Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Got lucky

• 07-03-2011 4:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭

Said i'd hit a farm an hour's drive from home that I hadnt been to in a while! There is 3 particularly good fields on this farm and there will always be a fox in 2 out of the 3. Did the 1st one, into the middle of the field and on with the caller, met the eyes 30 yards from the far ditch but down under a ridge so I couldnt get a shot away! Moved onto the next one, a big medow that had a flock of sheep in it, reckoned there had to be a fox somewhere. came down toward the end of it and there was 1 lying down chest facing towards me about 220 out downhill. Hit her a bit low and left. There was an awful loud crack off the gun so thaught i'd have everything in the vicinity scares sh$itless! dsc00362pfw.jpg
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Collected the vixen and said i'd throw on the vixen call for the craic next thing across a piece of marshy ground a pair of eyes lights up through some scrub. . . off with the lamp, frantic reload and trying to get a bit of balance from the wall . . . lamp on dog fox had moved clear of the cover gun up to shoulder and he dropped, with a fist sized hole above his shoulder! Was delighted with how the caller worked especially after just firing a shot!
    dsc00623lm.jpg
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Was a good fox night last night. We saw a lot of fox activity ( between 11pm and 3am), some acted more like greyhounds though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Ya same as met a few on the way home that just vanished in seconds! There was an awful lot moving on friday night, we got 3 missed one and met at least 3 more, the moon was favourable too! how mny did ye meet last night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

pugw wrote: »
    Ya same as met a few on the way home that just vanished in seconds! There was an awful lot moving on friday night, we got 3 missed one and met at least 3 more, the moon was favourable too! how mny did ye meet last night?

10 I think in total. (3 shot, 5 runners and 2 unknowns as they disappeared after a flash)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

It certainly was a good fox night last night we got 3 kills 1 runner and seen around 15 altogether, forgot the camera though oops!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Remmie 223

I had a feeling last night was going
    To be a good night , but could not
    Go out , had to be up for work at
    4.30am:mad:
    Nice work lads