Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any russian planes at Dub or Shannan anymore??

• 07-03-2011 1:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭

In 1996 and 1997 I flew to Bulgaria from Dublin on package holidays. The travel company had chartered the Bulgarian national airline Balkanair for the flights.

An interesting experience to say the least! The noise in the cabin was deafening, the crew all left the cockpit at the same time once we were at cruise altitude and went around the passengers with a plastic cup asking for change. Condensation dripped from the ceiling the whole way and there was weird wallpaper stuff peeling off everywhere. Seats were ripped, life jackets were missing and all members of the crew smoked continuously.

Anyone else ever fly on any of these jets or have memories of them in Ireland? Surely none of the newer Russian offerings ever make an appearance here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

Don't know the immediate answer to your question but Ryanair are looking at doing dealings with either a Russian or Chinese manufacturer in years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Zyox

mle1324 wrote: »
    Don't know the immediate answer to your question but Ryanair are looking at doing dealings with either a Russian or Chinese manufacturer in years to come.

Yeah they also charge 1eur to use the toilets while you're on those standing up flights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

In 1996 i flew to miami from shannon,we flew by aeroflot which stopped of on its way from moscow,when we got on there were all these huge men on board with blankets around them and not a smile or a hello out of any of them,The inside of the plane itself was pretty run down with torn & broken seats,rubbish everywhere,just my experience on that flight,By the way going back was grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭manatoo

They'd never actually go through with it. Their credibility would be shot. One of the world's largest airlines switching to a cut-price russian manufacturer. Bonkers!

realies wrote: »
    In 1996 i flew to miami from shannon,we flew by aeroflot which stopped of on its way from moscow,when we got on there were all these huge men on board with blankets around them and not a smile or a hello out of any of them,The inside of the plane itself was pretty run down with torn & broken seats,rubbish everywhere,just my experience on that flight,By the way going back was grand.

Was it common for Irish people to fly with Aeroflot to the US? They were only stopping for refueling reasons really, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Don'T really know, we just booked a package holiday, coming back was the same , a few people got of,most stead on,maybe it was a fuel stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Foggy43

Air Cubana stopped at Shannon. Do they still? They seem to have mainly Ilyushin, Tupolev and Yakelov aircraft.
    Aeroflot have 6 Ilyushin II-96-300 aircraft. The rest are Airbus and Boeing. If I am not mistaken they have the B767's Aer Lingus had.
    Of course there is always the chance of the new countries since the Soviet break up arrriving at Shanon with Russian built aircraft..

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,020 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Heres a recent pic of an Antonov AN-124:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/shanair/5503660477/

and an Il-76:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/shanair/5483215226/in/photostream/

I don't think any Soviet era/ Russian passenger aircraft use SNN anymore. I thought that most of them are no longer permitted in the EU.
    I have seen passenger Tu154s and an Il-96 inside the EU, but not at SNN.

Tenger wrote: »
    I have seen passenger Tu154s and an Il-96 inside the EU, but not at SNN.

Where and how recently did you see 154s in EU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭zagmund

Thread just caught my eye . . . I know it's not in Dublin (or Shannon) but the other weekend in Salzburg there was an Aeroflot IL96 in at the same time as the Ryanair flight from Dublin. Looked mighty impressive from the outside.

z

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

Zyox wrote: »
    Yeah they also charge 1eur to use the toilets while you're on those standing up flights.

Don't really see how that's relevant to what I posted but ok.
    manatoo wrote: »
    They'd never actually go through with it. Their credibility would be shot. One of the world's largest airlines switching to a cut-price russian manufacturer. Bonkers!

But wouldn't Boeing be out of the question though as when all of Ryanair's 738's are delivered that it will be the end of Boeing-Ryanair dealings ? :confused:

Don't really know much about Airbus and Ryanair future sales.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Don't really see how that's relevant to what I posted but ok.

Because, along with the Beds & Blowjobs, it's all free advertising, and never happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,475 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Ah, Balkan had TU154's...thats probably what you are on about. What you experienced is considered the norm in that part of Europe...

Belavia still operate them. They used to operate them to Shannon on a scheduled service to Minsk, however that was scrapped over a year ago. they still operate charters with Chernobyl children and there may well be TU154's operating them (they have 737's and CRJ's now)

I once saw an IL96 depart Shannon, an incredible experience! Rotated away in the last 500m or so, with the smoke (and noise!) it left behind it was a sight to behold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭AfterDusk

Tenger wrote: »
    Heres a recent pic of an Antonov AN-124:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/shanair/5503660477/

Antonov are Ukrainian, not Russian

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,020 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

neil2304 wrote: »
    Fair point. But I sort of assumed the OP was referring to any Soviet designed aircraft.

July 2008 Barcelona, Tu-154:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/tearbringer/2811885806/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

I once saw an IL96 depart Shannon, an incredible experience! Rotated away in the last 500m or so, with the smoke (and noise!) it left behind it was a sight to behold.

That sounds more like an Il-86, which was not a sprightly performer on takeoff unless lightly loaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭mayotom

The COMAC and Irkut offerings are of the highest standards, and are technically superior to both boeing and Airbus.

It would not have any effect on Ryanairs credibility, my only concern would be the Rolls Royce engines, I would have no issue flying on these aircraft.
    neil2304 wrote: »

They are headquartered in the Ukraine however they do not have the capabilities to complete the aircraft in Keiv, large parts of the company are still based in Novosibirsk (Russia), and Tashkent (Uzbekistan).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭shanman

Ah, Balkan had TU154's...thats probably what you are on about. What you experienced is considered the norm in that part of Europe...

