Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brand New and not working

• 07-03-2011 8:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 841 ✭✭✭

Hey all, just looking to brainstorm and see if anybody can throw up some ideas as to why my brand new, as in I took it out of the box and 45minutes later its completely dead.

The AEG is a King Arms, m4, fitted with a 7mm bearing mechbox. From what remember of former KA version 2 boxes they are full metal bar the tappet plate, piston, air nozzle and spring guide (not 100% on the spring guide might be confused with the G&P 8mm one), and all the usual plastic parts.

I took the AEG out of the box, filled the highcap with 0.2g bb's (raptors I think) and fired a few rounds with the hop completely down. Then started tuning it to see its range. Shortly after firing a few rounds after setting it to float up slightly and then drop instead of just flying straight, it sounded to clog up.

The rounds were not feeding and it started making a sound as if the barrel was just clogged. So I completely turned down the hop-up and fire a few rounds, still nothing, maybe on round fires I hear two or three clogged rounds, 1 rolls of the barrel, fires one round and so on.

That was the first problem, then I threw in a mid-cap with different rounds to see if it was the bb's, after pulling the trigger 3 times, please note after hitting issues with the hop I was only using semi, i think the full auto has been used yet, the AEG cut out.

It is stone dead, I have tried several batteries, all I know to be working, of different voltages and nothing. The wires are not heating up so there is no power passing through the wires.

Has anyone got any suggestions to possible soloutions and please you can leave out the "its under warranty, don't touch it" I do plan on getting it fixed but I am more comfortable taking apart version 2 mechboxs then I am using a knife and fork at dinner. :rolleyes:

Thank you, for reading and I look forward to your suggestions :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭clubberlang12

I know its an obvious question, but since i see no mention of it in the post, have you looked at the fuse? Is it still intact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

you continued fireing after it jammed, thus its bolloxed. Its backfed all that crap into the barrel, and now its probably either snapped the tappet plate, or dislodged the nozzle. Id get it straight back to the shop for dealing with as its new. Not yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Bernie Mac

there was nothing clogging the barrel, the tappet plate is grand as you can see the air nozzle moving perfectly fine. It would fire one round clean through and as a second should be fed in it wasn't, it gave the clogged sound, then cleared and repeated, even when I stripped the mag the chamber was empty.

There is no fuse in the thing, its a rear wire set up :rolleyes:

I do plan on sending it back to the shop, but am still interested in the malfunction and how to repair it in case it happens again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Bernie Mac wrote: »
    there was nothing clogging the barrel, the tappet plate is grand as you can see the air nozzle moving perfectly fine. It would fire one round clean through and as a second should be fed in it wasn't, it gave the clogged sound, then cleared and repeated, even when I stripped the mag the chamber was empty.

There is no fuse in the thing, its a rear wire set up :rolleyes:

I do plan on sending it back to the shop, but am still interested in the malfunction and how to repair it in case it happens again.
    Hop issue maybe?

In what way an issue? I was thinking there must be something to do with the rubber, but you can see the rubber does not make contact when its full down. The only thing I had considered was that the rubber may have been torn in some way?

The entire cutting out thing, I have a feeling it is to do with the motor connectors mainly because there is not power going through so there is a break in the wire. But not sure, I'll have to open it to find out, and I am waiting for the shop to get back to me to find out what they propose to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beez

A friend got a new King Arms M4 the other day and was dead out of the box.

The problem was one of the wires connecting the motor had come loose.

Open up the bottom of the pistol grip and check the connections.

This is obviously different from your jamming/missfeeding issue but could still be the problem.

by this point the hopup colar might be torn (the narrow end of a hop rubber) which can cause epic marley style jammin after ragging it the first time. You sure its got no fuse? My KA guns have all had the,, the rear wire setup has the fuse inside the stock, or in the tube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beez

My friends new King Arms M4 does not have a fuse also so maybe there new
    AEG's dont include one???

Will probably depend on wiring style and rifle model. Taking away a safety measure isnt thier style unless they have reason (fitting it) KA have always been less concerned with shortcuts and more with high end models.

I didn't want to split the aeg or disturb any screws incase i void my warranty, however, feck that, turns out the motor connectors came loose :rolleyes: threw them back on, gave 'em a squeeze with the pilers, problem one solved.

Filled up 4 mids with different bb's, raptor .2, excel .2, excel .23 and G&G .25 (i think).

First the raptors, nothing shooting out,
    second the excel .2, worked perfect,
    thridly excel .23, again perfect,
    and finally the G&G .25, once again perfect.

I was just surprised by the raptors as they work with all my other aegs, even my 416 fitted with a tightbore. But sure look these things happen. Thanks for all the replies and advise. I'll run it this weekend and see what suits the aeg best. :D