Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newbridge Credit Union Grand Prix

• 07-03-2011 11:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭

Hi guys,

Has anyone got any information or a map for the upcoming race in Newbridge?

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

I did it last year ( well just one lap really ... got dropped )
    It's a very hilly course, up and down all the time. Nothing very long, but quite tricky. It has a fast straight descent and a fast flat bit to the finish if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

Have Sunday booked off for this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭billaustin

Really want to do this, I'm just curious as to times and place etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

Not sure of times but this usually starts from Newbridge race course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭crashoveroid

I did it last year ( well just one lap really ... got dropped )
    It's a very hilly course, up and down all the time. Nothing very long, but quite tricky. It has a fast straight descent and a fast flat bit to the finish if I remember correctly.

Any body have any Garmin Data for this one. need to justify driving from cork to this race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

I think THIS is the course from last year. It started from the greyhound track last year and there was a "neutralised" start (though this neutralised section was faster than it should have been and caught a few people out).

It's not a hilly course, but it is rolly and there's enough drags and descents to split the bunch, or at least make rider s attempt to split the bunch.

Not sure how many laps the various cats are doing this year. Last year it was 2 for A4, 3 for A3 and 4 or 5 for the A1s and A2s I think. HERE's last year's thread.

EDIT: Of course everything could be different this year, so don't take this post to be indicative of anything that's going on next weekend! I know nothing about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭thekidd147

billaustin wrote: »
    Hi guys,

Has anyone got any information or a map for the upcoming race in Newbridge?

Cheers!

If you contact your club race secretary he will fill you in on all the info required....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Oh, I did do this last year, I remember I quite enjoyed it (hindsight, love it).

I think I'll do it again so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭ragazzo

For any A4 riders who might not have ridden this race before the Start Time is 11.10am.
    This race will finish by the time the remainder of the races start.

Details on the calendar on irishcycling.com

ragazzo wrote: »
    For any A4 riders who might not have ridden this race before the Start Time is 11.10am.
    This race will finish by the time the remainder of the races start.
    lol the warm up race ... they used to have kiddies races, now the pink numbers A4 ...

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Oh, I did do this last year, I remember I quite enjoyed it (hindsight, love it).

I think I'll do it again so.

I ll need your wheel on the second lap;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

Is it really only about 50km for the A3 race again this year so?

Anybody know if there would be any problems with an A3 entering the A2 race on the day to use it as training and preparation for bigger races?

maybe you can race the A4 race and then the A3 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

Don't think so - just sign on the A2 sheet as an A3

Can any one tell me what the road surface is like trying to choose which wheels to use Carbon Tubs or Alloy tubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Can any one tell me what the road surface is like trying to choose which wheels to use Carbon Tubs or Alloy tubs.

Now why would we wanna give you the edge? ;)

Raam wrote: »
    Now why would we wanna give you the edge? ;)

Either way both wheels are good its more a bike bling thing really. By the sounds of it you think im racing for the Edge.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Either way both wheels are good its more a bike bling thing really. By the sounds of it you think im racing for the Edge.:D

In that case, bring both. On the second lap stage a gratuitous wheel change.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Going by last year's race, it's grand for carbon wheels.

Raam wrote: »
    In that case, bring both. On the second lap stage a gratuitous wheel change.

Might as well bring both bikes and do a quick change mid race :)

Just dont get dropped then you will be known as "TUBS":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭ragazzo

Make sure you inform the Commissaire on the day if you sign on for the A2 race. Apart from that there should not be a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭rochefan

What part of the town is the sign on at? Web says the greyhound stadium, is that a few K away? I'll be coming from the south

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Thanks. For some reason I always worry too much about finding the sign on and getting parked. Nervous energy that would be better saved for the race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Magilla Gorilla

That map is a bit inaccurate. The greyhound track is a bit further on than shown. Go over railway bridge, through traffic lights at the top of the hill, and you'll see it on your left. It's a straight run once you turn off the main street at Bank of Ireland/post office corner.

rochefan wrote: »
    Thanks. For some reason I always worry too much about finding the sign on and getting parked. Nervous energy that would be better saved for the race!