Belavia still operate them. They used to operate them to Shannon on a scheduled service to Minsk, however that was scrapped over a year ago. they still operate charters with Chernobyl children and there may well be TU154's operating them (they have 737's and CRJ's now)

The IL96 you saw was probably an IL86. Belavia last year only used B737's on the charters to Ireland though they still have 5 X TU154M's. Only Russian aircraft seen now at Shannon are IL76 & An124 freighters and maybe the occasional Ukraine Government IL62M.
    Cubana use the IL96 on the Havana-Gatwick service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭Terrontress

In 1996 and 1997 I flew to Bulgaria from Dublin on package holidays. The travel company had chartered the Bulgarian national airline Balkanair for the flights.

An interesting experience to say the least! The noise in the cabin was deafening, the crew all left the cockpit at the same time once we were at cruise altitude and went around the passengers with a plastic cup asking for change. Condensation dripped from the ceiling the whole way and there was weird wallpaper stuff peeling off everywhere. Seats were ripped, life jackets were missing and all members of the crew smoked continuously.

Anyone else ever fly on any of these jets or have memories of them in Ireland? Surely none of the newer Russian offerings ever make an appearance here?

I remember flying with Balkan on a TU154 from Belfast. Like you say, it was a different experience. What is most memorable to me was the make up on the cabin crew. It looked like something out of a science fiction film. I cannot adequately explain how these ladies looked.

And I remember upon approach there was quite a bit of steam coming in to the cabin which was fairly disturbing. We took our cue from the purple and green ladies. They were not overly concerned so we kept quiet.

There was Balkantours office in Dublin and Belfast offering summer and ski holidays a lot cheaper than most so I'd say quite a few have been on Balkanair.

I understand that Aeroflot now offer a service comparable to any flag carrier airline and that Balkan no longer exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭TheAnswer

Where and how recently did you see 154s in EU?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6iuCkfGd7E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

Was it common for Irish people to fly with Aeroflot to the US? They were only stopping for refueling reasons really, no?

Not sure about that, but I know loads of people who got on Aeroflot flights in Shannon with Havana being the final destination. Used to be able to drink bear and smoke on those flights - the lads loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭mayotom

TheAnswer wrote: »

That aircraft has been parked there for years, it has been impounded, it was a corporate jet which carried Jean-Pierre Bemba, the former Vice President of the Congo into exile, he is now been tried in the Hague for war crimes,

Edit actually I just checked that is a B727 , always thought it was a Tu154

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭TheAnswer

mayotom wrote: »
    That aircraft has been parked there for years, it has been impounded, it was a corporate jet which carried Jean-Pierre Bemba, the former Vice President of the Congo into exile, he is now been tried in the Hague for war crimes,

Edit actually I just checked that is a B727 , always thought it was a Tu154
    I posted the wrong link!
    I am not referring to 9Q-CMC which has as you say been parked in Faro for a number of years.
    This is the proper link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_O1xWHGtWg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭skibum

I remember flying with Balkan on a TU154 from Belfast. Like you say, it was a different experience. What is most memorable to me was the make up on the cabin crew. It looked like something out of a science fiction film. I cannot adequately explain how these ladies looked.
    And I remember upon approach there was quite a bit of steam coming in to the cabin which was fairly disturbing. We took our cue from the purple and green ladies. They were not overly concerned so we kept quiet.

We had a similar flight on a skiing trip to Bulgaria, got on the flight sober, by the time we got to Sofia practically the whole plane including the cabin crew were pretty hammered....

They were selling "Champagne" for a dollar a bottle, only currency they would take, after the first bottle it tasted alright and boy did it work :D

The cabin crew looked like body builders in drag, had the craziest make up, chain smoked (fag hanging out the side of their mouths while selling the "Champagne"), the seats were different sizes, had different covers / fabric, never for get the noise and vibrations when they started it up, the fecking thing shook and groaned up the runway on take off, it was the first and only time in my life that passangers applauded on take off :eek:

When we were arriving, it was like closing time in the pub, the crew were going aroung with bags collecting all the empties, but the best bit was when we landed, huge cheer when we touched down, plane leaves the end of the runway and parks up, doors open, down we get expecting a bus to bring us to the terminal, not a hope, we were told to walk but keep of the runway!!

there were a hell of a lot of drunk paddys stumbling up the runway, having the time of our lives!

The flight was a sign of the week of chaos that was to follow, it was the first time I went away with my now wife and we still talk about what a great holiday we had!

Flight back was something similar but we all knew what to expect.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I flew Shannon - Miami a few times with Aeroflot. last time was on an Airbus A300 I think.

Service was great. I had no problems at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭donkey balls

I have flown with Aeroflot from LHR-MOW on one of there A330 after that it was an 7/8 hr sector to SJH UAE, by jaysus lads I have jumpseated in smaller turbo props that had more comfort from SJH we headed to KTM another 7/8 sector.
    The water they served was like salt water so I bought a heap of cans and chocolate on the way home to make the journey that little bit more comfy considering my knees were rammed up against the back of the seat in front of me.
    I also remember seeing the flight crews of various freighter ops with there leather jackets etc looked like a cross between minder& only fools and horses,On one occasion we chartered a AN 72 Freighter http://www.airliners.net/photo/Russia---Air/Antonov-An-72/1832605/&sid=03f7f423430f9f43c83268981f7cf373
    as I waited on the ramp at stand 52 I think that mad looking yoke above appeared,The ground crew looked at me as in WTF is that thing:p.
    I asked the crew where did they want the DGR loaded they just said like the meerkat ad no problem boss just throw it in any where.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭dowlingm

Why waste runway?