Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any advice before buying a auld 407?

• 07-03-2011 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭

hi folks

I have 3 or 4 grand to spend on a a car, I'm aiming to buy diesel and there seems to be a few 1.6 litre diesel 407's on donedeal at the moment that have caught my eye.

Any horror stories before I wander out to have a look at one? I've heard the electrics cause problems but the reports seem to be mixed. There seems to be good reports on the diesel engine.

any other suggestions on what sort of diesel yoke to buy for that sort of money? commute is only around 300 miles a week. doesnt necessarily need to be a big car. 307s and hatchback corollas seem to be a nice option as well although expensive and scarcer.

thanks for any suggestions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

DPF - diesel particulate filter which keeps emmissions low on diesel engines, can need replacing on them after 100k miles or sooner if the car was used for short trips. Expensive to replace.

DMF - dual mass flywheel, again can fail at 100k miles or higher on modern diesels, not a cheap job either and can involve replacing the clutch too.

Drop a poster here called ROW a PM, I think he is a Peug mechanic so he should be able to give the ins and outs of the 407 and what specifically to look out for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭Row

If it has cover over 120k mls then i'd check...

1)if the Diesel particle filter was replaced and its had the additive topped up.
    2)insure it was serviced on the button with its had the correct grade of oil
    used.
    3)Check if the Dmf had been replaced and if not that its not
    rattling on tickover or the clutch is'nt slipping.
    4)Balljoints also are a common failure on the 407's but a rattling from the front suspension will be the give alway.

Best of luck with your purchase...;)

bazz26 wrote: »
    DPF - diesel particulate filter which keeps emmissions low on diesel engines, can need replacing on them after 100k miles or sooner if the car was used for short trips. Expensive to replace.

DMF - dual mass flywheel, again can fail at 100k miles or higher on modern diesels, not a cheap job either and can involve replacing the clutch too.

Drop a poster here called ROW a PM, I think he is a Peug mechanic so he should be able to give the ins and outs of the 407 and what specifically to look out for.

You bet me to it bazz26....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭jackrussell007

cheers for the advice lads.

seems like theres quite a bit to watch out for. how can i tell if the dpf has been done?

generally speaking would ye recommend or are they known to be problematic? I like 407s but could do without the headache of ongoing grief

cheers for the advice lads.

seems like theres quite a bit to watch out for. how can i tell if the dpf has been done?

generally speaking would ye recommend or are they known to be problematic? I like 407s but could do without the headache of ongoing grief

I have a 04 407 1.6hdi 98k mls myself and find it very reilable...:)
    The dpf usally needs replacment around 100-120 k but if the dpf's are removed and powerwashed and dried out fully it should be fine.
    The additive top up usally costs around €130 for 3 litres and less than an hour would top it up...the dpf system will then need to be reset.

Are you after the 1.6 or the 2.0 hdi...??

Some useful info here... http://www.407owners.com/forums/