Hey Lad im driving up from Cork if you want to share a Car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭thekidd147

I have been informed that the A3 and A4 races will each have an extra lap, bring on the pain!!!!

Hey Lad im driving up from Cork if you want to share a Car
    Yeah makes sense to share but I have to leave quick cos of 'little people' at home. I'll txt

rochefan wrote: »
    Yeah makes sense to share but I have to leave quick cos of 'little people' at home. I'll txt

Yeah im the same no hanging about

Done the A4 race today really well run race marshalling was great and the bunch kinda camed down a bit no mad stuff diving down the outside, was gutted i didnt make the final break got stuck in no mans land between them and the bunch for the final 4 km but the strongest guys got there points today no hanging around for the sprint so chapeau lads !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

To echo the last poster's point, the marshalling for this race was briliant, done a fantastic job, the best in my limited experience of racing.

Nothing to report personally from the race, I finished in the main bunch again in the A4 race. I had no real kick in me to be able to do anything other than hang on to the bunch by a thread towards the end. Here are my garmin stats - no 333 mph for me today!

The course is an excellent course and is definitely not flat, as most people seem to believe beforehand!! Enough hills to break it up abit - I definitely felt the hills on the third laps. But three laps makes the race worthwhile, two laps would simply be too short. There were a couple of break away attempts but it wasn't until the last climb did a group successfully stay away (which wasn't a whole lot smaller than the "main" bunch behind it!!). The boys in that group were fairly strong and deserved to be there, fair play to them.

Very good race, marshalling was A1 and post-race refreshments are always welcomed :D. Definitely one I would chalk down to do next year.

Haven't a clue how the other races went.

Orwell got 2nd, 3rd and 6th on the A4 race !!! Wooo!!

Some vids of the A3,A2,A1,A+ on my youtube( too many to add them individually :)

WATCH ME

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Michelin

Any results from today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Magilla Gorilla

Well done to all at Newbridge on a very professional event today. The marshals were excellent.

Congrats to all the winners- I was not one of them....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Michelin wrote: »
    Any results from today?

http://www.irishcycling.com/publish/news/art_5432.shtml

Well done Shaun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭The Crunch

A4 Race: 1, Oran O’Caoilte, Bray Wheelers; 2, Patrtick O’Brien, Orwell Wheelers; 3, Gavin Dodd, Orwell Wheelers; 4, Darryl Bent, Lucan CRC; 5, Richard Farrell, Team 904; 6, Daniel Whiting, Orwell Wheelers.

Some vids of the A3,A2,A1,A+ on my youtube( too many to add them individually :)

WATCH ME

if you click on 'view all' you will see all 17 vids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

Nothing to report personally from the race, I finished in the main bunch again in the A4 race. I had no real kick in me to be able to do anything other than hang on to the bunch by a thread towards the end. Here are my garmin stats - no 333 mph for me today!

yep I love those Garmin Blips !!! last week mine told me I did a cedence of 148 in broadford Co Limerick ..... yeah... right !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 gav07

Really enjoyed my debut open race in the A4s today. It was a very chilly start (2C) but warmed up quickly and but for a short drizzly shower, it remained nice and dry. No crashes (I think) and the marshalling was fantastic with the motorbikers giving clear notice of anything round a bend - I'm guessing from the comments after the race and here that it's not always this good?

The course was great with a mix of flat and dragging and thankfully a 3rd lap was added - 2 would be way too short. I dropped my chain :mad: after about a quarter of the 3rd lap - must sort that out as it happens the odd time - and had to stop for a few moments. I got back on but was annoyed at wasted energy just as things were likely to kick off. After a bit of recovery, I saw the small group breaking away so headed for it, caught on and worked to try to catch the lone leader a bit further up the drag. Just as we did, and after cresting, a train of others caught up and then it was all down-hill to the fast finish. Well done to the winner, part of the break-away, and I'm pleased with my 3rd place.

Many thanks to the organisers and grub-providers back at the sign-on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

120 in the A1/A2 races according to IrishCycling, there were 150 A3 signed on about 10 minutes before the sign-on closed.