Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dingle penninsula cycle challange sat april 30 th

• 07-03-2011 9:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭

Hi all i hope yea enjoyed the nice weather out cycling this week end.just to let yea all no that the west kerry cycling club are having a 110 k event on sat 30 th april starting at 9 am in dingle heading to camp and then turning back and heading over the beautiful and tough climb of the connor pass and back into dingle where refreshments will be provided plenty of cake,leaving dingle and heading around slay head with the blaskets on your left and back into dingle.anywone intrested in taking part plese check out the club web sight on www.dinglecyclingclub.com. thanks for all your time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 lisnic87

I did it last year, Connor Pass was a tough route but the most beautiful scenery in the country. Cant wait to do it again this year!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

dingle cycling club, then ring of kerry then chan gang..... eventually will get over the connor pass.............in a hurry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

Just booked accommodation for the weekend. Really looking forward to it. All I have to do now is get in shape :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

Hi all i hope yea enjoyed the nice weather out cycling this week end.just to let yea all no that the west kerry cycling club are having a 110 k event on sat 30 th april starting at 9 am in dingle heading to camp and then turning back and heading over the beautiful and tough climb of the connor pass and back into dingle where refreshments will be provided plenty of cake,leaving dingle and heading around slay head with the blaskets on your left and back into dingle.anywone intrested in taking part plese check out the club web sight on www.dinglecyclingclub.com. thanks for all your time

Beidh me ann gan teip le cunamh de! Looking forward to this did it last year I hope the hail stones i ngleann na gealt are optional this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Beidh an clann go léir i gCiarraí thuaidh thar an Casca. Seans go bhfánfaidh muid go dtí an deireadh seachtaine fada an Bealtaine agus tabharfadh sin seans dom an turas sin a dhéanamh. Tá aithne maith agam ar an gceantar agus na boithre ach níl blás acú faighte agam ar droim mo rothar. Oirfeadh mé go maith é ach nílim cínnte faoi mo bhean chéile. Snollup - seans go mbeidh síob ar ais go Chluain Tarbh uaim nuair a fágfaidh sí mé ann!

Translation: The family will be in North Kerry over Easter. We might stay until the May bank holiday weekend which would give me a chance to do this event. I know the area and the roads well but I have never cycled down there. It would suit me well enough but I'm not sure about my wife. Snollup - I might be looking for a lift back to Clontarf if she abandons me there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I love Dingle. Tempted to go down to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

Snollup - I might be looking for a lift back to Clontarf if she abandons me there!

You'd be most welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

snollup wrote: »
    You'd be most welcome.

That's very sound of you but it won't come to that. See you on the day if I manage to make it. Have one for me in Foxy John's if not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 LeanNiChiobh

Details and map of the route are below.

http://www.dinglecyclingclub.com/dinglecyclingclub/Dingle_Peninsula_Challenge.html

Beidh an clann go léir i gCiarraí thuaidh thar an Casca. Seans go bhfánfaidh muid go dtí an deireadh seachtaine fada an Bealtaine agus tabharfadh sin seans dom an turas sin a dhéanamh.

Beidh go leoir ar súil i rith deireadh seachtaine Bealtaine. Tá Féile na Bealtaine agus an Féile Pan Cheilteach ar súil i gCorca Dhuibhne só tabharfaidh san leathscéal duit tabhairt faoi Dick Macks!

Just wondering if anybody is heading down from Cork City either Saturday morning or Friday evening,that would be in a position to offer me a lift.Willing to make a contribution to Fuel costs. A PM would be much appreciated. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭corkchef

Cape Clear wrote: »
    Just wondering if anybody is heading down from Cork City either Saturday morning or Friday evening,that would be in a position to offer me a lift.Willing to make a contribution to Fuel costs. A PM would be much appreciated. Thanks

i am in the same boat. in cork, no wheels and would like to do it. thinking about the train, a little riding and overnighting nearby. would love a ride though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭TheTubes

I'd like to do this too, the site says the forms need to be back by the 22nd, is it too late?
    Anyone know how fast this will be? I'm note sure if I'd be able, my farthest cycle this year has been 60km at 20-25kph.
    Any info appreciated.

TheTubes wrote: »
    I'd like to do this too, the site says the forms need to be back by the 22nd, is it too late?
    Anyone know how fast this will be? I'm note sure if I'd be able, my farthest cycle this year has been 60km at 20-25kph.
    Any info appreciated.

Guys not too late to enter! See below the text of an email I got from the club regarding this. I'm still desperately seeking transport so if anybody has car space from Cork it would be very much apreciated contribution to fuel costs of course.

"Its no too late. Bring the details outline in the form. We will need you to sign in anyway. Registrations from 8am."

Hi guys,

It is not too late to register for the above Challenge. Registrations will be taken from 8am on Dingle Marina. The cost is 20eur if already registered with a club or 30eur if not registered as we have to pay 10eur per person for insurance to Cycling Ireland.
    The cycle will begin at 9am. There will be live music on Dingle Marina beginning at 8.15. There are two water / banana stops and one sandwich / tea stop. It finishes back at Dingle Marina where the first 150 cyclists will receive a special Dingle Peninsula Tshirts.
    Feile na Bealtaine is taking place in Dingle during the weekend so plenty of street entertainment and live music on offer for everyone.

Here's to a great weekend!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭TheTubes

Boards jersey spotted.
    1b3d6697.jpg

Top of connor pass 10 min ago
    cc92cffa.jpg

Edit:
    Just done. Wreckd. Was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭corkchef

wish i was there:(

good luck lads, looks like a beautiful day for ye. going for a ride in cork. at least there is the tour de cure next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

TheTubes wrote: »
    Boards jersey spotted.

Hey! That's me:) The guy in blue near me is on a restored Raleigh, much like this

4059798336_c734e5c9bf_o.jpg

Lovely looking machine, I took it for a quick spin around the car park after the ride. He hopes to be cycling next weekend on the Tour de Cure.

The Dingle Peninsular Challenge was a great way of spending 4 hours on a bike, weather great, well organised with plenty marshals and food/water, lots of good company. I went on the spur of the moment as I thought any ride I would attempt around home would probably lead me to the Rally of the Lakes, so threw the bike in the car and was very glad I did so. Thanks to the Dingle Cycling Club for the organisation, well done.

Thanks to the 120 cyclists that took part in the Dingle Peninsula Challenge yesterday. We were lucky to get fantastic weather. Though it would have been good to have it somewhat cooler while ascending the Conor Pass - there wasn't a puff of wind at that stage!
    If anyone is putting photos of the event on Facebook you might tagDingle Cycling Club

Dingle Cycling Club

Tá sé ag teacht! On next Saturday planning on doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭gearoidkerry

Yes is on next sat may 4th is a very good spin and is well run by the local cycling club,looking forward to next Saturday

Also all to do with this cycle is up on their face book page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 hans_moleman

This looks great but I fear it may be too soon for me :(

Cycling up the Conor Pass :eek:

Hi hans I believe there is a shorter route this year as well which is from dingle around slay head and back to dingle all info up on face book.

Just registered there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭danbrosnan

Hopefully this weather passes... Tomorrow should be good craic!

Great day out