 year old ? My son is on a relentless mission to get this, has all the other ones that are 16's , but am very reluctant to get this one.

Thanks.

I seem to recall an option to turn off graphic content for Black ops....It must be in the settings somewhere. I would say if you were to turn that off, then yes.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

My view on it would be to go on the rating on the game, that's what its there for.....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

sarumite wrote: »
    I seem to recall an option to turn off graphic content for Black ops....It must be in the settings somewhere. I would say if you were to turn that off, then yes.....

If there isn't an option to turn it off (And I don't remember seeing one), then no, I wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

My son who is 11 has been playing Black Ops since it came out,it's simulated violence and some movie with a 15A certifacate is far worse and they can legally watch them. It also seems most of his class play this game,so it must be up to each individual parent to make a decision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭Clover

You can turn off the graphic content in the game, when you start it up first it will give you the option straight away so I would say get it for the kid.

My kids play it and love it , Hmv had it for €35 last week on the PS3 but I'm not sure if their sale is still on. Gamestop also had it for around €38 last week in Blanchardstown , not sure if it's still that price but worth checking out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

Many thanks for the replys, much appreciated, still dont know if ill get it or not.

Yep, overprotective mother syndrome !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Minstrel27 wrote: »

Absolutely. No wonder there are so many kids going around effing and blinding if they are allowed play 18+ games from 11.......

Minstrel27 wrote: »

Appreciate that link. Will not be getting it for my son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Many thanks for the replys, much appreciated, still dont know if ill get it or not.

Yep, overprotective mother syndrome !

If he has a head set then NO :pac:

I was playing doom 2 at 12 and running over harry cristioners in Grand theft auto 1to get extra points all i did was laugh...

I'm pretty normal... what you can do is control the levels of more disturbing content through the filters as some one above suggested....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

I occasionally play online with my cousin who is 12, two of my gf's nephews who are 12+13 and some of my neighbours who would be around the same age. There are typically all in parties full of other lads around that age so it does seem like a lot lads that age are playing it.
    Once you moderate it somewhat (I do hear their mothers in the background asking who they are talking to, to make sure its not some random person) and it doesn't seem to be doing them any harm. If they are in party chat with lads their own age/people they know in real life, or don't have voice setup, then I would think its fine. The main issues with the game come from the players rather than the game itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭STADEdeLUC

Thanks.
    Definitely Buy! There Is An Option To Turn Off Graphic Content If Needs Be!!
    Otherwise It Actually Isn't That Bad!! The Worst Is An Up Class Knife Attack Where You Up-Close See The Blood Splatter!! As I Say That's Probably The Worst It Gets!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

STADEdeLUC wrote: »
    Definitely Buy! There Is An Option To Turn Off Graphic Content If Needs Be!!
    Otherwise It Actually Isn't That Bad!! The Worst Is An Up Class Knife Attack Where You Up-Close See The Blood Splatter!! As I Say That's Probably The Worst It Gets!

jUST cURIOUS, wHY dID yOU cAPITALISE aLL tHE fIRST lETTERS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭STADEdeLUC

F1ngers wrote: »
    jUST cURIOUS, wHY dID yOU cAPITALISE aLL tHE fIRST lETTERS?
    Why Not Capitalize All The First Letters??

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

STADEdeLUC wrote: »
    Why Not Capitalize All The First Letters??

Because you stole all the capitals.
    Now, you answer my question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Just be aware that if you do purchase an 18s game for someone who is under 18 you really have no excuse for whatever they learn or take from the game, whether it be language or behaviour.

Fair play to you for actually researching the game a little bit, I know a lot of parents who don't bother researching, buy the game, and then blame everyone else when their kid picks up behaviouralisms from the game.

Just be aware that if you do purchase an 18s game for someone who is under 18 you really have no excuse for whatever they learn or take from the game, whether it be language or behaviour.

Fair play to you for actually researching the game a little bit, I know a lot of parents who don't bother researching, buy the game, and then blame everyone else when their kid picks up behaviouralisms from the game.

I completely agree with you, hence him not getting the game. Next five years are gonna be tough though until he turns 18. What ever happened to a good old game of cops and robbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

I completely agree with you, hence him not getting the game. Next five years are gonna be tough though until he turns 18. What ever happened to a good old game of cops and robbers

Well good old fashioned cops and robbers has now become Grand theft auto, i suppose you could let him play that........ oh wait a minute thats probably not a good idea either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭sarumite

whiterebel wrote: »
    If there isn't an option to turn it off (And I don't remember seeing one), then no, I wouldn't.

I kinda thought that was implied in my post.